We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in District One, Saigon's backpacker hub.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bali Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bali Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   82 Bui Vien Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 637 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Hobart
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location in District One, Saigon's backpacker hub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Bali Boutique Hotel in mid August and found it to be very conveniently and centrally located in District One. There are lots of great small restaurants nearby with very reasonably priced and excellent food available. Also little street side bars selling cheap beer and mixed drinks which attract large followings in the evenings. The "plastic chair brigade"!

But back to the hotel and its facilities. Our first room was on the 8th floor and very modern and attractive in decor but quite compact . This meant that the queen sized bed took up all of one side wall and one person had to climb over the other to get in. But a small complaint in an otherwise pleasant setting with a fridge and very new TV. The bathroom was modern and all was very clean and well maintained.
We had only booked in for one night but because we liked the hotel so much we decided to book for another 2 nights but asked if we could change to a larger room. We ended up in a family suite with one queen sized bed and one double. More than we needed, but it was a lovely spacious room with once again an excellent TV, a small fridge and a lovely large walk in shower. But obviously the price increased as well!

The hotel is very new having only opened in June 2012. There were a few glitches with the buffet style breakfast -tasty food but not kept very warm and often there were no plates left or coffee cups available. But the staff were eager to please if asked and hopefully this aspect has improved.
There was a bit of street noise at night but this is an occupational hazard of District One and with the air conditioner going the sounds were muffled and did not stop a good nights sleep.

I would be more than happy to stay in this hotel again and hope they can maintain the excellent standard of maintenance and cleanliness as the hotel gets older.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
13
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We've previously booked the Bali hotel for 4 nights, however, We had a last minute change due to an unexpected issue happened, and we were allowed to changed with no penalty. Thanks for their understanding.

The Bali hotel looks new and interesting. The room is very nice and well equipped with pictures, mini bar, flat screen TV, safety box, a/c, nice bathroom, and a big window...

The restaurant serves a very good food at a reasonable prices compared to some places around the areas.

I would recommend this place to everyone who are looking for a great accommodation and tasty food.

Room Tip: room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Trying to be objective here as had a massive argument with reception previous to staying here, when trying to change the day of our booking by one day well in advance, they wouldn't allow us to change without forfeiting that nights payment so ended up cancelling the whole thing through Agoda, and rebooking (again through agoda) with new dates and copping the cancellation fee which was a cheaper option. Not wanting to do this I tried to elevate the issue with a manager and was told that the manager didn't speak English and honestly can't remember at that point who hung up on who. Either way, shocking customer service & Cancellation Policy which contradicts what it offers in terms & conditions.

All this said - Rooms were clean and very spacious, big clean and modern bathrooms and staff were friendly albeit painfully slow, once we got there. Allow a REALLY long time for check out because the slightest abnormality will take them an eternity to figure out. Told them we needed to be quick as we were running late for our flight, and didn't grasp the severity and seriousness of the situation should we miss our plane. Check out processes take way too long.

Room Tip: You can't really ask this but one of the two rooms we had needed to be deadlocked the whole time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Bali Boutique Hotel Saigon is located in a good location where it is near to anything you need from eating places, booking of tours, bus, to massage places etc. Phuong Trang Bus and Sinh Tourist and TNK Travel are just along the street. You can get good local tour package there. I had a good mani-pedi-cure session at Julie Nails (from London) down the street (141 Bui Vien) at a good reasonable price for its service and cleanliness.
Hotel room is clean and considered spacious for the price. The downside is the loud noises from the closing and opening of doors, sound of keys (it had a big key chain) and the blaring of horns from the road. Tips: bring your earplug else you may lose your sleep if you are a light sleeper! Breakfast is simple home-cooked dishes but we are fine with it as we did not expect much when we pay such rate.
We only receive good service from Ms Yen Nguyen who speaks English well and is very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is new - only open for a month apparently so everything works OK

This is a small hotel pretending to be a big hotel. The staff turn their head when you walk past and completely ignore you. This was in complete contrast to the other hotels we stayed in throughout Vietnam where the staff normally greeted and had a chat

The windows still rattle in the wind but after jamming them with cardboard they didnt bother us again

We were on 4th floor and there was still a lot of noise from the lane below at night

Bed was comfy though

The other upside is that the TV had good reception and that the shower was actually separate to the rest of the bathroom and had a shower screen so you didnt have the usual wet floor Vietnam bathroom experience

Breakfast wasnt flash so it was a little hard to justify the more expensive price of other hotels in the area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We arrived at this hotel just after 7am after being on a sleeper bus all night. When we got there, a couple before us were checking out, and the girl at the desk asked us to wait for 15 minutes while they cleaned the room. While we waited, the lady that sits at the tour desk - Yen - came and spoke to us and she was exceptionally friendly and helpful with all her advice on what to do and where to go while we were there. We decided to skip the tour for that day as the room was going to be ready so we could freshen up and relax for the morning. After 25minutes we decided to get some breakfast from one of the street stalls while we wait for them to finish cleaning and let us check in. When we came back, it had been an hour since she asked us too wait, and she then told us that we have to come back at 11am. Obviously this was a big frustration as we were told we would have something that wasn't delivered, as well as missing out on the full day tour which we wouldn't have time to do before we left the next day.

No complaints about the room, except that instead of removing the sand and dirt from the floor, they tried to sweep it under the bed, even though the bed had a wooden frame so it all just sat around the edges. At 10pm one of the staff tried to open our door with the wrong key and after yelling out that we were in there and didn't need anything she went away. Only to come back 10 minutes later and actually open the door with a different key. Luckily I had the chain across, otherwise she would have come in and we don't sleep with clothes on. She asked what room number was ours, to which we could only reply "the number you just opened" then tried to ask a million questions by yelling from the door. She finally left, and I almost fell asleep again, only to have the phone ringing 20 minutes after that. They wanted me to take my passport down because they had no information about me checking in or who I was. After explaining over and over that I was in bed and had been trying to sleep for the last 40 minutes, he accepted my agoda booking number and let me hang up.

Breakfast was ok, I had toast and coffee then went to my room to check out. As I did, I noticed that there was more on offer, like pancakes, pizza bread etc - thankfully they didn't say anything when I went back for seconds.

I would not go back to this hotel, just because of the experience we had. The rooms aren't terrible and the beds are quite comfy, but the staff really got under our skin. I must say that Yen, the lady that helps with the tours, is a total contrast to everything. She is very professional, courteous, caring and may be the only reason the hotel is still functioning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Boutique Hotel

Address: 82 Bui Vien Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 637 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bali Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Bali Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.