We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcove Library Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Alcove Library Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alcove Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best deals up to 40% off
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Renmark, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Quiet Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

The Alcove is a great hotel in a quiet street well situated in a very busy city.We stayed just the one night on a stop over and eat dinner and breakfast in the restaurant we were happy with our meals and the service was great, as others have commented cocktails and spirits are not there strong point but beer and wine no problems this would not stop me coming back..Thanks to all the staff for an enjoyable stay and can i suggest when you stay use the hotels airport transfer service our driver was great..Many thanks.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Renmark,

Great thanks to your simply but delighful comments. We are ready to serve you for a longer stay soon!


Best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    70
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
30
72
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed in Saigon for 3 days 2 nights. I chose the alcove library hotel because of the library concept and the cozy little garden outside the building. When I reached the hotel, it looks exactly like the picture in the internet. The atmosphere was good. The staff are very polite and friendly. My room is located at level 2, it has a small area that can view the lobby from top. I really love it. The amazing part was the first night i back to hotel, a little note and a small box of chocolate laying on my bed, and I opened the note, it was a short story written on the paper! It was a very touching service. And I received this little note the next day with a different story.... Hotels can be pretty much the same in everywhere, but how their service touch the customer hearts, will make this stay and trip memorable!

Room Tip: 2nd level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Ms Jschuanyx,

Warm greetings and best regards from The Alcove Library Hotel!
Highly appreciate for your nice comments. Your good experience would help many guests to know more about our hotel. We do hope your next stays in Saigon will always be with The Alcove.

Sinserely yours,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

this is the kind of hotel you get engagement photos taken in as its so stylish, cool and well, beautiful. i know this, because a couple were doing just that when we arrived, far to early for check in , but were still swept up to our beautiful junior suite within 15 minutes. we had been staying right in the centre of hcmc for a couple of days, but wanted somewhere quieter and closer to the airport for our last day.
and this just could not have been better. the staff were just lovely, the room was brilliant, it was quiet, and you could even have a drink outside in the small garden without hearing traffic, touts, or having men trying to clean or glue your filthy old 20 year old sandals together for the 100th time. it also has a bar overlooking the city where you can sit outside, but dont bother looking at the cocktail list...when we were there, despite a gllittering array of spirits on show, they didnt do cocktails. perhaps the mixologist was on a week off, who knows. it didnt make any difference to us, but a couple of german business men got a tad annoyed that they couldnt have whisky, and went off sulking. tant pis!
there are bars round about that are basically the family living room, the hotel will get you a taxi if you want to go down town, and the taxi to the airport, which is a mere 2km away cost us $2us.
its a lovely hotel, really nice staff, have to mention jennifer in the roadhouse bar/restaurant who was so sweet i could have adopted her, lovely lovely people. really nice hotel. and there are books galore...what more do you want?

Room Tip: the suite room was only £55...it had a toilet with a rain shower, to die for...and in the unlikely e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Lushchica,

On behalf of The Alcove Library Hotel team, I would like to send a great thanks to you for staying with our hotel and spending time to share your wonderful experience about your stay here.

Yes you are totally right to say our hotel is a place for engagement! We have quite alot of couples coming here for wedding shooting because our hotel has a very special unique design in Saigon, and it is quiete & relax enough to hide away from the noise of the city and enjoy the peaceful time of love
And yes it should be a glass of cocktail or a shot of whiskey for stary night (colorful lights of the city) at our roof top bar would make it be a perfect place. We think it could happen for the next of your arrival with us!

Once again thank you very much for choosing us and highly appreciate for your great share

Best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked a superior room. It was spacious, very clean and modern!

Staff is friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed our breakfast with a nice view each morning. Complimentary breakfast buffet is limited so make sure you order some pancakes or scrambled eggs (it's included in the price).

You'll sleep comfortable and don't even think about being disturbed while sleeping. It's a quiet area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mahu13,

Delightful to receive your good comments here with our best regards!
Yes we dont have a huge buffet breakfast for our actual number of guest rooms at the moment, but we are willing serve more than enough as guest request, and especially care about quantity of foods
We are awaiting to serve you better in your future stay with The Alcove Library Hotel!

Thank you so much for your share

Your sinsere,

Moon/Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was our first ever trip to Saigon and we choose our hotel based on the reviews here. We were not disappointed!! It was a wonderful 4 days.

It is a little boutique hotel located outside the city centre (only a short and cheap taxi ride away). We loved the decor especially the shelves of books in the reception area. The room was clean and comfortable.

Every single member of staff could not have been more accommodating or helpful. On arrival, the duty manager (Miss Moon?) met us and made us feel at home. A personalised list of restaurants, museums and places to visit was made along with practical advise on which taxi companies to avoid.

The breakfast menu was small but delightful. A simple and light breakfast is a welcomed alternative to greasy, buffet styled breakfast usually available from hotels in South East Asia. The roadhouse grill restaurant also serves excellent burgers. Whilst I am not normally a fan of eating in hotel restaurants, I will make this an exception despite the excellent street food available.

Each day, the staff were attentive to our needs - free flow of ice coffee, loan of umbrellas on the rainy day, etc.

The downside? It doesn't have the facilities of a 5-star hotel e.g. swimming pool. Its not within walking distance to the city centre BUT, the area around the hotel was full of life and infinitely more appealing than the hustle and bustle of the city centre. There were loads of side streets and markets to explore. The people were friendly (although they should stop riding their motorbikes on the pavements!) and the street food would rival that of Singapore, Bangkok etc for a fraction of the price.

We were sad to leave but we look forward to going back again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mr Wong,

Thank you very much for choosing The Alcove Library Hotel as your home far away from home in Saigon. It's great to hear that you were really enjoying your 4 days in our home!
We soon will have a sister hotel of The Alcove which is quite near this one and you can spend your time at it swimming pool in your next stays either with this Alcove or the sister Alcove one
We do apreciate for your great comments on Tripadvisor and surely we will keep up and develope the good services that we have for better and better
We are looking forward to welcome you back to The Alcove Hotel in a very near future

Thanks and Best Regards

Moon/Ms,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived early via Bangkok and it was so well received by the hotel I was shocked! No excess fee, no hassles, no delays...simply gave us another room (same grade as we had booked) that was ready and away we go!! They can't do enough for you here. On arrival we were ripped off by the taxi driver by a few pounds and without a hesitation the hotel complained on our behalf to the cab company!!...add the help they gave us arranging train tickets to our next location, the service we have received when setting up for our first trip out and it all adds up to a great place to stay.
A small negative is the location...tucked away in a side road (accessed by a road right next to a VW dealership.....keep an eye for it) and a little difficult to find BUT WORTH THE EFFORT!!!
We can't fault the feel and function of the hotel, just great.
We are back again on our way to Bangkok and will book back in here no question at all.
It has a cool kind of rooftop bar come restaurant, sensible prices not the usual rip off at all.
Give it a go its a great place to stay if in HCMC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Perry B,

Thank you very much for both your stay and for taking the time to share your impressions at The Alcove Library Hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and had so many nice things to say. Nothing more important to us than to hear what our guests felt about our service which we tried to deliver at a high standard.

We look forward to welcome you at The Alcove Library Hotel. You might be interested without repeat guest program so just drop us a line if needed.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

near to the airport but quite far from the city. great service and friendly staff. awesome interior! you wont feel that youre in vietnam in this awesomely decorated building. this boutique hotel is very clean and very reasonable. our room is a little plain. no frills, but the bedlinen and mattress is of good quality and will give you an awesome sleep, comparable to five star hotels. if i visit again, will most probably choose the grand alcove room. not much difference in terms of pricing for a better experience.

Room Tip: best to choose the suite room or grand alcove for better views. other rooms are just plain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Donovan_25,

Thank you so much for your sharing experience at The Alcove Library Hotel. We truly appreciate your impressions and staying with us and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We would be honored to welcome you back. Otherwise, if you have time, just take a look our website since we always update our news and latest attractive promotion for your reference.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alcove Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.