We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Lovely staff, clean facilities”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anh Dao Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Anh Dao Guesthouse to your Saves list
Anh Dao Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anh Dao Guesthouse
235 De Tham Str, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 618 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
ho chi minh
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
““Lovely staff, clean facilities””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

although the room was pretty minimalistic it had everything we needed.

what makes this guesthouse quite worth it is the staff. the nicest family operates the guesthouse. helped us with directions, maps, and some writing in Vietnamese for easier traveling around.Also they have a tour desk at the lobby with all the knowledge and helpful staff.
Also let us stay for a very low cost a half day before our flight (actually wanted to let us use a shower for free but we wanted it).

other than that the guesthouse is located within walking distance of the bar street which is pretty handy in the evening.
not the best location what with the close local market, but easy enough to get around.
We hope we can come back to Vietnam one day b/c it's a lovely country !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A very nice place in the backpacker area of Saigon... Nice location with cleam rooms (with AC). We had a room on the streetside, but did not find the streetnoise too much of a bother (you're in the center of Saigon, so you'll have some streetnoise to deal with). Very friendly and helpfull English speaking staff, ready to help. We got caught in a terrible rainshower, and on arrival back to the hotel, the staff gave us some clean towels to get dry.

What may seem odd to some, did help a lot in keeping the hotel clean; you take off your shoes before going up the stairs... You can leave them downstairs, of take them up to your room, but this guarantees a clean floor at all time.

We also went on some daytrips with them (Cu Chi tunnels and Mekong Delta), very helpfull and good value!

If i was to return to Saigon one day, i'll book them again...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Unfortunately this guesthouse is a lie! We booked this on the back of a few reviews on hostelworld and the 1 review someone has put on here, but it is very dishonest!!! After travelling from Phnom Penh in Cambodia today we ended up in the middle of district 1 in Ho Chi Minh city, a very difficult place to navigate! We had already booked this guesthouse and ended up having to get an overpriced taxi to it. When we arrived the people were very nice etc and took our bags up to our room. When we walked in we though "Hang on, I thought we booked a superior double room and we have a very small box with a shower pretty much on top of the toilet!" So we trooped downstairs with our laptop (showing the website of the guesthouse and the pictures they are showing) and told them that according to the picture etc this was not the room we had booked. The woman then decided to argue the fact for quite a while and never actually conceded to the fact that we were in fact right! Then they eventually upgraded us to a deluxe room (If you look on the website both the superior double and the deluxe room should have a desk and a bathtub)!!!! NEITHER of them do, there are NO bathtubs or desks in the entire place. I am extremely dissapointed in the incredibly small size of even the deluxe room, its not as clean as they say and IT LOOKS NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES!!!!! PLEASE TAKE MY ADVICE AND DO NOT STAY HERE! Its a shame but its best to be honest than lie!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We arrived at 6am and the guesthouse was not yet open. It is situated above an STA Travel and when they opened at 7am we were able to check in straight away! This is a guesthouse with only 6 rooms and the staff at both the guesthouse and the travel agency let you come and go without asking questions (which is a welcome relief from most other places in Vietnam.) The room is very modern with good air-con, cable tv, lockable wardrobe, hot water and a balcony. The only thing I would suggest is some shelves to put your belongings on, as everything is pretty much stored on the floor, and the room isn’t that big. It is probably the smallest bathroom we have experienced, but it is clean, fresh and nothing different from the majority of hotels in South East Asia in terms of layout.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anh Dao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anh Dao Guesthouse

Address: 235 De Tham Str, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 618 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Anh Dao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anh Dao Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.