We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh to your Saves list
Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Bui Thi Xuan Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great room and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Pros. Clean room, no bugs, hot shower, good sized room and a little more than basic breakfast (noodles, toast, cereal, eggs, bacon and fruits). Helpful staff.

Only one Con. Not walking distance to night market or dong khoi, but only a $1-2 taxi

I recommend reading up about taxi scams*** There are a number of taxi companies which are privately owned and if youre not attentive they will start your meter at $10. Also we met a couple whom when refusing to pay the absurd amount, the taxi driver simply drove off with all their bags still in the trunk. Taxi rides around HCMC should cost no more than $1-5. Trusted taxi are VINASUN (we used this company everyday. Be wary because there are phony taxi which say "VINASUM" or "VINASON") and Mai linh. Also if the phone number on the cab is a repeated 2 digit number than it's general a good taxi. For example 3-87-87-87-87.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    80
    46
    15
    6
See reviews for
10
37
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed at the beginng of our trip and at the end. Very clean, English speaking, central to almost everything a or a short taxi ride.... good value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

Nice clean hotel. I am solo traveller so a standard single room is exactly that. A double bed would not be able fit in the room. Clean bathroom housekeeping everyday. My room was at the back so super quiet. A window that is frosted so cannot see out but does let light in. Tv with many channels breakfast is not great but its ok. Don't depend on it for your daily meal if budgeting. Hotel within walking distance to backpacker area except you have to cross many busy roads to get there. no restaurants in immediate vicinity but again just a short walk away. Taxi always out front $2 to take you anywhere anyway. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our family (two adults, two teenagers) stayed in two deluxe suites in Sep 2011. About A$48/suite/night. The “suite” was two small rooms with a connecting door. The amenities were good and room was quiet. Staff at front desk a bit indifferent, the rest of the staff were good. Location is all right but a bit of a walk to major attractions (about 1.5km to the Ben Thanh market). Nevertheless, taxis are very cheap.
Breakfast was provided in a small restaurant next door and was terrible. Selection was poor and staff were unhelpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timperley
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Three of us as a family stayed for 4 nights here in September 2011. It is not in the downtown area and at first we thought it might be a problem, but in the end we found it allowed us to see quite interesting areas of the city and it isn't very far from the centre. Taxis are very inexpensive, provided you use a reputable firm such as Vinasun (white cars with green and red stripes). Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms are reasonable, offering very good value for money. This is a 2 star hotel, but it was quite adequate. Our rooms had free wi-fi and there is a business centre if you need to do any printing. Beds were very comfortable (firm). Buffet breakfast was a little disappointing but we didn't go hungry.
Crossing the road in the city is quite an experience. Traffic (mostly motor bikes) just never stops and you have to walk through moving traffic, eyeballing the drivers and they go round you - scary at first.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Ho Chi Min city reminds me of a swarm of army ant on the march. If you have to stay there, the Empress is very good. Very well priced. Good value for money. Rooms are small but clean and in good condition. Staff are excellent. Very helpful and polite. There is always someone available who speaks adequate English. Meals are very good and cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

These guys certainly went above expectations when we went to check in and realised I had booked the wrong date for 4 days later. I admitted my error and the team were happy to check us in without any excessive fees (in fact, about $5 cheaper than what I originally paid). They advised me to cancel my booking.com booking I had for the later date, but I found out later I'd be spending more in cancelling it so wasn't worth it.

The staff were friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. The attached restaurant, though a little dear for Saigon standards (still only $20 AUD for 2 so good in Western terms) served up AMAZING dishes. I recommend the spring rolls and baked potato for starters!

The room was small; our luggage lay across the floor, but the shower was possibly the best we had on our 2 week trip (including a 5 star hotel in Bangkok) with a great temperature and water pressure. Mini bar items were about $4 for a small spirit and $1 for a packet of crisps.

The only downside was the locaton. While it is still walking distance to the main attractions through a park, we had another hotel booked for the remaining 2 nights in HCMC which was a stones throw from Ben Thann market and we felt much more apart of the atmosphere at this hotel than Empress.

Overall, I would recommend to others on a budget, but just be aware it isn't in the 'heart' of things - but only by a couple of blocks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh

Address: 136 Bui Thi Xuan Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.