We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but needs some improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   167 Hai Ba Trung Street | Ward 06, district 03, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EARLY BREAK - 21% OFF
Ranked #32 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but needs some improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Hotel isn’t anything extraordinary and is actually a business trip hotel. Probably not too enjoyable fi you stay up with your family on vacations. The property is new and hence is in a maintained state. The Hotel offers free Internet service if you opt for the breakfast package. The check-in process was rather slow and took a while before we could enter our rooms. The staff needs to be more systematic with their approach, especially since they are not part of the Novotel chain which features in some of the world’s top hotel chain. The roof top bar was a delight and provides an excellent view of the surrounding. Though I didn’t have sufficient time to have meals at the Hotel, but the food, at least the breakfast was good enough, with a lot of culinary variations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSaigon, General Manager at Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Ridersch0ice,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our onTop bar and our daily breakfast.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Lionel Moinard
General Manager
H7965-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    367
    98
    10
    7
See reviews for
160
262
57
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

After a disappointing night at an allegedly 4* elsewhere in HCMC we were delighted by this hotel. Clean and modern with friendly and efficient staff. A well designed room, comfortable bed and a good shower. An excellent buffet, decent location - we needed nothing more. Happy to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSaigon, General Manager at Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear hkmorganfan,

Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your review will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we continuously strive to improve our services further.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Saigon Centre.

Regards,
Lionel Moinard
General Manager
H7965-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We booked into this hotel at the end of a 4 week trip around Asia and I would have to say it was a real let down and very average. The staff at the hotel are not very friendly and accommodating and don't seem to be as well trained to the standard as in other places we have stayed.
Check in went relatively smoothly, even though we arrived at the hotel at 2:30pm our room was not ready and we were just left waiting in reception. Not even offered a drink to compensate. The room is fine, we have a regular room with a couch that has been turned into a bed for one of our children (not sure what we were meant to do with the other one) but we have managed.
On the first night we went to the restaurant. It was 9:00pm on a Sunday night I ordered pizza and he ordered Gnocchi. It was disgusting. The ham on the pizza was like leather and the gnocchi was just awful. Since that night there has been some very upset stomachs between my husband and I but I am pointing no fingers.
The towels in the room (they only gave us 2) are small and very thin and we are only given 2 bottles of water the 4 of us every day. The breakfast in the morning is very blah, and we have ended up having a couple of bananas to be on the safe side as the toast I had yesterday was moldy.
The only saving grace for the hotel would have been the pool but for the fact it is absolutely freezing. We have a pool in melbourne and are used to swimming in cold water but this water is frigid.

Overall a very disappointing stay at the novotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSaigon, General Manager at Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jo K,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. It is through continuous feedback, from guests such as yourselves, that we are able to objectively review the services we provide.

I am very sorry to know that our services offered to you were not up to your expectation and I will speak to my team on your valuable comments.

I hope you will accept my deepest apologies and this experience will not impair your confidence in Novotel Saigon Centre.

Your Sencerely,
Lionel Moinard
Novotel Saigon Centre
H7965-gm@accor.com

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Was a great stay at a clean, modern, and centrally located hotel. Customer service was top notch. I didn't eat dinner here, but the breakfast was really good.

Metered taxis were stationed outside. The key word is metered. Plenty of stories of tourists being ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I used to think hotels around the opera house were good locations until I stay at this one. The Dong Khoi & Le Loi area is turning into any typical city with high-end department stores. Nothing unique about the old Saigon anymore. If I wanted a shopping trip, there are many other places closer to the US for that. The service at this hotel is very good. Breakfast is good but you need to get down around 7:00am to avoid the crowd. The restaurant across the corner (Hoang Yen) serves good traditional Vietnamese meals. This hotel is new so when you give direction to the locals, mention "same location as the old Que Huong hotel" then most will know exactly where you are. Go a few blocks left from the front of the hotel and you will find many local shops (cloths, cell phone SIM, fruit, etc.). Go a little further and you will find Tan Dinh market on the right. It has better price than Ben Thanh market.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSaigon, General Manager at Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear nvomy,

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will also share your comments with our staffs.

Again, thank you and if you have the opportunity to come back to Saigon, please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything I can assist with.

Regards,
Lionel Moinard
General Manager
H7965-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We found that this was an ideal place to stay and staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed there for 3 nights from 30th December 2013.The buffet breakfast was top notch. We would certainly consider staying there again if we were in the city and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends traveling there. It was a 20 minute walk to District 1.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the 11th floor with a connecting door through to other family members, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSaigon, General Manager at Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear kiwissv,

Thank you for your kind comment.

I am looking forward to welcome you back in Novotel Saigon Centre.

Regards,
Lionel Moinard
General Manager
H7965-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited this hotel in December 2013 and stayed for 3 nights in an executive room. The hotel is conveniently located and we were able to visit the usual tourist sites by foot.
The room had a good size, kingsize bed was very comfortable. Air condition worked perfect. The bathroom had a big walk-in shower, which we prefer over a bathtub. Amenities were of good quality, the hotel even provided a nice body scrub. As other guests have already written, the pool is on the cool side, since there is no direct sun to the pool. But you can take a nap in the comfortable loungers and relax from the hustle on the streets.
Executive benefits included laundry of 2 pieces (daily) free of charge, free in-room wifi internet in addition to use of the premier lounge. Snacks and Cocktails during happy hour were a nice treat that we took advantage of. Staff was eager to deliver a positive experience to each guest and we were always greeted with a genuine smile.
For breakfast we choose the regular restaurant because of the wider selection. All the usual breakfast items were provided. Bread selection was above-average and included very good croissants.
We left the room quite early and upon return by noon always found the room cleaned. Money exchange at the hotel gave a good exchange rate and was uncomplicated.
We would not hesitate to book this hotel for any future visit to HCMC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSaigon, General Manager at Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Firefly380,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you really enjoy your stay with us.

Please rest assure that your feedback will be shared with our staff and this will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we continuously strive to improve our services.

Looking forward to wecoming you back at Novotel Saigon Centre.

Regards,
Lionel Moinard
General Manager
H7965-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel

Address: 167 Hai Ba Trung Street | Ward 06, district 03, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.