We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central yet a bit scary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of My My Arthouse 2 - Pham Ngu Lao

My My Arthouse 2 - Pham Ngu Lao
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added My My Arthouse 2 - Pham Ngu Lao to your Saves list
My My Arthouse 2 - Pham Ngu Lao
26/38/18 Do Quang Dau street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Central yet a bit scary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I booked a bunk at the #1 but was guided by the manager to #2 because they didn't have room. All the way there he kept telling me how unsafe the area was and how I shouldn't even take a camera if I don't want to be mugged, once I got to the room he told me 2 girls were mugged right outside a few weeks before- didn't make me feel safe at all! I appreciated the advice, but I felt it might have been the wrong way to tell me..
The room was fairly clean but it smelt of mold.
The guesthouse is down a few alleys from the main street and pub street and I ended up moving to a different place because I was afraid to walk there.
I also had laundry done at the #1 hostel and had to wait there for 2 hours after the time they gave me because "it is being ironed" which doesn't take 2 hours...
Getting back my passport once I paid also took 45 min.

On the bright side, I booked my Mekong delta homestay tour with them and was very happy with it,

Room Tip: If you can- stay at the #1 hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The owner is very concerned for your safety as a traveler. Before arriving we received a detailed personal email alerting us to the dangers of Saigon thieves and rip offs. Our room was located in My My 2, a short but rather confusing walk from the main hotel - the owner gave us a very detailed hand drawn map each and also guided us twice to the second hotel, that was looked after by a really sweet lady, that may have been family, who looked after us very well and left us little treats in our fridge. In a big bustling city we felt very safe and well looked after. We booked a 3 day Mekong trip through My My that we thoroughly enjoyed.

The only downside is the location of my my 2. If you need anything from the owner, you have to walk through winding back alleys to the main hotel. At night this is not very safe, hence the owner's strong warnings.

Having said this, I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff work very hard to ensure that you enjoy your stay, and deserve your custom!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A reasonably priced, well organized and clean guesthouse just behind the main street. It's behind the main street yet not many will passby in-front of the guesthouse. The main gate of the guesthouse will be locked up at night (during sleeping time) for security purpose, which is good and guest will feel secured.

For good ventilation, get rooms with windows, which located at the front part of the building.
Room located at the back part of the building (which I've made a mistake booking room without windows), there's only a ventilation void which connected from the kitchen at the lowest floor to the top floor. Thus, you'll be awakened by good food smell from the kitchen early in the morning.

The location of this guesthouse is good, A lot of restaurants and food stalls, tour agencies and Ben Thanh Market is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Get rooms with windows, which are located at the front part of the buildings, for better ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been traveling for several months and this is absolutely our worst experience. The rooms are okay, but sheets and towels are dirty. We delivered chlothes for laundry and they kept pushing the time when we could pick it up. They ended up giving us the clothes back 24 hours later than expected and some of it were missing. When we wanted to check out, a battle to get our passports back started, and lasted more than 2 hours. I have never felt so badly treatet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Room we were in was dark, and oddly colored. Think 70's vintage porn. Was clean enough. WIFI was so so. Lobby could be kept tidier. No issues with booking through Agoda. Location is excellent. Staff very helpful getting us transportation to airport and are extremely nice. But an average property nonetheless. If you're going to stay in District 1, recommend Vy Khanh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Booked a room at My My Arthouse through hostelworld, but when we get there, we found out that our room are over at their second and new building My My Arthouse 2 which is a few mins walk away, through a series of alleyways.
Stayed in a quadruple room with 3 other friends for 2 nights, paid $7 each person each night. And the price is well worth it!
The room is quite small but the bathroom and beds are clean. The 4 dorm beds are comfortable with individual charging ports and lamps. The room came with AC, hot shower and a TV showing satelitte TV channels such as HBO. Theres a fridge for you too!
You can also book tours and have a cheap, not that bad breakfast with tea or coffee for $1 over at the main building, My My Arthouse 1.

The cons are 1) the building is located deep within a series of alleyways so you can easily get lost and can be unsafe when you go back in the night especially if you are alone. But the locals around seems to be nice people, warning us to not to hang our cameras on our neck and keep our valuables away fom view. Apparently, the city has quite a reputation of theft and robbers.
2) no lifts. We stayed at 4th storey, so it can be difficult to bring up and down your luggages if its too bulky or heavy through the narrow stairways.

Room Tip: Try not to get rooms at My My Arthouse main buildings as i heard reviews of poor conditions there an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We arrived at My My Arthouse 1 without prebooking and were told it was full, however the extremely friendly man on reception walked us round to My My 2... it's a good job he walked us as we'd never have found it. That was the big downside of My My 2, it was so easy to get lost down the back streets. On several occasions we got ourselves to My My 1 and asked them to walk us round as we had no idea where to go - and they were more than happy to assist. The staff are a real asset to this place.

Our room in My My 2 felt very modern and was very bright due to the white decor.
One downside to the room was the bathroom door was the sliding kind but didn't actually shut so we ended up duct taping it closed whilst we showered to stop the bedroom getting wet.

Location is good when you manage to find your way out of the back streets where My My 2 is located.

My My 1 offers a $1 breakfast which guests from My My 2 are welcome to have. We also booked our trip to the Cu Chi tunnels via My My and we have no complaints about the trip.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to My My Arthouse 2 - Pham Ngu Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My My Arthouse 2 - Pham Ngu Lao

Address: 26/38/18 Do Quang Dau street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 273 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your My My Arthouse 2 - Pham Ngu Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My My Arthouse 2 - Pham Ngu Lao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.