We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Bar 38

Wine Bar 38
38 Dong Khoi | Ho Chi Minh City, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Wine Bar)
+84 8 3829 3968
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,575 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We, the team at the Wine bar 38 & Restaurant are delighted to enhance a memorable dining experience with a carefully prepared the combination of Modern French, Mediterranean with some a hint of local flavors cuisine, fusion menu that are base on fresh, healthy and high quality products by our culinary team at Wine Bar 38 & Restaurant. Our first priority here is to enhance and create one of the top quality-culinary experience combine with some of the most exclusive fine wine from Old world to New world. We have also carefully created food and wine matching set menus from three to four courses.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I came here last week with my girl friend. She liked this place so much and we had wonderful dinner with French fore grass and lamb chop...Fantastic the wine here with candle and flowers. The manager was so nice and gave us 2 more glasses of white wine. It was so romantic ambient. We will come back here soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigia_Vietnam, Public Relations Manager at Wine Bar 38, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mr Gustavekey.

Thank you so much for your highly recommendation Wine bar 38 on Tripadvisor
I am delighted how much you enjoy at Wine bar 38 and I will share your wonderful feedback to our the whole team to improve more as such.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you on the next visit.
Song Giang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    15
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

When visiting Saigon, we payed this place a visit for dinner.

The food, beef carpacio as starter and lamb with a red wine reduction, was great. The owner, a french lady, came by to propose some french wines and to have a little small talk.
The wine selection is very nice and got a wide range and paying attention that this is Vietnam and not some place in France, it was amazing.
It was one of the best french meals I had recently and one of the best meals I had during my time in Asia.
After the dinner we went upstairs for a cigar and some Cognac, where I would like to recommend the Martell Cordon Bleu, it is the most expencive one on the list but a extraordinary cognac and worth any penny.
To mention is the service, which was execellent and attentavite, the staff is very well trained, allways around to serve you and help you with anything you desire.

I would recommend this restaurant to everyone coming to Saigon and who is looking for some other food then Vietnamies, especially if you are looking for one of the best french food in Asia.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigia_Vietnam, Public Relations Manager at Wine Bar 38, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear sir
Thank you so much for your highly recommendation Wine Bar 38 to all the viewer on Tripadvisor.
I'm delighted how much you enjoy the wine and food, cigar and cognac
I appreciate your wonderful comment and share to the whole team in order to get more awesome service
We look forward to welcoming your next visit
With best regards.
Gigia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

One of the best meals we have had in Vietnam. Servings were perfectly sized and wonderfully cooked and presented. We were there when the were having a half price sale on New World wines. A great deal on some outstanding wines. Planning on returning at least one before we leave Saigon in a few days.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigia_Vietnam, Public Relations Manager at Wine Bar 38, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear sir.
Thank you so much for your nice comment Wine Bar 38 on Tripadvisor.
We are pleasant to sever you and continuously recommend the New World Wine every week.
We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best wishes

GiGia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wine delight and great French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

During a recent visit to HCMC stumbled into this upscale winebar annex restaurant. It's something for the lovers of French food & wine as the entire wine list is French and the menu has a lot of French influences too, combined with some SE Asian twist. White wines were on a 50% discount so could sample a few - it is not cheap - and the sea bass was just awesome, something I would rate at 1* Michelin even. It's a bit of a posh, modern place, that may need some more vibrancy - or the timing of my visit was not right - but I can highly recommend this place for high level wining & dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigia_Vietnam, Public Relations Manager at Wine Bar 38, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mr Jasper Hofman.
Thank you very much for your highly recommendation of the Wine Bar 38 on Tripadvisor.
I appreciate your nice comment and share this to our team to get more awesome services.
We look forward to welcoming your next visit.
With the best regards.

Gigia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and great wine selection within an uber cool setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We snuck in here for the lunch special and I'm very glad we did. Quite a swanky little outfit, huge wine glasses, cream coloured leather chairs, polished concrete floors etc.

Given Vietnam doesn't seem big on wine it was nice to find a place that appreciated a It.

The food was incredibly tasty. We had the set menu, best carpaccio I have ever had, an interesting duck dish I've never seen before but would love to have again and an overall atmosphere not unlike a Top rating Sydney restaurant but for a 5th of the price. We are hoping to go back next week and try out the dinner menu.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigia_Vietnam, Public Relations Manager at Wine Bar 38, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear sir
Thank you so much to recommend Wine bar 38 on Tripadvisor.
Hope you had a fantastic dinner the week after.
We really appreciate and share your nice comment to our chef and the rest of team.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon
With the best regards.
Gigia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Bar 38 also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Wine Bar 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Bar 38, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.