We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel with good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon

Save Saved
You added Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2A - 4A Ton Duc Thang St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Riverview at 40% off
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel with good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel is located along the riverfront and a short walk out the back gate to main area of HCM. We had a river facing room which was nice, although it's not the prettiest view, you can watch the big boats coming and going. We booked online with a special deal of a free room upgrade and breakfast but the hotel seemed very surprised about the deal and I had to refer to the paperwork to get what I paid for, although I did have to stay in a smoking room as they said they didn't have any non smoking rooms available - they did offer to spray it which was sufficient and the staff were always polite! Overall a good hotel for our 3 night stay with very comfy beds, great pool and great selection at breakfast.

Room Tip: We chose a room with 2 double beds instead of 1 King which is big enough for 2 adults & 2 childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    220
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
69
232
38
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, near enough that you can walk straight in to the town, but not so close that the noise presents a problem.
The hotel lobby is spectacular, you can arrange high quality tours from a desk in the lobby, the breakfasts cater for every taste.
The piano bar was also very nice.
The bed is the biggest I have ever seen!
Cons: The spa was out of action when we were there.
We only used the pool for about a hour, (as there are so many other things to do- CHOLON, WAR REMNANTS MUSEUM, WATER PUPPET SHOW, CITY TOUR, TEMPLE CLUB RESTAURANT, BONSAI BOAT TOUR, MEKONG DELTA) but when we did there were not enough sun loungers.

The hotel is very reasonably priced and we were not expecting the excellent facilities, greeting and service we recieved.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view over the river Saigon. There is always a bit of noise in Saigon, but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and clean but a five star hotel in Vietnam needs a comfortable bed NOT the usual cheap plank that you wake up on with pins and needles /numb, the hotel serves a superb breakfast but lacks character and charm which somewhere like the majestic ouses!! The hotel also tried to charge us 10 000d a MINUTE for internet in there business centre, we have paid 35 $ a night and had a computer in the room, compared to 160 $ here! Internet cafes charge 25 000 an hour! !!! Felt like we were being bent over!! Even though its comfortable there are far better places to stay with much more character charm and history

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent one night in January with my family. Booked through Booking.com . We asked for rooms next to each other and we got rooms with connecting doors.
This is a 5 star hotel eventhough it's aging. Nevertheless, great service good location and an overall positive stay in a very different city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel has a huge lobby with plenty of areas to relax. The rooms are a little tired, but comfortable and everything works. Easy walk to nearby downtown attractions, yet out of the noise of the centre. The river view is industrial - dry dock, cargo ships being repaired, but actually quite interesting. (and quiet -well soundproofed rooms).
Staff were excellent, really friendly and helpful. We had New Year's Eve dinner - it was amazing. They went all out - non stop entertainment, free flowing food and drinks - nothing ran out, the food and drink truly kept on coming. We liked the hotel so much that we went back there for our last night instead of flying straight home.
Unfortunately the spa was closed for renovation, but there are places nearby for a massage.
Breakfast was a huge range to choose from. Free shuttles to various locations. They have a small book at concierge which contains many useful tips - eg which taxi companies are more reliable, what to see etc.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Try for high floor river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and found our stay very pleasant. The rooms are spacious with nice amenities. Since we traveled with young children, we were given connecting rooms, which was very nice. It's true that the front desk staffs seemed aloof and unfriendly, but it may be a cultural thing. They're trying to maintain professionalism.

The breakfast buffet is pretty good, can't complain. The only complaint I have is the water pressure in the shower. Ultra strong and the shower head is not position in a way that is efficient. Other than that, we had enjoyed staying here.

The location is convenient and taxis are easily accessible everywhere. We would come back and recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed one night at Legend and on first impressions it is a flashy 5 star with all the amenities a business or leisure traveller would desire. However, from check in to check out we realised that its very showy, but lacking in genuine service. This hotel appears to target a specific clientele and this was evident at breakfast when we were offered the option of a smoking section - which was a first. The breakfast buffet definitely leaned towards the Asian offer & dirty bowls and cups with lipstick on them made it all feel a bit grimy. The restaurant overlooks the pool which is dated and not at all inspiring. Rooms are large, with the biggest bed I have ever seen in a hotel room - I think it was 2 doubles put together. Bathrooms are nicely appointed with an electric toilet with heated seat and built in bidet which have a novelty value. Encounters with staff at checkin - checkout, room service and breakfast were functional but not friendly. I'd stay at the Caravelle over this hotel any time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon

Address: 2A - 4A Ton Duc Thang St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 347 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.