We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Norfolk Hotel to your Saves list
Norfolk Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Le Thanh Ton Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Some reviewers have commented on rooms being on the small side, but our room was plenty large enough. We were on 2nd floor, very quiet and roomy. Bathroom design not that flash, impossible not to get water all over the floor, but I'm not cleaning so not really a problem!! Close to all local attractions, most within easy walking distance. Breakfast is good enough. Staff friendly and professional. Would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    69
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
28
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have been using Norfolk Hotel for many a business trips to Vietnam and it's always a pleasure to arrive and being greeted by the staff.
I have also been cutting a stay short and wasn't charged for the night I reserved, but didn't use. At the same time I have been prolonging a few stays with no problems at all.
The breakfast buffet is excellent, the Corso restaurant is a great place to get a good steak in the evening. Nice selection of wines and never a lot of waiting as the staff is alert and quick.
Should you want to take a swim, you are allowed to use the pool not far away in the Norfolk Residence for free. The gym is small, but with a good selection of machines and dumbbells.
The rooms are nice, clean and quiet due to double glazing windows.
It is located in walking distance to all major sites in the city and fairly easy access by taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel facing Le Loi Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very centralised location, about 10mins walk to Vincom Centre and Parkson from the right of the hotel and about 5 mins walk to Ben Thanh Market from the left. Personally think the market is way too touristy, go only to the fixed price stalls if you want t o go. There's a Taka Plaza on the left of the hotel too, round the corner which is smaller version of Saigon Square. Walk ahead after Taka Plaza, cross the main road and you will see Saigon Square on your right. Must go place for your shopping if you want some cheap and good quality Zara, Mango, LeSports, Crumpler, Kipling, Adidas imitations. As a business hotel, Norfolk provides very good service though the room toilet is really small and dated. Not sure if any of the rooms has standing shower facilities instead as the high and narrow bathtub could be a safety hazard for some people. I got a deluxe room on Level 1 with a balcony, one level above the lobby which is pretty noisy if you are a light sleeper as the traffic noise doesn't stop even after midnight. As the balcony is too narrow for a chair to be put in, I personally think you can forget all rooms with balcony, especially on the lower floors as you will not have any privacy having to face the opposite stretch of shops. One drawback from the hotel is the money exchange service which it charges a 3% commission, which is pretty uncommon in HCM. If you need to change money, walk down 5mins on the left to Liberty Central Hotel or to Saigon Square. The commission charged by the hotel can be a very significant amount if you change much. This is something I hope the hotel can do something about it since it's not a common practice. Breakfast is good too, though the coffee can be better if it wants to protrait as a business hotel and additional 3pin sockets to be provided at the working desk will be great. There's only two 2-pin sockets, on top of each other at the desk now, one used for the table lamp and the other for your use, hence It's difficult to plug in your adaptor due to the lack of space unless you remove the plug for the lamp.

Room Tip: Recommend the deluxe room if you want a more spacious room. No low floors for light sleepers and if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Comfortable quiet room. Pillows were too hard for my husband. The location could not be better. There is nothing flashy about the place and it is very nice. Reception staff is competent and helpful. We had fruit plate in the room and free drinks voucher for the bar. Breakfast was not great, just ok. I did not like a lot of pre sliced bread, the cheese plate was the size of the teacup saucer, boiled eggs were cold. The service in the restaurant was good and very attentive. Shower water pressure was pretty low.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located, near malls and restaurants. Staff are friendly, helpful and prompt when they respond to requests.

The whole place however is narrow and ''tight'' - not very specious in the overall layout. One night, mosquitoes actually woke me from sleep and I had to request for repellent spray at 1 am.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed: 5 nights September 2012

Friendly staff - and many of them ready to help with anything from hailing down a cab to making sure you check you pockets before you get off one to make sure you haven't left anything in there.


On site restaurant with great food but very expensive by local standards (about the same as bistro pirces in Australia).

The room was big and clean, with a very effective aircon.

It was facing out onto Le Thanh Ton, but being on the fifth floor, I had no problem with the traffic noise at all.

It was a bit disappointing to only get 2 teabags and 2 coffee sachets supplied every day.

On the upside, 2 x 335ml bottles of water were provided daily.

In room internet by LAN cable was very fast, but did go down one morning for a few hours (did not test wireless).

The power points accept just about every plug in the world, and if that still doesn't work for you, reception can provide adaptors.

Also in a part of town where you don't get harrased by men aksing if you want a girl every 5 steps (as I discovered near much bigger establishments) when walking out at night.

Can't really comment on value - as this was a business organised trip - but it is cheaper than some of the more glitzy big name establishments, and worthy of serious consideration.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The goods:
- great location - walking distance to most tourist destinations
- rooms are decently sized and well equiped
- the staff is well trained and always there when you need them; if someing breaks by the time you hang up the phone someone is at your door who fixes it - kudos to that
- decent breakfast buffet

The not so good:
- was a bit taken aback by the number of problems had in a short interval with things breaking up, but the speed at which they were addressed made it less of a hassle

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Hotel

Address: 117 Le Thanh Ton Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norfolk Hotel is a boutique business hotel in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City featuring 104 renovated rooms with top-flight amenities and elegant setting. The 24-hour complementary broadband wireless connection and functional working areas are also accessible for busy executives; this, together with its central location, intimate atmosphere and excellent services, has made the Norfolk Hotel a favorite for business travelers to Ho Chi Minh City. The two meeting room - Mosman & Manly are aimed with state-of-the-art facilities providing professional support for seminars, business meetings and events, including breakfasts or luncheons Norfolk Hotel has one of the best steakhouse in town - Corso Steakhouse & Bar located on the Ground floor, offering luxurious dining in casual surroundings. With an open kitchen concept, exciting menus of Asian and Western dishes, especially the renowned succulent steaks delicately prepared on the grill, Corso Steakhouse & Bar rivals some of the best steakhouses from across the pond and please even the hardened gourmets. For relaxation, Norfolk Spa services with sauna, steam bath & massage sevice help guests release pressure while Health Club offers a quick toning session and appropriate workout for your body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.