We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) to your Saves list
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Nguyen Hue Avenue, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Kimdo Royal City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 370 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a top class hotel with big rooms and all the trimmings you would expect, the staff were excellent. The only problem is at the moment there are major works going on outside which means you cannot get to the place unless you walk a couple of hundred meters. I understand this work will be completed by March 2015. Once inside I experience no noise or other annoyances. The good thing is that I was offered a really big discount from the usual rate so it made my stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Currently go for high rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    100
    63
    28
    5
See reviews for
42
61
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Deakin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there in September 2014 with my parents and the facilities was awesome and the location is very close to tourist spots. Easy to get the transport to the other area and it is highly recommended.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just visited from 27-31st oct
Compared to my visit in feb this year, the hotel is affected by the hoardings build in front of it. Understand this hoarding is for building of train, however, you need to walk a really big round now to get from hotel across to Rex Hotel or other famous attraction. The taxi are also not able to drive direct to the hotel now, need to walk a distance.
Also the rooms are pretty run down.
Kudos to the hotel staffs for friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Hotel S, Public Relations Manager at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused to you during your stay last time. We will try to upgrade our service and facility as soon as possible.
Regarding the hoardings build in front of our hotel, it will be completed in Feb., 2015 and become the most modern pedestrian zone in Vietnam.
We hope you are always happy to stay with us. We look forward to serving you in next time.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Very nice old world hotel. We only booked this the night before we arrived as they were renovating our other hotel and neglected to tell us. The rooms were HUGE and hotel was clean, centrally located, staff friendly, breakfast good. Only negative was the bathrooms were quite small. They were doing major roadworks out the front of the hotel but we heard no noise and it didn't really detract from our stay. Would definately stay there again and would also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful with old world charm - breakfast is wonderful with many choices - rooms are great with room to move around easily - with just a short walk to many attractions and market is not very far away ( just a short walk) - really have enjoyed myself so far - woman who does massages was good but ..... - otherwise a really great stay so far

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Large old somewhat pompous hotel in a superb location. Very close to restaurants, shops and walking streets. We took massage in a saloon right accross the street (or square?). It was the best massage i had in Vietnam. The room was spacious, nice and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I've stayed there with my family three times. Once we was together with my wife, second time we've travelled together with my parents and third time we was with our son, 9 month old at the moment.
Very nice place. Good service, nice breakfasts, cosy rooms and comfortable location - all for a very reasonable price.
Just step outside of the hotel - and you are in the center of the city. Big mall - next door. KFC - two minutes walk :) Market - something about 5 dollars by taxi ... Massage - all around.
I recommend this place and I shall stay there this year also.

Room Tip: I love to stay as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)

Address: 133 Nguyen Hue Avenue, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Kimdo Royal City Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 370 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kimdo Royal City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.