We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL - RACIST AND RUDE RECEPTION STAFF” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung

Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung to your Saves list
Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 - 48 Hai Ba Trung St., Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 382 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL - RACIST AND RUDE RECEPTION STAFF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A decent Hotel BUT 2 SPOILSPORTS IN THE HOTEL.
1ST THE LADY at the reception - JESSICA WONG, who si OUTRAGEOUSLY RACIST and RUDE to every person who si NOT A WHITE SKIN.
she will make you feel CHEAP and UNWANTED, apart from LABELLING you as a THIEF.
This is the first and may be the only hotel (in this category) which DOES NOT HAVE A COMPLIMENTARY tea n coffee provision in the room.
Whether you use it or not they will charge you for the tea or coffee which is part of the MINI BAR(SIC), if you ask them why have they charged you, YOU WILL BE TERMED AS A CHEAP'O, who does not want to pay and cheat the hotel of a couple of bucks for the "CONSUMED TEA OR COFFEE". you will be snubbed nad embarrassed by Ms.JESSICA, who will offer to pay from her POCKET FOR THE MINI BAR BILL WHICH YOU MAY NOT HAVE NOTICED.
further the lady in specs at the coffee shop will treat you as if SHE IS PAYING FOR YOUR BREAKFAST, AND YOU SHOULD NOT ASK FOR ANYTHING MISSING OR REFILL THE EXHAUSTED BREADS OR FRUITS ON THE COUNTER. YOU DARE TO AND GET A NASTY STARE OR A TAUNT IN REPLY.
the worst experience ever in my TRAVEL HISTORY ACROSS THE GLOBE.
even the europeans or australians do not degrade you

Room Tip: Suitable for AMERICANS and EUROPEANS only. OTHERS stay away else Ms.JESSICA is there to degrade you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AEmHotel, Người quản lý at Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Mumbai Maharashtra,

Thank you for your stay during last time.

We hope you come back our hotel in next time for service you better.
We apologize for our last service. We thank you to support some useful ideas for us. We always listen to our valued guests. We has changed our service too much in time recently.

Once, We expect you come bach to service best in next time.

Thank you and best regards

Hotel manager
Van Sanh (Mr)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
11
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Booked it on Agoda for 3 nights.
Check-In time we were brought to the second floor where rooms have no windows.
Then moved to 7th floor thereafter having a quick chat with the Manager.
Rooms are spacious with a modern decoration tendance on dark colors, the bathroom is huge and offers a jetstream bathtub we did not used, be careful not sliding in there if you have to go for another appointment afterwards shower business sorted !!!
The Breakfast included is in needs of improvements and is certainly the most miserable food presentation we ever had to experience in a traveller lifetime. The restaurant room is the one situated on the ground floor and presents a magnificent decoration similar to a "Rat cave" where the food is there only to fulfill with kind of a compulsory standard of service but certainly not with a desire from the management to accomplish anything else than feeding the noisy chinese guest who are screaming out in their telephone by early morning and eat with a substantial soundy mastication which make you feel more throwing up before jumping off from this frantic scenario..!!!
Avoid breakfast there is our advice until the A&Em Hotel Management will have gain some conciousness on what is a Breakfast Service Standard and on how to realise that, in this instance, it doesn't match with the great Rooms which are available to rent...certainly a matter of good reflection in a city that rocks nearly as good as Bangkok !!!

Room Tip: Avoid the windowless floors situated at the bottom of the building.. All the VIP rooms are spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We moved to this hotel from elsewhere as its location is fantastic for quick access to the best shops, bars and restaurants. We were upgraded so we didn't experience the the tiny room, and overall the room was well designed with quirky furniture and a panel to control all the different lights which confused me no end. The service was not unpleasant but we never saw the same person twice at the front desk, so it felt very impersonal, and the breakfast was poor, with food either cold or having run out completely, so we had to ask for things to be replenished on several occasions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

A & Em Hai Ba Trung is a comfortable, reasonably priced tourist hotel in central HCMC. The rooms are small, but the bed is comfortable, the room is clean, great shower in the bathroom. Service is great and there always was at least one person around who spoke English well. I arrived early, about 830 am and although my room wasn't ready (which is understandable), they had it made up for me within 30 minutes. When I asked about a SIM card for my phone, one of the bellmen went out and got one for me and installed it -- cost less than $10, so even if the bellman or hotel made some money on it, the price was reasonable.
Location is great, within a half block of the big, expensive hotels, easy walking distance of major tourist sites, restaurants, etc.
Good breakfast, plentiful, tasty, Asian and western entrees available.
There are multiple A & EM hotels -- not sure how the others are, but this one is fine.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms in this hotel have windows, but not sure, maybe not on the lower floors. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Although room is abit small.. but it was very comfy and clean. Service was great. When we went back there the 2nd time after our travelling to central vietnam, the hotel at this location didnt have 2 small rooms for us. So they arranged for us to go to their other branch which was not far from this one.

they arrange taxi for us and gave us excellent services until we get our rooms on the 2nd branch.

They have a few branches in the city. I think all of them are located pretty central and near the market. It was a very convenient place to stay for a relatively great price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Thành, null, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

did expect huge on this hotel since there were loads of good reviews hotel flowing around on internet and the hotel images seemed really nice as well. Yet, to my horror, the room i booked looked exactly like on the photo id seen before, but its incredibly ... small, feel like i was staying in a boutique post box!! Immediately asked for an upgrade (and defly with extra charge) and they gave me an executive deluxe, merely 1 or 2 meter square wider than my previous room. Anyway, its a lot better and fresher with a big window looking down the street. The bed was soft and the pillow was just fab. the bathroom was fine with a lovely jacuzzi bathtub. And the best thing was the wifi, probably one of the fastest speed you would ever have in vietnam.
Never got the chance to have breakfast since they already wrapped things up at 8:30am but a guy i met on elevator said never bother to come down again!

Room Tip: Room on the back of the building would have less noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed two nights and then came back for a third night. The best service we've ever experienced in a small hotel. The staff is amazing - most friendly and helpful.
We only ate at the breakfast buffet but it was very high quality and a nice assortment. As of this date they don't yet have a full working kitchen and other meals are apparently delivered from one of their other nearby hotels.
The rooms are very nice although the bathtub/showers are a little awkward.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung

Address: 46 - 48 Hai Ba Trung St., Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 382 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.