We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy AC at night and building operations at 7am” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh

Save Saved
You added Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Bui Thi Xuan Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 354 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Noisy AC at night and building operations at 7am”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is nice and most of the staff is very friendly.
But not everything in the hotel describtion was promised.
We had only bad wifi nor no wifi.
The Air Condition was so noisy and at 7 in the morning building operations started. We talked to the manager and he said the workers will start at 9 next morning....but they started a 7 am again. Room was nice and comfortable. Breakfast was not the best and the waiter was kinda rude.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the air conditioning-Generator. If the Hotel is still under constucti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    81
    46
    14
    7
See reviews for
10
36
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have to clarify but this is a very personal review. My situation is a bit complicated. I hold two passports, one of which is Vietnamese but I don't live there, therefore I do not have a local IC.

Booked the room for my boyfriend via Agoda under my name with the indication that he would be staying. Occupancy was meant for two (I beg to clarify, I booked for two. I was staying close-by with my parents but I booked for two anyway because we expected to spend some personal time together). But, big BUT. Hotel staff scrutinised whenever I visited, they asked for my IC, the front desk even phoned us at 11pm and said visiting hours was over. Excuse me, I booked this room, I paid for two! They were treating us like illegal hoarders. Fortunately it was only for two nights. Elegant hotel only a few meters away was no fuss, he came into my room and stayed there almost the whole day and no one asked anything, and vice versa when he stayed there the other time, silly us we just wanted to try something new and paid the price.

Never coming back there again, that was very rude and unreasonable.

Room Tip: Don't act local and try to speak Vietnamese, especially female Asian tourists, you may come unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is good for solo traveller who spends most of the time out of hotel. Nice room but not spacious enough. There is no view. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If they offer you a breakfast as a part of your room charge, dont depend on this breakfast a lot. They only have 2 juice, white bread and tea for breakfast. They can cook you some eggs and sausages however after being to many asian countries, this was very disappointing. they did make me noodles as per my requirement but that was thanks to the chef. Overall, value for money hotel. Not too bad for $50/nite.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here,expecting a bit of luxury to what we have been staying in around Vietnam.Unfortunately our stay was very disappointing and feel slightly cheated.
I purposely booked this hotel as it advertises that it has a fitness centre.When we came to check in, it turns out there is not one,very very annoying. Our room was small and smelt musty but disappeared after the ac was on.The bathroom was the best bit, newish,clean with a good pressured shower. We couldn't get any signal for the wifi in our room, it was on the 3rd floor,right at the end,obviously the furthest away from the box,not very helpful when trying to send emails.
Breakfast was ok, there was not much choice and thought there should be a lot more on offer. Only orange juice for cold drinks,no cereal or yoghurt and not a wide variety on the western and Vietnamese hot foods.Some fresh fruits like watermelon and pineapple would have been good,only bananas and apples available.
All in all was really disappointed with the stay,for what you pay you can get much better elsewhere for less money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed 3 nights 4 days in Empress hotel. Hotel location is good. Walking distance to the main market and super market. Rooms are very clean. Local breakfast was good. The staff was very helpful and friendly . Would recommend if your looking for budget hotel ...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very clean freshly renovated rooms.Hotel still undergoing some renovations with minimal disruptions to guests.Location perfectly suited with supermarket nearby,great coffee shop right next to it and not that far from central district 1 and all the major attractions.Staff are very friendly and helpful always smiling.Would choose this hotel again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This property is freshly renovated (some minor renos still going on). The room wasn't very big but it was fresh and classy. The only thing we didn't like is that the window could not be opened to air the room out. The Saigon breakfast was tasty, better than the western. The staff was friendly and always smiling. Good location as it is only a five minute walk to the bars at "backpacker alley", a ten minute walk to the market, War Museum and 20 to the Opera House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh

Address: 136 Bui Thi Xuan Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 354 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.