We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place with rude merchant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cho Ben Thanh Market

Cho Ben Thanh Market
Intersection of Le Loi, Ham Nghi, Tran Hung Dao Avenues and Le Lai Street, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cho Ben Thanh Market like an insider
Private Tour
$50*
and up
Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour
Activities: Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the city's biggest, most authentic market. You can find almost anything you need here, from basic supplies to souvenirs. The food is outstanding and the people-watching is great even if you don't buy anything.
Dongguan China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting place with rude merchant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

You could visit this place as one of tourist attraction while you stay at HCM, but beware that only buy in Fix Price area only, because trust me you don't want to bargain in this place! they are very very rude even when you just look around they will aggressively force you to buy something and when you do not want to buy it they will grab your hand and will not let it go until you buy something, that is really really rude, creepy and crazy experience that I had in this place!

So if you want to buy something, just go to fix price area and don't ever bother to visit the small and crowded (with local seller) alley.. or you can find much cheaper and nicer place outside this place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    621
    576
    189
    120
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Look but dont buy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 days checking everything out after learning tricks in Hanoi. Basically anything you buy in the markets, you will find for much cheaper in the street shops outside, usually more than half the "special"price they quote. Learn to be firm saying no, and look out for the ones that try to block you or grab you, they will use force. The street shops are far more polite and remember to bargain as they still will negotiate.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Exhausting, enervating, exhilarating!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Huge covered market, with many stalls selling all manner of beautiful lacquerware and homewares at ridiculously cheap prices - even if you do get ripped off and didn't bargain hard enough. We bought a magnificant laquerware platter at just over half the original asking price, and a set of salad bowls at a great price after finding someone prepared to reduce the original price they made up when they saw us coming. This market is much less crowded and more tourist-oriented than others we have visited in Vietnam, but the stall holders were also much more agressive, constantly grabbing me as I walked past, which in the oppressive heat wasn't conducive to lingering longer. Even my impressive paper fan, featuring all of the Vietnamese Generals, couldn't stir up a breeze, and didn't seem to be getting me any discounts with the younger generation stall holders. Some nice clothes, but mostly tiny sizes, and "designer" brands, oddly enough all looking the same. Lots of "Zara" available, but unfortunately only in tiny sizes, and perhaps not to European taste. But lots of fun and well worth a visit. Just remember once you start crossing the road to get to the market, keep walking...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“sharpen your bargaining skills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent only a short time here after being severely ripped off by two CYCLO drivers who argued that we pay much much more than we should have to take us to the market and, foolishly, because we had only just arrived in Vietnam and were slow at doing money conversions in our heads, we paid them. PLEASE watch out for these devious thieves, they will employ many tricks to put you off guard including dropping you off blocks away from the market.
Unfortunately this put us off spending time in the markets as we were not prepared to risk being potentially 'ripped off' by stall holders. What stalls we did venture into were very friendly and not overly high prices.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Must for take home Gifts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A catch all place for the Gifts to bring home... Always bargen with them... Leave the stand if you don't like the price, it might get cheaper... Lot of side streets in the area.. well worth shopping also...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cho Ben Thanh Market also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cho Ben Thanh Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cho Ben Thanh Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.