We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reunification Palace

Reunification Palace
135 Nam Ky Khoi Nghia | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
808.5037
Improve this listing
Visit Reunification Palace like an insider
Private Tour
$50*
and up
Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This fascinating government building, significant for its role in the Vietnam conflict, is preserved almost exactly as it was in 1966.
Gold Coast Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was stunned by the enormity and opulence of this building. The history was something that I already knew, but still found the photographs amazing and very disturbing. It is good to get another side of the story which is not pro american. Definitely worth a visit, I was not expecting anything like this. Recommend.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    1,408
    844
    146
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
163 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Witness of the reunification of the North and South .......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

When we arrived at this Palace, it was still early and we could not get in. We came back later on, but did not make a tour inside the Palace as we needed to hurry to catch the flight back home. We were fortunate to have some opportunities to take some photo's in its front yards.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brings you into a throwback mode”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place will introduce you to the sad past of Saigon. Nonetheless, the Reunification Palace will also make you realize the city's triumphant journey from its great fall to its rising to a new beginning. One of the must see places in Ho Chi Minh City!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Reunification Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have to admit that I did not know a lot about the war in Vietnam but after going to Reunification palace I was intrigued and inspired to find out more. This is a definite must see attraction! Learn about the proud and humble Vietnamese race. Understand their history, their struggles, their intelligence and their resilience. Highly recommend that you get along to see this for yourself. It is a tour back in time and it is well worth seeing!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A1st day must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

You can't visit Saigon without seeing the reunification palace.
- cheap: 15,000 dongs ($.75)
- great feel for the history of the war.
- a national landmark

Tips
- they close two hours for lunch between 11am and 1pm
- a tour is good or you can just hang behind one of the many groups.
- does get hot, especially in the basement/bunker section
- a good place to cool down is Gloria Jeans coffee shop...just 1 block to your left when exiting the palace. Not local....but the 24 oz mango chiller (freeze) hits the spot.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reunification Palace also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Reunification Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reunification Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.