We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel in the middle of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Caravelle Saigon to your Saves list
Caravelle Saigon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Georgetown, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Caravelle in HCMC on February 27,2013 while on a tour related to our Southeast asia cruise. The hotel is very elegant and it shows as soon as you enter the lobby.
The room was very spacious, clean and had all the necessary amenities . We had a room overlooking the front of the hotel ,11th floor and did not notice any noise.Staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke English.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    546
    124
    28
    12
See reviews for
213
693
107
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is really old, the room has not charm and looks like in the 80's.
One of the staff at the reception was not nice at all, (and very vulgar in the way she dressed).
the only nice thing in this hotel is the breakfast and the swimmingpool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Polite helpful staff, very comfortable beds, large clean rooms, and outstanding food. Breakfasts are wonderful, and the Buffet dinners offer every type of food you can imagine, including crab, prawns, oysters etc and are all fresh, flavoursome and perfectly cooked. The buffet dinner set orice of around $70pp includes unlimited wine as well. The fine dining restaurant on Level 3 is also outstanding, but expensive by local standards. I highly recommend this hotel in Saigon. it is next to the Opera House. The large local restaurant next door offers very cheap good quality Vietnamese food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel provides good service, nice rooms, and a good breakfast all in a great location in Ho Chi Minh City. The lobby does get quite busy at various times of day and especially in the early evening hours. Pool/fitness area is very good for such a large hotel in a city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks for business. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff was friendly and I felt safe as a woman traveling alone. I would not consider this a five star hotel though. More along the lines of a four star. The buffet in the morning was excellent and the spa and work out facilities were very good. My favorite dinner of the trip was actually at Reflections, the full service restaurant. The chef there created an amazing pork loin dinner. Loved the presentation. I had drinks one evening at the Saigon Saigon Bar and enjoyed the band. The only negative there was the service was not as friendly as in other areas of the hotel. Overall though, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I learned that my male colleague was given an executive room while I was given the economy room. I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Firstly, a couple of words about scams and thieves in Ho Chi Minh City...

There are all sorts of warnings and reviews about taxi scams and bags/jewelry being stolen in Vietnam. We have just returned from two weeks in this wonderful country and we found it to be as safe as anywhere in the world to travel. Like all major cities, you have to be sensible about your belongings but there are no thieves lurking in dark corners and as long as you don't have an extremely easy to grab bag hanging off your shoulder you have no hope of being robbed.

Being charged an extra 40,000 dong for a taxi is NOT being scammed - it's US$2. Don't hop in an old beat up taxi after being approached (in English) by a dodgy driver. Just give them a smile and a no-thank-you (a smile and a no-thank-you works well for all the touting you will encounter and it is never threatening) and find a Vinasun taxi. Vinasun taxis are everywhere. They are metered, they are clean and they are very reliable. You can't help but TIP the drivers as the fares are very cheap by Western standards.

The Caravelle Hotel is brilliantly located in the centre of town and a couple of hours self-guided walking will see all the sights. The decor is old IN STYLE but not in quality - we stayed in a Signature Club room which was adequate in size and had every amenity you expect in a five star hotel. The bed was THE most comfortable I have ever slept in. The Signature Lounge is well worth paying for with great light food and free drinks in the evening, looking out over the Opera House and skyline sunset. Breakfast options were great - very happy to dine in the Signature Lounge as the main breakfast room on the ground floor seemed noisy and a bit cafeteria-ish.

The pool area is absolutely superb considering it is half way up a building. We had some wonderful spa treatments on our last day (located next to the pool) and while they were probably the most expensive in Saigon it was a bargain by Western standards. Also must mention here the highlight of our trip which was a night "Foodie" tour with XO Tours on the back of a motor bike! Look them up - it was a most memorable night.

What else? ATM is on the first floor and you need to visit that daily to get a stash of dong - Vietnam is still mostly a cash economy. Transfer from the airport? The hotel quoted us a ridiculous US$58 for a one-way pickup. Take a Vinasun taxi for around US$10 - after you exit the airport doors, turn left and walk all the way to the end of the taxi rank. The Vinasuns operate from there and they will have a guy who will help get you one. The drivers all know the Caravelle.

A fantastic stay in Saigon for us and we can't recommend the Caravelle any higher!

Room Tip: Signature Club is well worth the extra !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wonderful, friendly and polite staff. Room was of a high standard and service excellent. Pool was great on 7th floor just the thing to cool off after a hot day. Breakfasts were superb and we enjoyed the Saigon Saigon Bar. The history of this hotel is quite interesting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#8 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#8 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravelle Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.