We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Replica” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Notre Dame Cathedral

Notre Dame Cathedral
Duong Nguyen Du, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Visit Notre Dame Cathedral like an insider
Private Tour
$50*
and up
Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This French-built cathedral occupies scenic Paris Square in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Replica”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just like any cathedral - of course almıst a replica of the original one in Paris. There is no escape from seeing it since it is quite central near the post office, to visit inside and spend some time is totally up to you....

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    670
    609
    109
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

You would expect to find this building in France, where it was designed, not in Asia. You won't need heaps of time to visit unless you are into old churches or architecture but as part of a tour was a good spot to grabs some photos

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Juz another building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Mite be juz me but it really was juz another beautiful architectural building by the same guy dat build Eiffel Tower i guess... So a few clicking ard and we're done.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not very impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It is so famous that raised my expectation. But I was kind of disappointed when I actually saw it. It is much smaller than some of the most cathedrals in other countries.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Interesting to see a cathedral in Ho Chi Minh City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Built during the French Colonial days in typical French style. Visibly stands out in the city because of the archtecture and style, but is really very ordinary when compared to cathedrals in Europe.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre Dame Cathedral also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Notre Dame Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Notre Dame Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.