We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service in Royal Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) to your Saves list
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Nguyen Hue Avenue, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Kimdo Royal City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 370 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service in Royal Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Have visited here on many occasions over the past year and never a problem. Khoa in the Royal Cafe speaks first class English and ensures that food, drink, and service are the best! Try the Long Island Iced Tea (made with diet coke) - you will be delighted!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Hotel S, Manager at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear traveler,

Let me start by thanking you for sharing with everyone your experience during your recent stay at our Royal Hotel Saigon.

Thank you for the nice comment toward our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    100
    63
    28
    5
See reviews for
42
61
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Me and my Family stayed in this Hotel for 2 Separated Day, The first day was very terrifying, We got into a quick check-in, The Lobby was Beautiful, Everything was great until we took the Elevator, Me and my Family and other people around a total of 10 people got stuck inside the Elevator for atleast 20 Minutes, Then again, I got traumatized until now, The Food tasted horrible, I gave my review a 3 Star because after going back to the hotel for a 1 night stay, They offered us a Room that is in Floor 1 and 2 and Fruits on the Table, Atleast they were sorry about it, Then again, My Mother's Friend got her Luggage stuck in the Elevator for about 10 Minutes after going for breakfast. I actually like the hotel because its closed to a mall. I really hope the Foods were better..

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Hotel S, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Let me start by thanking you for sharing with everyone your experience during your recent stay at our Royal Hotel Saigon.

Thank you for the nice comment toward our property. We are happy that our shuttle service was convenient for you!

We are sorry about the uncomfortable about the elevator and the Food. The elevator has been fixed and we will try to upgrade our Food quality to meet the guest expectation.

We hope to have a chance to serve you again the next time you back to Ho Chi Minh city, please email us so we can give you a special meal at the hotel.

Do not hesitate to call us for information, or for a future reservation.

Thank you and happy new year from our team

Your sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

A nice hotel spoilt by some bad business practises. We asked for a late check out to make our evening flight but were told that the hotel was full and no rooms available. When i asked if we could pay for an evening check out we were promptly told no problem and amazingly our same room was now available?? When we asked about that we were laughed off like they could not understand, despite speaking great English a few seconds earlier. Poor front reception staff and overall an okay hotel in a goodf location but next time i'll give my money elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Hotel S, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Please accept our apologies for any the inconveniences you have experienced during your recent visit at our Royal Hotel Saigon with our services.

Due to the Hotel Policy, in some cases when the hotel is not full, the staff can resolve the latest check out is at 14:00 without charging . After this time, the hotel will have to inform guest late check out charge which is half-day (until 18:00) or full day (after 18:00).

We are sorry that the room you check out did not reach your expectation. Our Manager was aware you of comment.

Our success is measured by our guests having a pleasant stay. We strive to provide excellent service and accommodations. Thank you for sharing your experience so we can work to maintain high standard.

I again apologized for any problem and disappointment you encountered.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked one double room and one family room. We had a major time-wasting dispute at check-in when we were requested to pay extra for a single bed in the family room. Our booking clearly stated, in writing, that the room had a double bed and a single bed and it was appropriately more expensive than the standard double room. The hotel's view was that the family room was big enough for an extra bed but if you wanted one you had to pay extra. We asked for duty manager but she was not on duty. Eventually we got to the room but it was a great disappointment. Old and tired the room (not us) on the 4th floor looked on to a solid blank wall 2 meters away. The bathroom was from the soviet era and a brown sludge was left after showering. We stayed a night, cancelled the remain two nights and moved to the excellent Novotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Hotel S, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks so much for your comments. We always appreciate our viewers' feedback.
We apologize for the inconvenience, disappointment created by our hotel facilities.
About your booking through Asiaroom.com: there is clearly a double room and single room. If the child is under 12 years old share one room with their parents, hotel do not charge.
But because his son was 13 years old and the hotel also accepted “NO CHARGE” if you do not collect more extra bed.
We were forced to inform you about the price of extra bed when you had the requirement.
And you were not satisfied and then hotel also provided one extra bed without charging any fees.
We greatly appreciate all of your instruction and comments on our services.
Sincerely yours,
On behalf of the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Another late review. The Royal Hotel Saigon is a four star hotel located along Nguyen Hue Avenue where you find most of the finest hotels, shopping malls and attractions within the area. I booked a De-Luxe family room for myself and three family members. The lady at the reception area was very cold and did not know the importance of giving a warm welcome to arriving guests. I wonder if she is just trying to be more businesslike but a believe a little smile can make a lot of difference.

The de-Luxe room was spacious and beautifully designed. Even the furniture were classy, mostly teak wood and varnished. The wooden floor matches with the furnishing. The beds were big enough and comfortable. The minibar is well stocked.

Buffet breakfast was a big treat. Plenty of food and drinks available at the buffet table spread. The restaurant manager and staff were all warm and friendly. They are always ready to respond whenever you need anything. They never forget to wear a smile whenever approached by the guests.

There is an indoor pool where you can have a dip after a long day of sightseeing. There were enough equipment at the gym but we did not try using these due to time constraints.

A grand piano is parked at the lobby and my sister had fun playing some of her favorite piano pieces. The lobby has enough sofa seats where you can relax while waiting for ride or simply to pass time.

Over-all we had a pleasant experience at Royal Hotel Saigon.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Hotel S, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear traveler,

Let me start by thanking you for sharing with everyone your experience during your recent stay at our Royal Hotel Saigon.

Thank you for the nice comment toward our property. We are happy that our shuttle service was convenient for you!

We are sorry about your disappointment regarding the service by the reception.

We hope to see you again,if we can be of assistance in the future, do not hesitate to contact us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Was here recently for a company retreat and it was my first time in Vietnam so wasn't expecting much. Was sharing a double room with 2 colleagues and the room was very spacious and big. The only drawback was the additional makeshift bed that I had to sleep on since it was 3 to a double room. It really wasn't too comfortable and kept shifting and threatening to fold up onto me when I was sleeping in it so had to be extra careful.

What I really liked about this place was the central location, just next to the Tax shopping mall where there's a supermarket for you to buy necessities and to pack back a few more boxes of Vietnamese coffee as souvenirs. Spas and food options surround the area so all you need is a short walk. Ben Tanh market was also only about a 10 to 15 minute walk away. There are also many street vendors selling the intricate pop up cards but do remember to bargain if you're buying.

Breakfast was nothing fantastic and ends by 9.30am, which I felt was a little too early, was hoping that it could at least end at 10am instead. Variety wasn't huge but still edible. Would return to stay at this hotel again if I go back to Ho Chi Minh someday due simply to location. The friendly staff at the reception and housekeeping were a plus too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Hotel S, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

The Royal Hotel Saigon team wants to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay at our property, your feedback is very much appreciated.

I am sorry to know that the time for breakfast buffet did not meet your expectation.

Once again, we really appreciate your good feedback; our success is measured by our guests having a pleasant stay.

Do not hesitate to call us for information, or for a future reservation.

Thank you and happy new year from our team

Your sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

4 stars due to locality & the Doormen. The latter are the friendliest and most helpful staff. Not all cabbies speak English so if you need a cab, let the Doormen know. Besides getting the fare-by- meter-run MPV Vinasun cabs, they'll tell you the approximate cab fare you'll need to pay lest dishonest drivers intentionally take a circuitous route. A 7-10mins' walk to Ben Thanh Market. Duty Free tax Department store's just next door but do check product expiry dates. Had stayed in a Deluxe Oriental room on the 5th level - a bit old-fashion but very clean & spacious. Beds were firm but large; good wifi connection & flush mechanism. Don't expect good views of the streets, hotel's not tall. Morning buffet spread-almost the same daily. Walls are thin & December's a mad month - firstly lots of weddings are held in the hotel during the weekends, you might hear karaoke singers. Secondly the hotel's external Xmas deco's popular with the locals, you'll need to 'barge' your way through at times. Hahaha.

Room Tip: 5th floor upwards. Doubt the lower floors have much daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)

Address: 133 Nguyen Hue Avenue, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Kimdo Royal City Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 370 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kimdo Royal City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.