We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful design,clean and cozy, delicious food, the perfect hotel in Saigon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcove Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Alcove Library Hotel to your Saves list
The Alcove Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
"Click for more Surprise"
Ranked #41 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful design,clean and cozy, delicious food, the perfect hotel in Saigon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have been this hotel twice already and had wonderful experience with very satisfied service.

The first impression of this hotel was the garden outside that is pretty and cozy.
when i came inside, it was exactly same as the photo with beautiful design when i saw from the website.

The library concept was impressive and the door boy and the receptionist were very kind.
The room was big enough,very clean and the best part for the room was the bedding quality.
(feel comfortable with high quality pillows,bedding and everything)

The one of the best thing about this hotel was it's bar and restaurant (roadhouse).

For the dinner, we had the carbonara, pork rib, hamburger and caesar salad and everything was absolutely delicious,clean and the price was very reasonable as well.
It has outside terrace as well which is so romantic.
We love the atmosphere and food of this restaurant.

For the brekkie,
As we were in Saigon, tried pho, and it was more than yummy, we loved it!!

This hotel is 10 mins away from the airport and 15 mins away from city center.

Again, We all thanks to hotel for an awesome service and we will keep come and visit here again :)

Room Tip: I would recommend the grandroom which has big size bed and room also big. I like there are table an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear akaCrystal,

Thank you for recognizing our strength being a hotel with good location, beautiful design and staff. We are happy to hear your feedback and experience and it really has extremely value for our staff as the motivation in serving guests.

Again, thank your staying and hopefully, we will have the honor to welcome you at The Alcove Library Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    80
    19
    9
    0
See reviews for
37
83
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and loved the neighborhood. The hotel itself offers really great service and rooms with clean, modern styling for a great price. The library is really a nice touch. Staff were professional and friendly, spoke very good English as well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We cannot say thank you enough for all of your lovely comments! We truly appreciate your staying with us and your recommendation to your friends. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back sometime in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very stylish boutique hotel in a quiet street. Rooms are on the small side but beautifully presented and clean. Good breakfast served in the Rooftop Restaurant. The staff were very helpful and were kind enough to look after some of our bags while we went to Hoi An. The staff were perhaps a bit too formal and could smile a bit more :)
Great stay - thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear our valuable guest,

On behalf of all associates of The Alcove Library Hotel, we would like to say thank you for your taking time to share your impressions in our unique, breakfast, room facilities and our staff. Furthermore, your valued comments related to our extra service are truly highly appreciated. At least the information you have given helped us improved to avoid letting our future guests experience the same.

Again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Alcove Library Hotel. If you have time, do not hesitate to take a look on our website or drop us a line since we always update fantastic promotion for our repeated and potential guests.

Yours sincerely,

The Alcove Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Alcove Library Hotel is a lovely little hotel that would be great for just a night before or after leaving the airport, at a discounted price. I loved the lobby, and having such a variety of books I was able to borrow and read for my three night stay here was wonderful. The rooms, while small, were perfectly comfortable, and other than the bathroom, well maintained. The turn-down service was lovely, although the supposed alcove 'queen' was definitely only a double bed. The Roadhouse restaurant upstairs was also impressive, and although the breakfast was decent, I had a couple of issues with it, especially after staying in a number of hotels throughout Vietnam and having much better experiences.

I was very glad that I'd rebooked the hotel at half the price I had originally booked for, as I believe my experience of it would have been far worse. I would advise that paying any more than $60 a night to stay wouldn't be worth it at all.

The breakfasts were decent, but as a previous reviewer noted, you're only able to order one selection of food and drink, otherwise it's an additional cost which is a shame considering the excellent value of breakfasts provided at other hotels. The pho was very good, and the fruit and bread that was included with all breakfasts kind of made up for the lack of variety. Vietnamese coffee with condensed milk was also unavailable, only standard American style coffee or cappuccinos at an additional cost.
The bathroom finishings weren't up to standard. The stainless steel fittings looked rusty and the tiles in the shower were cracked, and the finishings generally looked rushed. The showers were good, though, with great water pressure. It would have also been nice to see the 'library' theme of the Alcove Library Hotel be carried into the rooms, as there was no hint of it in my room, besides the books I personally brought up to read!

It is very close to the airport, but make sure before you let a taxi driver load up your stuff, that you are certain they know where they're going. I had to direct my taxi driver entirely from the airport. Oh, and the minibar is no longer complimentary, yet no price list is provided. Overall, it was a nice stay, but I suspect there are far better value hotels in the area and would likely not stay here again unless heavily discounted or extremely improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Ms Janine,

First of all, on behalf of management team we would like to thank you for trust with The Alcove Library Hotel and also spending your valued time to feedback us what you have experienced at latest time staying at our hotel.

Please allow us to deeply apologize for your bad experience. As you know from a result of many positive comments on TripAdvisor, you can realize that our goal orientation and criteria is to serve you and other valued guest as best as we can. We understand that one bad experience from a visitor is very important. Instead of keep silent and leave us behind, you have choose to share, to give us a chance to change and we are much highly appreciate that.

As you mentioned about breakfast which have to pay for additional cost, our Management team has opened an investigation in order to find the one who will be responsible for this entire problem and we ensure we will have some severed actions. We also plan to change breakfast menu design to avoid any misunderstanding.

Our signature breakfast is unlimited everyday for every guest during the time at the Alcove Library and this is also one of our strong points which credited by many customers.

For other things, our maintenance had quickly fixed and we do hope that it will not be repeated with other guests.

Again, we are sorry for your unexpected experience. We truly appreciate everything hope that we can have another chance to welcome you at The Alcove Library Hotel.

Thanks and best regards,

The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It is my second time to stay in this hotel and without doub it is such a good choice.
The hotel is still cozy, quite, peaceful and clean. The staffs are friendly and has a good service mind. Absolutely, it is a best choice considering the room rate and condition of hotel.
I would like to recomend this hotel for everyone who just wanna spend 50 to 60 usd for one night but wanna get decent service.

Room Tip: request for the front side window room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear our valuable guest,

We are so thankful for your stay at The Alcove Library Hotel and really highly appreciate your lovely comments regarding our hotel, service and staff. We are very glad you found our hotel worth paying for.

Once again, we truly appreciate everything and hope to welcome you and your friend back in very near future!

Yours sincerely,

The Alcove Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a hidden little gem. We loved the Alcove Library Hotel. 5 minutes from HCMC airport, but away from the hustle and bustle of HCMC. Excellent price. The service was fantastic - the hotel lovely and clean. The breakfast, although not buffet, was simply delightful. I really enjoyed this little boutique hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone who just needed a quick overnight stop in between flights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Oliscali,

Thank you for talking time to share your impressions. Nothing more encouraging for The Alcove Library Hotel staff than to be recognized of the effort we spent to make our guest happy and satisfied.

We highly appreciate your staying with us and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, we will have the chance to welcome you, your family and your friend soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I've stayed many times at this hotel because of my business. this location is in the middle between HCM airport and downtown. I like their welcome and especially breakfast. not so luxury but good enough for me. comfortable bed, cozy room, nice library lobby. It is perfect hotel for business man like me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are delighted to receive your great comments for The Alcove Library Hotel during your business trip in Hochiminh City. Thank you very much for spending time to share your experience.

We will always trying to maintain & develope our services and we do hope that you and our customers will feel it better & better for every stay in the future.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again

Best regards,

The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alcove Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.