We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High service level” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon

Save Saved
You added Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2A - 4A Ton Duc Thang St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Riverview at 40% off
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High service level”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent one night in January with my family. Booked through Booking.com . We asked for rooms next to each other and we got rooms with connecting doors.
This is a 5 star hotel eventhough it's aging. Nevertheless, great service good location and an overall positive stay in a very different city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    218
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
231
38
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel has a huge lobby with plenty of areas to relax. The rooms are a little tired, but comfortable and everything works. Easy walk to nearby downtown attractions, yet out of the noise of the centre. The river view is industrial - dry dock, cargo ships being repaired, but actually quite interesting. (and quiet -well soundproofed rooms).
Staff were excellent, really friendly and helpful. We had New Year's Eve dinner - it was amazing. They went all out - non stop entertainment, free flowing food and drinks - nothing ran out, the food and drink truly kept on coming. We liked the hotel so much that we went back there for our last night instead of flying straight home.
Unfortunately the spa was closed for renovation, but there are places nearby for a massage.
Breakfast was a huge range to choose from. Free shuttles to various locations. They have a small book at concierge which contains many useful tips - eg which taxi companies are more reliable, what to see etc.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Try for high floor river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and found our stay very pleasant. The rooms are spacious with nice amenities. Since we traveled with young children, we were given connecting rooms, which was very nice. It's true that the front desk staffs seemed aloof and unfriendly, but it may be a cultural thing. They're trying to maintain professionalism.

The breakfast buffet is pretty good, can't complain. The only complaint I have is the water pressure in the shower. Ultra strong and the shower head is not position in a way that is efficient. Other than that, we had enjoyed staying here.

The location is convenient and taxis are easily accessible everywhere. We would come back and recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed one night at Legend and on first impressions it is a flashy 5 star with all the amenities a business or leisure traveller would desire. However, from check in to check out we realised that its very showy, but lacking in genuine service. This hotel appears to target a specific clientele and this was evident at breakfast when we were offered the option of a smoking section - which was a first. The breakfast buffet definitely leaned towards the Asian offer & dirty bowls and cups with lipstick on them made it all feel a bit grimy. The restaurant overlooks the pool which is dated and not at all inspiring. Rooms are large, with the biggest bed I have ever seen in a hotel room - I think it was 2 doubles put together. Bathrooms are nicely appointed with an electric toilet with heated seat and built in bidet which have a novelty value. Encounters with staff at checkin - checkout, room service and breakfast were functional but not friendly. I'd stay at the Caravelle over this hotel any time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pros: The hotel was clean, is in a good location in District 1 (an easily walkable 500 meters away from the craziness of Dong Khoi), and offers nice sized rooms with strong water pressure. We stayed on the 11th floor facing the river and heard almost zero street noise during the night. Location-wise, it's great and around 140,000 vnd from the airport. Surrounded by lots of restaurant and massage options.

Cons: Front desk staff not very knowledgeable, furniture & decor throughout the hotel (room, lobby, restaurant) is dated and looks worn, and isn't very consistent with how they treat all their customers. We spoke with a few other families staying at the hotel and they were offered fruit plates and drink tickets upon arrival... but nothing for us. Maybe because we booked through a travel agent?

Summary: I have no idea what the rack rate for a room here since we used British Airways miles to pay for our stay. We didn't expect much, and the hotel delivered exactly that I probably would not stay here again unless the rate were around US$100/night.

Tip 1: Do NOT go to a massage place called Bally Spa/NuSkin - very sketchy.
Tip 2: There's a great outdoor BBQ/hot pot right next to the hotel - take the 'city entrance' exit from the hotel. I think it's literally called "BBQ/HOT POT/BEER" (in capital letters)

Room Tip: No street noise on the 11th floor, even though we were facing the street/river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a good business class hotel, within walking distance of all major sites, and with the added bonus of outdoor space / swimming pool and a view on the river. Great hotel. Good food. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

On waterfront with river views. Nice rooms. Big swimming pool. Quiet oasis after noise of the duty. Walking distance to many bars and clubs. Staff fun and helpful. Booked a city tour for $25 which took us to war museum, post office, Norte dame cathedral and drive around the city. You must have a drink at the top of the Rex hotel just up the road - expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon

Address: 2A - 4A Ton Duc Thang St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 347 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.