We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You found it !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcove Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Alcove Library Hotel to your Saves list
The Alcove Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
"Click for more Surprise"
Ranked #45 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You found it !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A real jewel!!!! Trully !!! Been to HCMC several times and this is the one !!!!! Located a little away from the zoo of district 1, but for 5000 VND and a bus ride (#4) on Van Troy,15 minutes,and you are in the heart of things !!!! Wonderful to cruise around the hotel,delight breakfast on the rooftop restaurant,and best of all !!! The Staff !!!! A tribute to the vietnamese people...Helpful,friendly,smily....in other words,GENUINE !!!!! And I do travel for a living !!!! Try it,it is worth the xperience !! And you will not be disappointed....I guarantee it....ENJOY.....

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear FranckOThomas,

We are delighted to reveive your great comments here. Thank you very much for spending time to share your experience about staying with The Alcove Library Hotel

We will always trying to maintain & develope our services and we do hope that you and our customers will feel it better & better for every stay in the future

We are looking forward to welcome you back again

Best regards,

Moon/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    80
    19
    9
    0
See reviews for
36
83
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Was here early June with my wife and kids holidaying in Vietnam! We stayed in a King Room with an extra bed for 3 nights and must say this is a well kept hotel. Close to the Airport but a bit away from the city. That was the bother if there was one. The taxi rides to and fro take 15-20 minutes. Wonderful hospitality and the kids just loved the place and so did the wife. Being a strict vegetarian, we found the food wasn't so great and the breakfast spread was quite limited as well. Plenty books and feels like you are sleeping in a library ;-) Not much difficulty telling the taxi driver despite a lot of warning of taxi scams in HCMC. Might stay here if I holiday in HCMC again :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Mr Muthiah,

Thank you very much for choosing The Alcove Library Hotel as your home far away from home

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but also pity that you could not find your vegetarian foods during your stay last time. Actually we dont ha,ve those foods on the menu, but if guest request and in ability we can do too. We do hope you will be more enjoyful for your next stay

Thanks again for your time and good share your experience here. We are looking forward to serve you again in the future

Best regards

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Alcove Library is a very beautiful boutique hotel, situated in a calm street not very far from the airport. The rooms are very clean, very modern and very design. The staff is very nice and friendly, the restaurant at the top looks like a place you would expect in NY. We really enjoyed staying here! But if yoy want to be in a hotel right in the center of Saigon, it might not be the right choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Whoopie89

Warm greetings from The Alcove Library Hotel,
Thank you so much for your share. Yes you are right to choose us as you are not the one who prefer central city hotel. With our special design in our location, we would like to bring the guest hiden away feelings. Great to know you enjoyed staying here!

We soon will have a sister Alcove Hotel will be located in city center for whoever love to choose crowded area. So there will be more choices for our customers in the future
We are looking forward to welcome you back to Alcove Hotels in the future

Best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

our fist impression was that it's a little out of the way, however, the staff was extremely cordial and friendly and eager to assist in any way possible during our 3 night stay. we took a taxi to the main market and was overcharged (640,000 dong!!); the aggressive driver locked the doors and wouldn't let us out of the car until we paid. we were very uncomfortable and frustrated, but felt we had no choice to pay if we wanted to leave the car. we informed Clarkson, the hotel desk clerk, of what happened to us and he in turn informed the hotel manager, Miss Moon. She contacted the cab company and notified them of what happened to us. Because of her perseverance, she was able to get back 530,000 dong. in fact, a taxi representative came over to our hotel to apologize for what happened.

i highly recommend the hotel. the hotel service is outstanding. the breakfast in the restaurant catered to both western and asian tastes (ham, eggs and pancakes in addition to pho). for a traveling couple, the room was a good size and so was the value. i'd stay here again which is saying a lot given all the choices in Saigon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Isommers,

Thank you very much for choosing The Alcove Library Hotel to accomodate yourself in Ho Chi Minh City!
And thank you very much for spending time to share your experience about your stay with us and your Saigon trip!
As our main target, we always give priority to our customers, to make sure they will receive best value of services when staying in our hotel. We do regret for the incident you had with taxi driver, even it is actually not from our side but as soon as you are our guests, we have to try all of possiblities that we can do to assist guests. And we are really happy when we could do that for you.
We really hope that your next stay in The alcove Library will be much better and there will be no more any incident when you are visiting our city, to bring you more perfect trip
The hotel management and team are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Moon/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May. We took the airport transfer which was worth doing even if it is a little bit extra than a normal cab. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the manager and given information about how to get to town and places to visit. Room was very nice, not too big but light and clean. On our first night they left a cake on the bed for us to celebrate or honeymoon which was very nice. Breakfast in the restaurant upstairs was very nice. Would definitely stay at this hotel again as the service was excellent! Slightly out of town but only a couple of pounds for a cab into the Central area or a 30 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Jmurg,

Warm greetings from the alcove team!
Thank you very much for choosing us and spending time to write comments here. We do appreciate for your share
We will keep up and develope our service standard day by day. Your next visit us will be much more enjoyful I beleieve
We hope to welcome you back soon

Best regards.

Moon/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Every visit in hochimin city i stay this hotel. Just 60usd price but feeling is over 80usd. They have really good beds , so after sleeping i feel so good. Really good beds. Breakfast is very simple but tast is excelent. Location is not the citycenter but very convinient to go to center and airport. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Mr Chung0203,

Great thanks for you comments. Your experience and time is highly appreciated from you management and team
We are looking forward to serve you again in the future

Best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful lobby, the rooms are clean and the service is great, however those are the only good things I can say unfortunately. It is quite far away from the main part of the city, and even with cards that direct taxi drives to the location they often took us to the wrong place. Despite the building being a non smoking building, every time we turned the air conditioning on it made the room smell like cigarettes. Twice we didn't have hot water, one evening we had no water at all and the toilet wouldn't flush. Finally it seemed that everyday (we were there for 4) they were doing heavy duty maintenance on the tiled floors in the lobby and corridors. So the whole place smelt like paint thinner and leaving through the lobby was a total obstacle course. If you are only staying for 1 or 2 nights this hotel is fine, but I would not recommend any longer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Ms Amy387,

Thank you very much for spending your time to write the comments here
We are very sorry that you had not really good experience during your stay. With the location in the midle of the airport city center, we are in a quiet area to bring guests relaxing moment. And most of the taxi drivers know us very well for sure but there will be some cases, they try not to know to play around with guests to get more money. We are very unpleasant about that but they are not belong to us therefore we hard to interfere
About the water system, it might be water was not strong and hot enough sometimes. But we checked and set higher water pressure then
Periodical floor polishing is applied for everywhere to maintain the quality of tiles and bring fresh, clean & nice feeling for guests. We are terribly sorry that this job borthered you. We hope you sympathize for this case
Once again thank you very much for choosing us and we appology for any inconvenience caused to you. We do hope you will give us a chance to serve you better in the future

Regards,

Moon/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alcove Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.