We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“District 7 is not a disadvantage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Saigon South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Saigon South Hotel to your Saves list
Ibis Saigon South Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Hoang Van Thai Street Phu My Hung | Tan Phu Ward District 7, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“District 7 is not a disadvantage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Rooms are all fitted to an excellent standard. Some coordination with the desk will allow you to grab the hotel shuttle for a trip to the city center. Spontaneous travel from the convenient taxi rank at the hotel will deliver you virtually anywhere in HCMC for a cheap fare and short transfer time. If you look there are many dining options and you can get to 'local' spots within about four blocks. Ask the desk or driver for suggestions. The pace of the neighborhood and security are very restful. You can party downtown and be back in flash.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSaigonSouth, Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear mmi6,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Saigon South. It is always pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Looking forward to see you back soon to our hotel.

Best regards,

Hanh Lam- Dalena
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
15
11
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

If you want a no frills hotel, value for money, neat and clean rooms and bathrooms, the most comfortable beds then IBIS it is. The Ibis in Ho chi minh is also like an Ibis anywhere in the world other than Europe where the rooms are much smaller than the Ibises in Asia. The staff is professional and understand English.The only disadvantage according of me of this hotel was that its slightly away from the city centre. It takes about half an hour to reach the centre by cab . Also we also found difficulty in getting cabs around this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSaigonSouth, Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear nivriti 15985,

Thank you very much for choosing ibis Saigon South for your recent trip to Ho Chi Minh City. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed good services provided by our team members.

Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our staff and I beleive that this will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we continuously strive to improve our services.

Thank you again for your review, and hope to welcome you back soon to our hotel.

Best regards,

Hanh Lam - Dalena
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Top quality budget international hotel in district 7 about 15-20 minutes by car from the city center. Being a new hotel the Ibis Saigon South is a high standard hotel overall and the rooms are excellent. The rooms have a typically small and efficient Ibis hotel layout and come with very comfortable beds, good bathrooms and showers (no bath tub showers here), new TVs and free Wi-Fi. The hotel provides a free shuttle service to district 1 and the staff are extremely helpful even if some need to practice their English. The restaurant was a little disappointing with some average food and service at times.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSaigonSouth, Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear RipleyAUS,

Thanks for choosing ibis Saigon South as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Ho Chi Minh City.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoy our services, and hotel facilities included the layout and comfortable bed were up to your expectations.Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our staff and this will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we continuously strive to improve our services.

Once again thank you for your supportive feedback and I hope to see you back soon to ibis Saigon South.

Best regards,

Hanh Lam - Dalena
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Like Ibis any where in the world, this one is exactly the same. Basic free service offered unlike other hotels like porter service, swimming pool etc. Rooms are exactly the same including the amenities like other cities.
House keeping keeps the room clean. Tea coffee maker available. Free water bottle and WIFI available in the rooms.
Located in District 7 which has some amazing options of shop and food.
The front office is professional and proficient. Has all the answers to your questions and are always eager to help you.
Price is ofcourse one of the high point.
Only one option for food. So if the hotel is full then to get a table when you are in a hurry can be very difficult task.
The coffee shop can be little boring for breakfast when you get to eat the same thing for six days continuously. Service is okay which can range from good to extremely slow (but the restaurant manager was professional enough to apologise for the delay). Food is more or less non veg, so if you are a non vegetarian it can be quite a task. Strangely the hotel catering to international guests does not have enough vegetarian option.

If you don't fuss much about the food options etc, then this is a perfect business hotel option.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSaigonSouth, Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear auribuddy,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your last trip to Ho Chi Minh City.

I am delighted to read that you enjoy ibis standard and our service and facilities met to your expectation. And I am especially pround of your complimentary comments regard to the excellent service provided by our Front Office team.

Please rest assured that your comment will be shared to our team member and I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of us to futher develope on our service

We have also noted on your comments regard to services in restaurant during busy period, and as our F&B Manager -Mr.Hoan did approach you to apologies for the delay at the time, we believe that he is now working on the action plan for future service improvement.

Thank you again for the review, and hope to welcome you back soon to ibis Saigon South.

Best regards,

Hanh Lam - Dalena
Room Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

It's very common to be in a hotel with low prices. As it is very common to be in a hotel with very convivial staff too. There are also many hotels where you can find confort indoors and outdoors But it's very difficult to see a hotel which combine all these good descriptions at the same time. In Ibis Saigon South you can find all that added to the excellent food you can enjoy in the restaurent.
Congratulation to all the staff and thanks so much to all of them for their great hospitality.

Room Tip: Higher floor have more sun light and better view to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSaigonSouth, Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Bamuyam,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our food and services.

Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our staff and this will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we continuously strive to improve our services.

Hope to welcome you back soon to ibis Saigon South.

Best regards,
Lam Thi Ngoc Hanh
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I hate chain hotels and would not have opted to stay here if I'd had a choice. However, it really is a perfect budget business hotel and excellent value. The rooms are tiny but compact. There is nothing unnecessary and everything one would actually need in the right place. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are well sound-proofed. It would not be correct to complain about small exercise room, no pool, etc. given the low cost.
The service was exceptional - at every point during my stay: right down to tracking down my phone which had been left in a cab.

Room Tip: High flow likely the most quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSaigonSouth, Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear atgkc,

Thank your very much for taking some of your time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am delight to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your last trip to Ho Chi Minh City.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards
Lam Thi Ngoc Hanh
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Saigon South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Saigon South Hotel

Address: 73 Hoang Van Thai Street Phu My Hung | Tan Phu Ward District 7, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Saigon South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Saigon South is located in front of Saigon Exhibition and Convention Centre (SECC) and only 15 minutes from the city centre. The 1st International 3 star hotel in Saigon, it is within walking distance to Global Corporate Offices, FV hospital, Medical Centers and Shopping Malls. It features 140 stylish designed rooms with timber floors, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, 1 restaurant/bar/3 meeting rooms. Free Ibis shuttle available to and from the hotel to major corporate offices and city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Saigon South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Saigon South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.