We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged & rude service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spring Hotel to your Saves list
Spring Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 - 46 Le Thanh Ton St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overcharged & rude service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were overcharged at this hotel, as one of our traveling companions had booked out earlier during the day, paying her share before she left. We were forced to pay the full cost of the room despite this, and nearly missed our bus to Cambodia because of the staff. They also tried to charge us for a towel because it was "too dirty", saying that the towel was ruined because it had blood on it. After a close examination by all in the hotel lobby, indeed it was only make up, the owner finally agreed.

Don't stay here. It's not worth the hassle! Plenty of other nicer places to stay that are still central.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGUYEN H, Owner at Spring Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Steph M,
First of all, I'd like to thank you for spending your time writing this review on Tripadvisor. Every single review is equally important to us, motivating & helping us improve our services.
Me, as well as all the receptionists were very surprised to your review. As for myself (owner) hasn't not heard, or directly resolved these incidents as you wrote in your review. We are totally confused, and we want find an answer to this. Unfortunately we don't have your email to directly contact you. So, please email to my personal email address: trangspring44@gmail.com
If it is true that we mistakenly overcharged you, we will return your money right away. Cheating is not our way of doing business here.
As we wait for your email, please double check which Spring hotel did you stay in? The reason I asked because there are 4 different Spring hotels in central Ho Chi Minh. There are Spring house hotel at 221 Pham Ngu Lao st; Spring hotel at 185 Pham Ngu Lao st; Spring hotel at 3 Tran Khac Chan st; and us (Spring hotel at 44 Le Thanh Ton st)..
I hope I’ll receive your email soon, so that we can find an answer to your concerns.
Yours sincerely,
Nguyen Hoang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    161
    69
    23
    12
See reviews for
41
151
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I found very good service at a great location. IThe Spring Hotel has a very helpful staff. A very reasonable price with a nice breakfast was included. This hotel is close to everything. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Spring Hotel was recommended by a colleague and I have stayed here many times over the past four or five years. It's centrally located and very reasonably priced. Breakfast - fresh fruit, juice, eggs, tea/coffee and lovely warm rolls - is ample. Bathrooms are on the small size but there's always plenty of hot water whatever time of day. Beds are all huge. Having stayed in a variety of rooms, my favourite is at the front on the fifth floor, slightly bigger than some of the others. Staff are unfailingly helpful. On one occasion my wallet, left in a taxi, was retrieved by the doorman who phoned the taxi firm on my behalf. Taxis, laundry, directions are all helpfully sorted by the front desk staff. If you want to visit the main sights they're all within walking distance. You do need eyes in the back of your head and plenty of courage to cross busy roads in HCM but stride out and enjoy everything this vibrant city has to offer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGUYEN H, Owner at Spring Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Cambridge Elizabeth,
Thank you for kind review, this surely motivate us to improve our services even better. We hope to welcome you back at The Spring hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Nguyen H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Cant really say to much about this hotel other than the fact that it was pretty average. Average location, average room, average breakfast, average cleanliness, average staff. I really tried to think of positives when writing this review but couldnt. I have stayed in far superior hotels in HCM City for far less dollars so wouldnt stay here again. The location as I said was average and a bloody good walk from the markets too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. The hotel is old. We have a small room. The king bed seems extra large. There is a small table and chairs by the window with a nice view- room 402.
The breakfast is not a buffet. There is a menu. There's lots to eat.
There is Internet in all areas and computers in the lobby.
It's a really great location that allows for walking to so many sights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for several weeks and can't fault the service. Everything is done with a smile. The rooms are good and a reasonable size for a 2 star and fully air conditioned. Bathrooms are very small with shower over bath but there is always hot water as each room has it's own water heater. Breakfast is very good. The hotel is in a great location with all the sights and malls within walking distance. Laundry service is efficient too. I really like it here!

Room Tip: Some rooms are windowless, so be sure to check if this is a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Spring Hotel is a charming and well equipped hotel in the heart of District 1. Rooms were comfortable and well equipped, not very large, but not too small and everything worked. Internet was a bit sporadic, which is typical still in this part of the world. Staff were helpful and arranged bookings for tours etc. Breakfast was generous and included in price. All in all a good choice

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel

Address: 44 - 46 Le Thanh Ton St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Hotel Saigon
Spring Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Spring Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.