We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flashy but lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon

Save Saved
You added Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2A - 4A Ton Duc Thang St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Riverview at 40% off
Ranked #5 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Flashy but lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed one night at Legend and on first impressions it is a flashy 5 star with all the amenities a business or leisure traveller would desire. However, from check in to check out we realised that its very showy, but lacking in genuine service. This hotel appears to target a specific clientele and this was evident at breakfast when we were offered the option of a smoking section - which was a first. The breakfast buffet definitely leaned towards the Asian offer & dirty bowls and cups with lipstick on them made it all feel a bit grimy. The restaurant overlooks the pool which is dated and not at all inspiring. Rooms are large, with the biggest bed I have ever seen in a hotel room - I think it was 2 doubles put together. Bathrooms are nicely appointed with an electric toilet with heated seat and built in bidet which have a novelty value. Encounters with staff at checkin - checkout, room service and breakfast were functional but not friendly. I'd stay at the Caravelle over this hotel any time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    236
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
90
255
45
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pros: The hotel was clean, is in a good location in District 1 (an easily walkable 500 meters away from the craziness of Dong Khoi), and offers nice sized rooms with strong water pressure. We stayed on the 11th floor facing the river and heard almost zero street noise during the night. Location-wise, it's great and around 140,000 vnd from the airport. Surrounded by lots of restaurant and massage options.

Cons: Front desk staff not very knowledgeable, furniture & decor throughout the hotel (room, lobby, restaurant) is dated and looks worn, and isn't very consistent with how they treat all their customers. We spoke with a few other families staying at the hotel and they were offered fruit plates and drink tickets upon arrival... but nothing for us. Maybe because we booked through a travel agent?

Summary: I have no idea what the rack rate for a room here since we used British Airways miles to pay for our stay. We didn't expect much, and the hotel delivered exactly that I probably would not stay here again unless the rate were around US$100/night.

Tip 1: Do NOT go to a massage place called Bally Spa/NuSkin - very sketchy.
Tip 2: There's a great outdoor BBQ/hot pot right next to the hotel - take the 'city entrance' exit from the hotel. I think it's literally called "BBQ/HOT POT/BEER" (in capital letters)

Room Tip: No street noise on the 11th floor, even though we were facing the street/river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a good business class hotel, within walking distance of all major sites, and with the added bonus of outdoor space / swimming pool and a view on the river. Great hotel. Good food. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

On waterfront with river views. Nice rooms. Big swimming pool. Quiet oasis after noise of the duty. Walking distance to many bars and clubs. Staff fun and helpful. Booked a city tour for $25 which took us to war museum, post office, Norte dame cathedral and drive around the city. You must have a drink at the top of the Rex hotel just up the road - expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on New Year's Eve and New Years Day. We treated ourself to the more expensive Executive floor with executive lounge - including drinks and High Tea etc

The hotel itself is lovely and the decor very pleasant indeed. Staff very friendly and helpful in general. There was one waiter in the executive lounge who blatantly walked away half way through my husband asking him a question and was rude throughout. The rest of the staff in the lounge were lovely though.

I did have issues with the lounge though. We had paid quite a bit extra as we are on our honeymoon and wanted to be able to relax. Frequently the high tea buffet went dry and there were empty dishes for a long time- this did leave people feeling awkward and rushing to get there before everyone else. New year was clearly very busy and they had not really adapted to or accounted for this in my opinion.

To me the idea of an Executive lounge suggests business travellers and adults looking for that little bit extra. I was very shocked therefore to be woken by screaming children running up and down the Executive floor before 8am. When i say screaming I mean SCREAMING for at least 5 or 10 minutes before their parents did anything to stop it. These children and others were often in the lounge creating noise and basically ruining what for us was supposed to be a relaxing place which we had paid extra for. Not really the hotel's fault, but my suggestion would be to have an area for over 16 only. Kids don't need to be in Executive Lounges. Or, at the very least have some rules!

Breakfast buffet was very nice with a great choice. Pool area nice too though didn't really use it.

All in all a very nice hotel. Looks 5 star but probably more like 4 based on our experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We are still staying at the Legend Hotel as I am writing this review. Overall, the hotel is good - large rooms and clean. The waiting staff at the Atrium Cafe are lovely and attentive. I cant say the same for the concierge nor the reception staff. As a previous reviewer said, the concierge just did not want to be here.
My brother's gold necklace was snatched by a biker today whilst we were in the Notre Dame area. Both biker and us were on pavement and this was at 4 pm. Though we are still shaken by the incident, we have put this down to a tourist's experience in a city.
We decided to report this when we got back to the hotel. The staff were not sympathetic at all which I was very disappointed. A security staff came to collect my report and asked if I wanted to go to the police station with him. My brother did not want the fuss and as I said, we were all a little shaken by the incident.
Truthfully, I expected the hotel manager to contact us. A gesture of goodwill to enquire our needs and general being would have been appreciated. It is called Asian hospitality ...to which I feel the hotel is lacking.
Will I return to the Legend Hotel? The answer right now is a resounding negative, I am afraid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent two nights there. The hotel is located at the Saigon \river. You have a nice view to the river full of traffic from your window. Interesting: the flow direction changes twice a day. The personnel is friendly and helpful, rooms are comfortable, including a basin.

Room Tip: I liked the room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon

Address: 2A - 4A Ton Duc Thang St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.