We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dinh Phat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dinh Phat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dinh Phat Hotel
141-143 Calmette, Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent budget accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel offers excellent value and is in a really good location for exploring Ho Chi Minh. We had a family room which was huge and very clean, when we arrived we asked for extra towels which were sent up immediately and the staff were helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was fine with a good selection of both Vietnamise and Western food. For budget accommodation I would definately recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel, staff always open the door with a smile even at 3am after a hectic
Night at apocalypse now. Rooms are large and clean with a mini bar equipped with the finest beers of saigon . Would recommend this place for any backpackers seeking a little luxury at a reasonable price

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was comparable to others in the same price range that we stayed in during our trip to Vietnam. The market is very close to the hotel, and you are also within walking distance to the museums and other buildings of interest. The staff was helpful but not overly in your face. The shower head is weird and does tend to get stuck, but it can be fixed. Breakfast was the only disappointment. Mostly Asian choices (that turn out super greasy) and horrible coffee. Why advertise "Vietnamese" coffee if you're really serving instant? Overall a pleasant hotel that I would recommend for the price.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side of the hotel and could be awfully noisy. It was also on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for just one night in December 2012. Very happy with our choice for a short stay. The hotel has limited facilities but it's very good value. The hotel is in an old building but seems to have been extensively renovated. Our room was huge, modern and very clean, with a new bathroom and spa bath. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the Vietnamese breakfasts are good. And unlike many multi-storey buildings in Vietnam, it has an external fire exit which is good for peace of mind when travelling with small kids.

The hotel is set right in a commercial area so there's not a lot for tourists around the immediate location, but Ben Thanh market is only a 5 minute walk away. Taxis are cheap and plentiful if you don't like the idea of crossing 8 lane roads with small kids in tow. There's also a park very close by with outdoor gym equipment and a playground to occupy the kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first hotel in Vietnam and we stayed for 3 nights. First impressions were of an extremely friendly and helpful staff and a very clean and quite spacious room.
The beds are extremely hard (as was often the case in Vietnam), it is not a quiet hotel by any means (again not unusual in Vietnam) and the breakfasts are on the poor side (but this IS Vietnam).
Initially we tried to find a restaurant which did not involve crossing the road which is in itself a terrrifying prospect - but in Saigon you can't just live on one side of the street and since there are no bridges or underpasses for pedestrians or even traffic lights then playing chicken with the scooters is the only option. Fortunately they don't go very fast and if you leave them to avoid you (rather than the contrary) then you soon become accustomed to this crazy traffic.
Sure there are better hotels than Dinh Phat but very few better-value hotels - we paid €351 for 2 large rooms for 3 nights - it was the cheapest hotel by far during our 2 weeks stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

First of all the location is pretty bad with out being awful... there are no decent restaurants around its about 10 minutes walk to the backpacker area with hundreds of places to eat and a long walk in different direction to palace and museum and shopping centres... so you would expect this place would be cheaper but its not.

The rooms are plain but have everything you need except the bed which is like cement, i found it hard to sleep and would wake up with sore ribs.

Breakfast is only available until 9am and is very basic.

I am positive you can find somewhere better value in saigon and everyday i was here i was annoyed at my self for not finding somewhere better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was inexpensive, within walking distance to attractions, and the staff was fantastic. Everyone was very helpful and spot-on with recommendations for tours and restaurants. Rooms are clean-and I am using the free wifi to write this review!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dinh Phat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinh Phat Hotel

Address: 141-143 Calmette, Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dinh Phat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinh Phat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.