We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French colonial architeture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Notre Dame Cathedral

Notre Dame Cathedral
Duong Nguyen Du, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Visit Notre Dame Cathedral like an insider
Private Tour
$50*
and up
Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This French-built cathedral occupies scenic Paris Square in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“French colonial architeture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

One of most beautiful church in Ho Chi Minh city, in the center of city, 30 meters to Central Post Office, 150 meters to Reunification Palace. Come here and you can spend about an hour to see 3 those attractions. If you interest in church, you may want to see Huyen Si church, which one is the oldest and second largest Catholic church in Saigon, check information here:

http://www.citypassguide.com/destination/ho-chi-minh/attractions/huyen-sy-church

after this visit, you may want to have lunch in good restaurants near the place: Quan Ngon, opposite the Reunification Place at 138 Nam Ky Khoi Nghia street for Vietnamese food or Créperie & Café for light Western food at 5 Han Thuyet street - opposite Notre Dame, Diamond Plaza ̣at 39 Le Duan street (right behind the Notre Dame Catheral) food court with many food choice

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    668
    609
    109
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
CAN THO, VIETNAM
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful exterior”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Many, many brides have wedding photos taken outside the church. Because of its central location, we passed by it at least once each day and each time there were wedding parties posing.

Went in and lit a candle; spent only a few minutes inside.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“It's a cathedral”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Lots of wedding photography going on at this place. Nice to check it out if you are strolling around there area, but not a "must see." The park next to this place is nice, and worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
175 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Interesting, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This seems to make it on the list of tourist sights, as there isn't a lot else to see in HCMC. Situated right next door to the Post Office, which is pretty from the outside, but nothing special inside. You can see both these sights with a walk through the heart of the city, including Dong Koi Street (formerly Rue Catinat), past the Rex Hotel, Ho Chi Minh Square and Municipal Theatre.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“beautiful Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I love old building especially if it well maintained. The church conveniently located in the middle close to other attractions. What is great, the visitor can only up to certain distance, since its limited for people who come to church for praying. Inside the church it was really calm and cool, worth a look.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre Dame Cathedral also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Notre Dame Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Notre Dame Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.