We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung

Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung to your Saves list
Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 - 48 Hai Ba Trung St., Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Long Thành, null, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

did expect huge on this hotel since there were loads of good reviews hotel flowing around on internet and the hotel images seemed really nice as well. Yet, to my horror, the room i booked looked exactly like on the photo id seen before, but its incredibly ... small, feel like i was staying in a boutique post box!! Immediately asked for an upgrade (and defly with extra charge) and they gave me an executive deluxe, merely 1 or 2 meter square wider than my previous room. Anyway, its a lot better and fresher with a big window looking down the street. The bed was soft and the pillow was just fab. the bathroom was fine with a lovely jacuzzi bathtub. And the best thing was the wifi, probably one of the fastest speed you would ever have in vietnam.
Never got the chance to have breakfast since they already wrapped things up at 8:30am but a guy i met on elevator said never bother to come down again!

Room Tip: Room on the back of the building would have less noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
11
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed two nights and then came back for a third night. The best service we've ever experienced in a small hotel. The staff is amazing - most friendly and helpful.
We only ate at the breakfast buffet but it was very high quality and a nice assortment. As of this date they don't yet have a full working kitchen and other meals are apparently delivered from one of their other nearby hotels.
The rooms are very nice although the bathtub/showers are a little awkward.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have stayed a few times now, and it's always been excellent.
Haven't experienced the room size problems of others as I love large bathrooms and spa bath, so always go for the VIP A room, check their website and you'll see what I mean.
My traveling partner had a spa bubble bath most nights an just loved it. We even shared the bath one night and could have easily fitted another couple.
The room was cleaned and spotless every day, the service provided by front desk and room staff faultless. H for varying needed was immediately provided.
The view out onto the street and across the city great...
The best of all, the bed.... Superb!!!!
There may be better value for money with a huge bathroom but I'm yet to find it.
I've stayed elsewhere including Park Hyatt in HCMC so have seen others...

Room Tip: Pay more for a VIP or VIP A room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Pro's:
- Great location
- Big enough room with ensuite tub (Executive Double Room)
- Free and fast WiFi

Con's:
- Room smelled of tobacco upon entering, stench was gotten rid of later on
- Hot water in room was working only at times, mostly being just a little better than cold
- Room service seems to work on random times, and even then it's slow and the food is cold
- Staff didn't speak that much English at all

Overall for the price of $416 for 7 nights this hotel is barely acceptable, but I'm sure there would be worse options around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights. It was our first visit to Vietnam. The hotel is very well placed on Hai Ba Trung, a main street of HCMC in District 1. By Australian standards our room was smallish; bigger than a bathroom (see AUSSIETONY's review) so we must have had a different room. Our room was at the rear so we had a view over the rooftops of HCMC. One wardrobe, no drawers. There was space in the bottom of the wardrobe in which bags could have been packed but since there was no-where in which to put the clothes you had unpacked, this was not much help. In the end we played "jump the bag". Clearly locals travel lighter than farangs. Having said that, the room was spotless even if the fit-out was a bit over the top aesthetically. Who was their interior decorator? The air-con was magic, the lighting very seductive :) So seductive I kept losing things. The bed was hands down the best bed we had slept in away from home, ever. The room was properly serviced each day and "made new". The bathroom was new and always spotless. Loved the toilet IN the shower recess guys. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel rate was 1/4 of what you could pay for a western chain hotel room in HCMC. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is official I have now stayed in the smallest Hotel room ever, The toilet shares the shower cubicle there is no space to leave any luggage it is like a capsule hotel, ok for one night I was bumped from the other Hotel although confirmed by Agoda the Hotel over booked, but no compensation, just a sorry from reception, and when i arrived at the hotel not of my choice they give be the broom closet
Great I do not think

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

ChilliGarlic
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went for a cheaper, smaller hotel as we were staying more for transit than hotel enjoyment. This hotel was perfect! Funky fit out, with quirky fun details, free wifi, great bathroom, and comfy bed. Staff were helpful and well informed, making our first time in HCMC easier than it otherwise might have been. Small rooms, but really ideal for our purpose, and exactly what was advertised. There are quite a few of these in HCMC it seems, so be very clear with the taxi driver which one you're going to! Everything was really clean, and the breakfast, included, was great for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung

Address: 46 - 48 Hai Ba Trung St., Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel A&EM Hai Ba Trung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.