We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for a hotel in Ho Chi Minh City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Caravelle Saigon to your Saves list
Caravelle Saigon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
El Paso, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for a hotel in Ho Chi Minh City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently visited Ho Chi Minh City while taking a cruise from Hong Kong to Singapore. The trip included an overnight stay in Ho Chi Minh City and we had the pleasure of staying at the Caravelle Hotel. The location could not have been better because it is in the heart of downtown and within walking distance of many attractions including one of the city markets. Truly a five star hotel with excellent service and great restaurants. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Look for a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    546
    124
    28
    12
See reviews for
212
692
107
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Caravelle was excellent. Our room was spacious with a great city view, the staff were friendly and attentive, the location was convenient and the restaurants and bars were great. The view from the rooftop bar was amazing. We'd definitely come back when in HCMC again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our first visit to Ho Chi Minh City and had recommendations to stay at this hotel. We stayed for 5 nights in a Signature Premium Deluxe room in late March/early April. We were very happy with the hotel - staff were excellent, restaurant food quality and service was great (the seafood buffet was one of the best we have had), and location was great - no problems walking anywhere once you mastered the traffic. We also enjoyed the rooftop bar - so good on balmy evenings. The room was ok but needs updating - the bed was just so comfortable. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived in Ho Chi Min city feeling rather jaded after a misadventure on a Mekong River Cruise and found it a restful and comfortable place to stay. The view from our room across the square to the Opera House and other colonial buildings was most interesting and attractive. Evening drinks in the famous Saigon Saigon bar were a treat and the hotel was within easy walking distance to many restaurants and shops as well a key attractions. Breakfast was also abundant and tasty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have dined and stayed in the Caravelle numerous times. Actually my first time there was in 1992, when things were difficult. At that time the Caravelle was the best thing Saigon has to offer. It still is, and much more so. The staff are personable and friendly, often call my wife and I by name. The food is excellent. Their dining program (Caravelle Club?) makes it an excellent choice for any meal. Rooms are excellent.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is a great location as in the heat you can walk out visit attractions and then return for a drink and cool down. Enjoyed the pool in the evening when hot and sticky after a day sight seeing. The staff were friendly and helpful with a good command of English in the whole hotel. Food is good, breakfast not a huge variety but enough to give you some choices. The buffet menu we had included wine which is very expensive here

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Heart of Saigon
We really enjoyed our stay at the stately Colonial Caravelle Hotel in Saigon, very central and completely safe to walk around and see sites both during the day and evening. The hotel was very clean, great rooms, all the comforts you desire, staff made us very welcome , the breakfast buffet was one of the nicest we have seen with food available from all over the world, service supreme!! We will return, loved our short visit to Saigon, Don't miss the Saigon Bar on the 9th floor for a great view and entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#7 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravelle Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.