We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location to most tour pick up spots” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Y Nhi Guest House

Save Saved
You added Y Nhi Guest House to your Saves list
Y Nhi Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Y Nhi Guest House
241/30 Pham Ngu Lao, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 615 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Central location to most tour pick up spots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The family who runs this place is very nice and accommodating. They introduced me to a couple of other travelers and it was a grand old time being that I was traveling solo. They were able to book the Cu Chi Tunnel tour for me at a very short notice and they can change your money to VND at a rate higher than most places.

I had a single room w/ my own bathroom and it was clean. I was situated right by the middle of the hallway though so I heard the other guests coming and going. Wifi signal was really strong.

There's a good coffee cart right outside the entrance to the right. The lady who runs it is a doll and she made my coffee for me every morning. To the left of the entrance, there's a food stall which has all the street food you can possibly want.

Location is close to all the bars and restaurants in the backpacker district. Ben Thanh Market is about a 20 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Cheap, clean and friendly! We paid less for a private room with own bathroom than you would for a bed in a hostel...you can't beat that for value. The room was small but it was lovely and clean, had flat screen tv and was quite new. The family that own it where very friendly and made every effort despite their english not being so good.No breakfast at this place or daily cleaning but I am sure they would clean if you asked. It is not the easiest place to find as it is situated in a little alleyway but the location was perfect as the surrounding area was an awesome place to be at night with bustling bars and eateries. We booked 2 nights and stayed 7!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This guest house is right in the middle of everything, the people that run it are a family and 'mum' is a great joy. The internet is good and the food on the street right outside the front door is great quality. There are English speaking channels and the rooms are very comfortable. I found it a great place to stay to get used to the busy Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Everything new and fresh. Rooms are big, come with air-con, TV, and I can't remember, if there was a fridge there or not. The guest house is in a quiet lane so you'll get a good night sleep. Run by a very nice Vietnamese family.
If you give them laundry late in the evening, it is ready the next day in the morning (1 USD/kilo). There is a whiteboard with a bus timetable and prices at the reception, which they can book for you, but they also helped us book tickets to a destination which was not there. Also called the home stay we were going next for a nominal fee. When we were leaving, the owner went with us to the main street to help us catch a taxi and not get overcharged.
We paid 20 USD for the room and as I read from the other review probably overpaid twice, but it was still great value for us comparing to other places in Vietnam and would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Very new guesthouse, and very well build. Cleanest bathroom I've ever seen in a budget accommodation in SE Asia. The room had tastefull lighting, bed was good and it had proper aircon. The people running the GH were friendly .
Best thing was the price, only 10 dollar. Very cheap for this area. There are many guesthouses around who offer the same quality, but prices seem to be between 12 and 25 dollar elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Y Nhi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Nhi Guest House

Address: 241/30 Pham Ngu Lao, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 615 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Y Nhi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Y Nhi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.