We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koniko Backpackers Hostel

Koniko Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koniko Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Koniko Backpackers Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   149 Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here for about 4 hours in-between a late flight arrival and an early start on a tour the next day. The hostel is clean, breakfast was included and they arranged for a fixed price taxi to pick me up from the airport at 01:30 which was excellent!

Only downside is the location, on a busy main street which seemed to party on all night. Fantastic if you like that sort of thing but not really for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
4
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed for a week in Koniko Hostel and had a great time. The staff are friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard and the beds and fittings are new and in good order. The location is great as it's in Bui Vien the backpacker epicentre of Saigon. Will be back one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Won't arrange cab to airport, didn't tell us breakfast was over at 10, went for it at 10:05 and they refused to let us even have juice or tea. For 20$ a night better can be found just up the street. Also there was a false door in the corner of our room which led to a roof space. The door was propped up and provided no security.( room 101)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koniko Backpack... H, Owner at Koniko Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review but we just want to explain with you about we didn't tell you about breakfast because when you came you ask about how much for double room?we give you 2 option:
1.double room is 20$ without breakfast
2.Double room is 22$ including breakfast
But you want to took the double room is 20$ that's why we didn't give you the order sheet for breakfast and didn't tell you about about the breakfast time too,but anyway thank you for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Won't arrange cab to airport, didn't tell us breakfast was over at 10, went for it at 10:05 and they refused to let us even have juice or tea. For 20$ a night better can be found just up the street. Also there was a false door in the corner of our room which led to a roof space. The door was propped up and provided no security.( room 101)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koniko Backpack... H, Owner at Koniko Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review but we just want to explain with you about we didn't tell you about breakfast because when you came you ask about how much for double room?we give you 2 option:
1.double room is 20$ without breakfast
2.Double room is 22$ including breakfast
But you want to took the double room is 20$ that's why we didn't give you the order sheet for breakfast and didn't tell you about about the breakfast time too,but anyway thank you for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you're a young person travelling to Ho Chi Minh City, this really is the perfect location. As the main backpackers' district, the street is littered with cheap restaurants and bars; everything is on your doorstep.

Despite the hustle and bustle on the street, the hostel seems removed from this. The reception staff are kind and obliging with good English and ready to offer advise on matters such as staying safe on the street and airport transfer (provided).

Breakfast is included, with the Vietnamese pho option by far more substantial and a lot better than at many restaurants!

The rooms are, predictably, not incredibly big and we had minimal storage space in our triple room but it served us well for two nights. The noise and light from the street isn't great so, for a quieter room, it would be advisable to choose on of the ones on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-up room to get away from the noise of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saigon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent two nights in this hostel. The accomotdation was good, and the owners speak english, so the service in general was great. The beds were perfect to sleep in and the bathrooms were okay too. It is located in the city center so you never pay more than 10 dollars for a trip with a taxi to any destination. With a fridge and air condition, you are able to survive in the hot surrounding. The breakfast is very delicious too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

advantage:
clean, cheap and spacious dorm

disadvantage:
always noisy due to the wooden floor, malfunction a/c, no lift n somehow tedious to climb to rooftop for breakfast, can get better breakfast along the street at the same cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koniko Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koniko Backpackers Hostel

Address: 149 Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Koniko Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Koniko Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koniko Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.