We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money at a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Saigon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saigon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 - 47 Dong Du Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 358 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Value for money at a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

During my last 2 visits I had stayed at the Riverside Renaissance a couple of streets away, but this time wanted to try something cheaper and value for money. Hence I tried this one which was around ½ price as that of the former. The rent was USD 83.

Advantages,
1. Good location on Dong Du street in District 1 and closer to the happening places and restaurants in HCMC.
2. Value for money including breakfast and WiFi
3. Friendly staff
4. Though not applicable to me, might be a good place for Muslim travelers to stay as it is right across a big Mosque and surrounded by Halal restaurants.

Disadvantages:
1. Noise from a club from a parallel street was a nuisance at night even though I was staying on the 8th floor.
2. The call from the Mosque for prayers were a bit of a disturbance as well.

Overall, a value for money hotel at a good location with decent services.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    37
    40
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
15
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

A modest hotel, very convenient especially for muslim travellers since there are a few Halal restaurants just a few steps away (Dnyonya, Bombay, Halal@Saigon, just to name a few). Located opposite the Sheraton so taking a cab wouldn't be a problem as most of the taxi drivers there know the directions to sheraton. About 1 km from the famous Cho Ben Than and taxi rate would be around 1USD per trip. Not sure about other companies but Vinasun seems to be reliable because they use the rate meter. Walking distance to most of the city attractions; the mall, the theatre, etc. Rooms are spacious and clean, the downside is the lighting. Breakfast buffet, a bit boring. Same menu every day but then again, it's a 3 star hotel so good enough i guess. Yup, i'll come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanh Hoa, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

From the hotel, we could walk to central of city and almost of attractions like Ben Thanh Market, Freedom Palace...I really like the food in the restaurants nearby.
The hotel room was small but lovely, clean and modern architecture like the new renovation. The staff was friendly and helpful and always smile when they meet the guest. Many thanks. I'll come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

The Sai Gon hotel is in a convenient, if not very interesting, spot across the road from the Sheraton.
The rooms are quite good if a little shabby. The main problem here is the noise. We stayed on two different floors before and after a trip to the Mekong Delta. Our first room was opposite the mosque, so the call to prayer duing the night made for interesting background noise (not too bad once you got used to it). On the other side of the building however, we were opposite a 24 hour construction site. The rumble and roar was very disturbing.
The hotel seems to mainly attract Asian visitors, and the breakfast seems mostly tailored to their tastes. If you're still excited by omelettes you'll be fine but otherwise there's not much to enthuse about.
Positives: friendly staff, faded grandeur, cool karaoke rooms!
I am sure there are better choices in Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

this hotel deserves much more than just a 3 star rating. the staff are friendly and very helpful. great service and housekeeping. we had two rooms; 1 double bedroom and 1 triple bedroom. both are spacious, clean, comfortable and the bathrooms are excellent. the hotel is located just opposite masjidul jamiel mosque with a few halal restaurants literally at it's doorsteps. the hotel is just within walking distance to some of the famous attractions of saigon city e.g. the opera house, the harbour, and the ben thanh market. i would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel and can recommend it highly. The décor is fresh and modern, the staff are some of the best that we've come across in our travels. We felt like this was much more than a two star hotel with computers in the rooms and other special touches. Breakfast was complimentary and very nice, room was spacious and had an incredible view of the city. This place is definitely a rising star in Vietnam and should do quite well. Recommended for families and couples, although there is not much for kids in and around the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Unless you are booking into one of the 5 star hotels, a having a small room in Vietnam seems to be the rule. Though we don't mind it as long as it is clean and cozy. If it is not too noisy at night on top of that, well that is just gravy. Saigon hotel was like that. Nothing to much expect, but nothing less either. The place is a solid B&B style house posing as a Hotel with friendly stuff, nice breakfast and within walking distance of where things happen in HCMC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Hotel

Address: 41 - 47 Dong Du Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 358 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saigon Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saigon Hotel, perfectly located right in the commercial and tourist district of Ho Chi Minh City, is a great choice of 3 star hotel for both business and leisure travelers who want to experience Saigon’s bustling life.You can easily find most of the tourist attractions, shopping centers as well as various country restaurants in just a few minutes walk. The elegant decoration of Saigon Hotel makes a great impression on you about the culture and history of a well-known place: “Saigon - Ho Chi Minh City”.Your Warm & Friendly Saigon home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.