We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint boutique hotel that's value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcove Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Alcove Library Hotel to your Saves list
The Alcove Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
"Click for more Surprise"
Ranked #40 of 370 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quaint boutique hotel that's value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A friend living in HCM recommended this newly opened hotel. An extremely nice boutique hotel with an impressive courtyard and entrance. We had a complimentary pick up from the airport by the hotel car which definitely took out the stress of having to try and make your own way there. The hotel was only 10mins away from the airport. Location was great. Just off the main road from the airport to the city centre, the hotel is situated on a nice quaint street. It took us 10mins to get to the city centre as well. We had no issues getting taxis to the hotel and the taxi fare only costs a mere vnd60,000 (under 3usd). Breakfast was complimentary and there was a choice of local or western. The rooms were very comfortable and were comparable to some 5star rooms I have stayed in before. The restaurant had only just opened and the food was good. Staff were eager to please. There is no pool but we were out visiting the sights during the day so that did not mattered. This hotel is great for business travellers as well as those travellers who are looking for a unique place to stay. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are nice and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    80
    19
    9
    0
See reviews for
36
83
17
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice hotel and quite good for resting after busy business. I love small room and warm space there.Everything is clean and neat.
Especially, on top they have a restaurant with delicious food and nice view city at night. I will back next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there 2 days because of business trip in hcm. My working zone is near airport. I am quite impressed because of this hotel. The reason is that I couldn't find any suitable hotel near airport like this alcove hotel. And free pickup and drop off service also are one of the good reason for me to choose this. Breakfast, service, room, location, everything i give you five.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

we stopped over ho chi minh for a couple of days a few weeks back. it was a very pleasant, restful experience for our family.
our room was pleasant - wonderful shower btw! - comfortable and clean. friendly staff.
when we needed to wait in the lobby for our ride, there were plenty of books to keep our family occupied!
the location was very good- walking distance from everything - food, shopping, taxis. we didn't expect a pool or spa or anything, so it was very suitable spot for our stay.
i especially enjoyed the fact that the alcove was a themed/concept hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The alcove hotel like its name is tucked away in a small neighborhood street.
On the way there you have no idea where the hotel will be but suddenly it just appears; an old European style building with a charming garden courtyard.
The rooms are quite small but with nonetheless the same amenities as a regular hotel.
It might be a bit far from where the tourists eat, shop and sight-see, but the staff was most helpful in getting you a taxi.
They were always there to serve you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I spent 4 days at the Alcove Hotel in July of this year and I was very impressed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and spacious with all mod cons. The hotel is both close to the airport and the city center (just a short cheap taxi ride). I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

spent 2012summer vacation at the alcove library hotel. we arrived at 23:30 at the airport and the hotel worker took us to the hotel. he was very kind and smart(bilingual speaking) i'm impressed. the hotel is lately renewaled and reopened so very clean and comportable to use internet. most o f all, there are many books in the hotel lobby(because it's library hotel) and we can have a free time for reading them. it makes my vacation very cool and fun. and in the 5th floor, there is a very nice restaurant and bar so we can drink many kinds of global beers and delicious food.

Room Tip: rooms in the 3rd floor have air-conditioners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 370 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alcove Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.