We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, but otherwise falls short” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcove Library Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Alcove Library Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alcove Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best deals up to 40% off
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Helpful staff, but otherwise falls short”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel in a rapidly developing Ho Chi Minh City competes with a crop of new places opening in more central and, in short, better locations. This hotel is down a side street and a headache for taxi drivers to find.
In short, with a less than great location it needs to raise its game a bit. The breakfast in particular was pretty poor, with the bread served on the buffet toasted to a crisp. However, the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the high point of the place. Despite an impressive bookcase when you enter the lobby giving an artificially grand feel it was not somewhere I could really recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Henri and Melissa,
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience in our hotel. We would like to apologize for your less expectation on our service. As usual, our hotel is easily found by taxi driver because its location is on the way from airport to downtown. But in some cases not many, taxi drivers will take the guest’s time to go around.
The Alcove Library Hotel is continuously improving our level of service, especially our breakfast. Your information you have given will help us to make the hotel even better.
One again, many thanks for your sincere feedback and we truly hope to have the chance to welcome both of you back and let you see our improvement.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    70
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
30
72
14
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've been this hotel two times when my friend come to vietnam. I stay one night over there with my friend from 17th of JAN to 18th. It is small unique and butique hotel in hochimin city near airport. It takes only 10 minutes from hotel to airport and also takes only 10 minutes from hotel to distric1(down town). The hotel location is just middle of city between airport and down town which is i like most. Hotel staffs are really kind and well trained so you can expect high quality servie. When you check in you may see small but beautiful garden and also luxury library in the loby. When you get into your room, you will have welcomming drinking and fruits from hotel manager. If you go to the restaurant at the top of the hotel, you can see beautiful scenery specially at night. Because It is 10 ~ 15 minutes away from down town, at might time the hotel is very calm and peaceful. You may have a romantic time at garden or rooftop restaurant drinking beer. There's many hotel in hochimin which is 5 star hotel with high price but I strongly recomend this hotel as 3 star butique hotel with reanable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location from airport and also from the city center.
This hotel was amazing in every aspect and reasonable price. I especially enjoyed cozy garden at ground floor. Also I really enjoyed hamburger at Roadhouse, the restaurant on the 5th floor.
I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here for my next trip to Vietnam.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We first stayed two nights in room 203 which didn't have a window. This was strange at first but it turned out to be a bonus as it meant there was no traffic noise. The room was stylish, luxurious, clean, and the bed was soooooo comfy! Breakfast was varied and tasty and the staff were very helpful and friendly with excellent English. Just what we were looking for.

We enjoyed our stay so much we decided to leave our bag at the hotel and return for another night before we left Vietnam. However, this unfortunately was a mistake because they gave us room 406 which had a few issues. This room had a window which gave a nicer appearance but made it noisier. The room had a strange smell which may have been as a result of a blocked shower drain - which we found out when the water ran all over the bathroom floor! Also this room is directly below the balcony area where breakfast is served so there is a lot of transmitted noise in the morning.

This hotel is well placed for the airport but a bit out of the way for exploring town and a bit hard for taxis to find. Five minutes to airport (about 50,000 VND) and ten to fifteen into town centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

it was a wonderful stay at such a hip hotel, one of very few to be found in ho chi minh at the moment. the hotel is halfway between the airport and city centre. we didn't manage to get a legitimate taxi from the airport, so we ended up having to pay 90,000 dong from a 'saigon tourist' taxi. therefore, we ended up taking the bus for the whole trip which costs 5,000 dong per trip. and the lovely receptionist, nikko, was very helpful in advising us of the routes to take. so we do suggest taking the bus, and save your dongs for food and shopping.

although we requested a queen room with a window, as suggested by another review, but the window we got was fog stained. probably to block the view of the building next door. my guess is the rooms with proper see-through windows are on the front side of the building, and are probably the larger rooms.

the bed is comfy as. slept right through the night.

the staff are very service-minded and will definitely improve. but don't expect five star service like you get in expensive hotels because at the end of the day this is a boutique hotel not a standard chain. so please don't yell at the staff if you don't get what you expected. you can tell that the staff here are giving it their best.

the breakfast here is very good, especially the eggs and bread. only wished there was more variety. we skipped the 3rd morning for some pho in town.

it was a shame not many of the guests used the garden in front. we bought a bottle of wine one night, and enjoyed it very much.

the roadhouse serves great ribs and chicken, and i here the burgers are nice too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have 3 nights stay in The Alcove Hotel but I really enjoy it.
the hotel,room very clean,i slept very well with comfortable bed.
All the staff really friendly and helpful,i fell like i stay at my home.
location of this hotel very near the aiport about 10min by car,and about 15min to go to the downtown.
i will come back this hotel next year.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If a two did not seem too harsh I would have gone for it. The saving grace of this hotel is just how darn well presented it is. The decor is just stunning but I do love the library and black & white theme generally. You walk in to fresh flowers and leather sofas and a wall of books. Good books at that. I loved the little touches like the fact that you can 'check-out' a book or magazine to take to your room or out with you. Also the ipad that is for guest use. We were even offered this to take out when I mentioned that my daughter had some homework to finish up. Alas, that was not our requirement but just one of the many lost in translation moments we encountered at this hotel. And I think that is what makes me rate this so low. Miscommunication was at the highest of all the places we stayed whilst on our trip.

My main gripe is that the FOH staff are pretty clueless, but I am willing to consider that this is a language issue. And the drains stank really badly on the 4th floor and in our room (406). I know this is a new establishment so here is hoping that the customer service is ironed out and the drainage sorted because it really is a great looking place. It is away from the centre, or anywhere resembling and many taxi drivers had problems navigating their way there. Also, taxis can end up expensive so it really might just be better for you to stay somewhere more central. Granted it is very close to the airport, if that is of high importance. The best thing about the place for me is the spa that we discovered on our day which is probably 2 mins away from the hotel. Yep, the best thing about the hotel is not actually anything to do with the hotel itself. Well, I guess the wifi was strong and fast, and yes, the entrance decor. Wish I had stayed on at the Hotel Nikko to be honest but hey I did get some nice pictures of the library which I think is all I really wanted!

Stay for 1 night and no more. Although we only stayed for 1 night (and a very long day) and that was almost too much. They will not offer you a room to have a shower if you have a late flight unless you pay for the room. Half day rate until 6pm. If you want it late, you will need to pay a full night's rate. They will store your bags for you and there is a top floor restaurant/bar that you can kill time at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at the alcove library hotel. We were very disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience on your stay due to some lapses in service and the general miscommunication with out front desk. We’ve addressed this inconsistency with our front office team and will take the necessary action to improve continuously. We are truly sorry for any inconveniences caused. We hope that this experience will not deter you from choosing the alcove and we sincerely hope that we remain amongst your accommodation options for the future, and look forward to seeing you again.

The alcove management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alcove Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.