We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating view of history and 1960's architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reunification Palace

Reunification Palace
135 Nam Ky Khoi Nghia | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
808.5037
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$58*
and up
Ho Chi Minh City Sightseeing Tour with Saigon...
Type: Architectural Buildings, Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This fascinating government building, significant for its role in the Vietnam conflict, is preserved almost exactly as it was in 1966.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fascinating view of history and 1960's architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was amazed the Communists didn't level this place after they won, they kept pretty much the same as 1975. As an added bonus the building hasn't really been updated so it has a pure 1960's flavor of architecture and design. The "war bunker" is a bit campy if you know what your looking at; random war maps from various years/dates and a Hodge podge of old portable radios that are supposed to be the "main communications room of the Puppet government of the imperialists" but overall a real treat if you like history!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    1,140
    682
    127
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Another must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The American Embassy during the war. We could only see from outside the gate as it was closed. There's a couple of tanks and an F-5 airplane on the grounds that we could see.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

You can't come to Vietnam without visiting it. Fantastic building full of history and the story of Vietnam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Interesting - and a time warp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Visited with a guide as part of our intro to HCMC - and glad we did. Interesting to get the stories and history. Very much a time warp especially underground e.g. the computer room.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historical site for a nice afternoon visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is well worth the visit, just for the history involved. It was built as a Presidential Palace. It was built in 1865 on the grounds of Norodom Palace as a residence for the French Governor. But is most known as the historic site where the Vietnam war ended. The building and grounds are very well maintained. We bought the standard ticket that allows you into certain areas like the grand reception, meeting rooms, banquet area, situation room, the bunker, etc. They have various photos on the walls showing the history of Vietnam. You can pay a little more and do a full tour of the Palace with a tour guide. You can also walk around the outside area of the Palace. In the back there are huge trees with an enormous root system. Very beautiful. They also have a small outside Cafe where you can sit and relax with a drink. At the time we sat down to relax there was live music with a small group of musicians. Very nice. If you are in Ho Chi Minh city, then this is a must stop on the cultural and historical tour!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reunification Palace also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Reunification Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reunification Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.