We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Oysters

Five Oysters
234 Bui Vien St., Pham Ngu Lao Ward, | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 90 301 21 23
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,573 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Seafood, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Five Oysters Restaurant proposes an authentic and fine Vietnamese cuisine, especially seafood. It is located in the busy Bui Vien St. but not in the noisy part of this backpacking street. You can choose a seat in front of the resto to watch people walking and the traffic or a table inside to dine in the cozy dining space. Since the resto owner's hometown is Long Hai beach where is famous for seafood and oysters, you can find seafood and other local food here really fresh. Not like amost other restaurants in backpacking area which are owned by foreigners, this resto is 100% Vietnamese. Check out this place if you 'd like to try a True Vietnamese kitchen in Saigon.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“We will be back..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

After navigating the steep stair up to the balcony level, we had a tasty Vietnamese meal at very reasonable prices (250,000dng per person including beers and a bottle of wine + 5 dishes) Very good service, in lovely surroundings open to the night sky. Being on the balcony level you were not hassled by the street hawkers. We will be dining there a lot during our possible 3 months stay.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Swerds,

We are delighted to receive kind words of praise and I will certainly share your feedback with the team.

Thank you for choosing the restaurant for your dinning and please do help recommending us to other guests.

The team is looking forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Man Ho, Five Oysters team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    130
    51
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A lucky find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stumbled upon this delightful restaurant on our first night in Saigon and ended up eating there every day. Be it a bit of lunch and a cold beer or dinner and cocktails, the food was always delicious and so cheap! There's a great rooftop area but if you're planning on a big night, stay on the ground floor because the stairs are pretty steep and tricky enough to manoeuvre when sober!! The soy steamed snapper was a stand out for me, as were the oysters, the pho, the lotus salad, the morning glory, the spring rolls, the calamari... you get my drift. I'm salivating at the memories and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Lesley3134,

We are delighted to receive kind words of praise and I will certainly share your feedback with the team.

Thank you for choosing the restaurant for your dinning and please do help recommending us to other guests.

The team is looking forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Man Ho, Five Oysters team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

came here after seeing the reviews on tripadvisor, not to be missed. had the oysters, garlic fried rice and juices. wifi was a little wonky when we were there but the food made up for it! super reasonably priced as well! will def come again if im in hcm.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear coordinatedpink,

We are delighted to receive kind words of praise and I will certainly share your feedback with the team.

Thank you for choosing the restaurant for your dinning and please do help recommending us to other guests.

The team is looking forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Man Ho, Five Oysters team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for your oysters cravings!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went on a Friday where they have their oyster specials, 10,000vnd per oyster, great deal! Food is very good with reasonable price. We wanted to have dinner on the rooftop terrace, unfortunately, the stairs were too steep for my parents so we ended up having dinner downstairs.

Great place to satisfy any oyster cravings!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear awesomewellington,

We are delighted to receive kind words of praise and I will certainly share your feedback with the team.

Thank you for choosing the restaurant for your dinning and please do help recommending us to other guests.

The team is looking forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Man Ho, Five Oysters team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Satisfying and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Oysters were reasonably priced. Food was amazing, a variety of Vietnamese dishes. It was accessible as well

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Mark C,

We are delighted to receive kind words of praise and I will certainly share your feedback with the team.

Thank you for choosing the restaurant for your dinning and please do help recommending us to other guests.

The team is looking forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Man Ho, Five Oysters manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Oysters also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Five Oysters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Oysters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.