We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of life and history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Post Office

Central Post Office
At the top of Dong Khoi St opposite Notre Dame Cathedral, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$58*
and up
Ho Chi Minh City Sightseeing Tour with Saigon...
Type: Architectural Buildings, Government Buildings, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This post office also houses a useful office center with phones and fax lines.
Poitiers, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Full of life and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Most of time the place is crowded both of vietnamese people and foreigners.
Maps about vietnam and saigon are exposed on the wall and give an idea of the past urbanisation.
There you can by postcards, stamps, phone cards...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    1,421
    669
    73
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Short worth visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Old fabulous French architecture. When walked in seeing old working maintain style of Vietnam post office. Many phone booths of old fashion telephone network but not valid nowadays.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice old building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I went to Post Office after I took a picture in front of Notre Dame Cathedral. It was so crowded on Sunday afternoon were people walking around that area. In front of this building there were two couples. They made pre-wedding photos. So many teenagers were playing skate board and doing their activities. I went to inside pf the post office , nice place as al post office. There are souvenirs shops too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Visit CPO & Notre Dame for 10 minutes while admiring French architecture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The CPO and Notre Dame Cathedral are on the same Square and both clearly show French colonial influence in their architecture from circa 1886. The Post Office looks like large European train station; although there's now a large painting of Ho Chi Minh added inside. There's also heaps of stalls inside selling tourist souveniers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Amazing entrance with wooden phone booths which had closing doors. Excellent range of good quaity of souvenirs reasonably priced - no haggling a bonus!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Post Office also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Central Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Post Office, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.