We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit to Ho Chi Minh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Caravelle Saigon to your Saves list
Caravelle Saigon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our first visit to Ho Chi Minh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our stay at the Caravelle Hotel is one of the most enjoyable experiences one can have the building is beautiful well laid out and very easy to navigate the restaurants are all world class and the staff throughout the whole complex are the most happy helpful friendly people you could ever wish have to take care of you and make your stay a very enjoyable experience

Room Tip: We found the room toe great very very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    546
    124
    28
    12
See reviews for
213
693
107
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at Caravelle in July last summer and I would not hesitate to come back here again the next time I will be HCM. Excellence service from check in to lounge and all facilities.

The apartment is huge and the furniture is clean, comfy, modest, decor is very great and luxurious.
About the food & drink service, I felt the breakfast, included in our rate was fantastic. Especially, the bar on the 6th floor was also very enjoyable with live music, outside with views of the city.
The staff were all courteous, fantastic and always genuinely willing to help.

Really really excellence hotel !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a lovely hotel for both business and leisure the swimming pool is a real pleasure after a days work. Rooms lovely and bed very very comfortable. Breakfast is terrific and hotel has free wifi which is always useful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I always stay at this hotel when visiting HCMC.

Good points: Service is exceptional, welcome fruit in rooms, cleanliness of rooms, size of rooms, location and ease of access, wifi, breakfast, bar/cafe in atrium.

Areas for improvement: lunch options in restaurant. If you are not eating the buffet, the a la carte takes quite a long time to prepare, even a simple sandwich (25 mins).

A few travelers have commented on the breakfast and prior to reading these postings, I had taken it for granted. However, on reflection, it is excellent. The choice of everything from fresh fruits, muesli's, sushi, egg station, pasta station, breads and pastries. It is exceptional and comes with great service.

The best coffee I have had in a long time was had at the atrium bar. This also serves as a great location from impromptu meetings. The staff are attentive, but also discreet to allow you to converse.

Bottled water and fruit in the room provides a very nice welcome. Turn down service in the evening, accompanied by a small gift for you to take home for the kids (little bear) makes you popular at home too. Very nice touch.

A great business hotel but also very popular with vacationers from across the globe. Very cosmopolitan, but very welcoming. My preferred hotel in HCMC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is very well positions and provides good value for money. Lobby smells of food which is never very nice. Roof top bar is lively (I was on the floor below but did not hear any noise) and worth a trip with views over the city. Rooms are adequate. I left some stuff in the room which got back to me which impressed me.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This Hotel is one among the best and the oldest in the party city HO CHIN MIN .
The location is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. Right next to the Main Square of the city, all the best restaurants , Malls , Cafés just a 2-5 min walk . The rooms are simple, clean & neat , a special mention to the housekeeping it was top notch. The live Band at the Saigon Bar at the Roof top of the Hotel , is an entertainment not to miss out on . The Casinos was a little disappointing as it mainly had Slot Machines and a couple of Electronic Roulette tables. The staff are very courteous and the Front desk had been wonderful. We did have a little issue at the restaurant, as we didn't have much options for vegetarian , but the next day the manager took ample care of it and did provide us some wonderful breakfast options. Overall it was a pleasure and would recommend anyone traveling to this city.

Room Tip: The River view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Caravelle is a fantastic place to stay. It is right in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with some great shops and restaurants around. Having said that, you can't fault the restaurants within the hotel. The Saigon Saigon bar gives a brilliant view of the city and the cocktails aren't too shabby either. Reflections restaurant was beautiful, with the food exceptional. My wife and I didn't think it was overpriced either. Our room was lovely, and nothing was a problem if you needed anything.
I must say, that the breakfast here was outstanding in service, quality and selection. They even provided vegemite! Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#8 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#8 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravelle Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.