We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good until today...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2A - 4A Ton Duc Thang St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
business package
Ranked #7 of 391 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good until today...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We are still staying at the Legend Hotel as I am writing this review. Overall, the hotel is good - large rooms and clean. The waiting staff at the Atrium Cafe are lovely and attentive. I cant say the same for the concierge nor the reception staff. As a previous reviewer said, the concierge just did not want to be here.
My brother's gold necklace was snatched by a biker today whilst we were in the Notre Dame area. Both biker and us were on pavement and this was at 4 pm. Though we are still shaken by the incident, we have put this down to a tourist's experience in a city.
We decided to report this when we got back to the hotel. The staff were not sympathetic at all which I was very disappointed. A security staff came to collect my report and asked if I wanted to go to the police station with him. My brother did not want the fuss and as I said, we were all a little shaken by the incident.
Truthfully, I expected the hotel manager to contact us. A gesture of goodwill to enquire our needs and general being would have been appreciated. It is called Asian hospitality ...to which I feel the hotel is lacking.
Will I return to the Legend Hotel? The answer right now is a resounding negative, I am afraid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    327
    52
    16
    7
See reviews for
133
362
65
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Praha
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent two nights there. The hotel is located at the Saigon \river. You have a nice view to the river full of traffic from your window. Interesting: the flow direction changes twice a day. The personnel is friendly and helpful, rooms are comfortable, including a basin.

Room Tip: I liked the room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 8 days at the Legend Hotel. Service was personal and genuine. The breakfast buffet was mostly Oriental but there is enough to choose from whatever your taste dictates. Room was clean and comfortable with all comfort items needed. The gym was large, hardly anyone there, however the equipment needs a update. All was in working order. The front desk staff were friendly as was the bellhop and guards. The pool area was nice but was in need of a "facelift". The pool chairs does not all have cushions and the blue and white striped pool towels were not always clean.overall a great value.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
509 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,060 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed our several nights stay at the Legend Saigon Hotel, on the waterfront, just a few minutes’ walk to the heart of the city. We arrived early morning, before check in time and were given a nonalcoholic drink voucher and waited just an hour for our room to be ready, well ahead of check-in time.

Check- in was fast and efficient. Rooms are lovely, well maintained, large by European standards and come with many bathroom amenities, stocked refrigerator, free daily bottled water, two types of bathrobes (silk or terry cloth), slippers, a flash light (you will understand when you see the electrical system in the city!), a safe, good storage area, flat screen TV with a variety of language channels, coffee maker with tea, hot cocoa and coffee, good sized working desk and free very fast, excellent internet. An English language newspaper is delivered daily and there is always a bowl of apples on each floor, free! Nightly turndown service with flowers.Toilets have heated seats and a warm water rinse! Ok...what more can you ask for????

It was very nice to be out of the craziness, traffic, pedestrians, expensive shops around the Rex/Caravelle area, but only a 5-7 minute walk away. Plenty of dining options just outside the hotel’s back side including Skewers (very good) the Sky Bar for cocktails with a view….street food everywhere, lots of Japanese, Sushi Bar (inexpensive and great!) Indian food etc… Great eating and drinking area. However the exit from the side of the hotel is rough going, like so much of HCM; watch where you step on both the sidewalk and street! Siagon Square shopping center, has the cheapest clothing in the city (not tourist stuff, but knockoffs) and is 5 minutes away.

Upon arrival we received a plate of fruit and for Christmas a small Christmas cake. Service was always friendly from the pool attendants, reception, bell staff, dining room, security; everyone was always very nice, smiled and acknowledged us. The staff was amazing!

The lobby area was nicely decorated for Christmas, but it had a very empty feeling compared to walking into the Rex, Caravelle or Majestic; not many people seemed to be staying at the Legend, which really made it nice; however the closer it got to NYE, we noticed more visitors.

Breakfast was very good with just about everything you can imagine, including an egg station, hot dinner type food, soups and heavy on Asian food, but lots of delightful pastries, Danish, breads and wonderful fruit. Europeans, who enjoy a breakfast of meats and cheese, might be disappointed by the skimpy offerings, but the exotic fruit might make up for it or freshly grilled fish. The only negative aspect was the swimming pool area which shows the hotel’s age, but it was certainly fine for our use and great to have it in the city. Also the spa and massage area was being “renovated” and was closed.

Check out was easy and fast. We requested a late checkout at 5pm and were offered a free checkout up until 2pm, but opted to pay ½ the room rate to stay until 5pm. Overall, I enjoyed our stay here, it has everything you need for a great vacation or business stay and staff that will make sure you enjoy your stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in Dec 2012. Front desk lady was not friendly at all. Entire time I stayed there , she never smiled. Concierge has one person who basically does not want to work there. The hotel used to be good at service but since the new management , things have been changed I heard. The wall is thin, so you hear night biz going on upper flr. The whole experience made me depressed. Not sure why this hotel got good reviews here in TA.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were able to get a very good deal of this property. Interesting to note, there were few westerners in the hotel. Which made it interesting. Their buffet lunch, dinners and brunches is incredible and well worth trying at least once. Rooms were large and service was very courteous.

Not very well located to much of the 'action' but a good place to start your Vietnam experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Legend Hotel, and I have to say we were throughly impressed with the experience.

Location wise it offers a commanding position in District One over looking the Mekong River. We stayed on the 8th floor, with a marvellous view over the river. OK wharf cranes occupy some of the view, but rather like Pnom Penn there is no development across the river to hinder the view. You have to pay a little exra to enjoy this view but it is worth it.

The construction of the Hotel is a bit communist era, but by no means dated. Versace inspired Romanesque features lashings of polished marble and collonaded ceiling towering over the lobby. A pair of bronze sculptured horses that must have tested the strongest cranes.

A real plus where open space is at a premium is the well tended gardens and a huge circular pool. Bearing in mind that most down town Hotels have pools situated on the roof.

The room itself was occupied by the biggest bed I've ever seen. Closer inspection revealed wo doubles bolted together seamlessly.

The breakfast buffet was quite extensive, and the gym well equiped. The Hotel prices were expensive as you would expect in a 5 star Hotel.

Tons of glitter baubles and trees everywhere, with staff all dressed as santa,, and accommodating and courteous.

Our Xmas day was spent around the pool, and the staffs patience was really put to the test by a Russian family, if you didn't know better you might have imagined a candid camera experienced badly misfired.

The inebriated family it seems had set out to drink the hotel dry. Principal star was a Boris Yeltsin lookalike who lurched between sun loungers, collapsing at various points to continue his drinking in a fully horizontal position, whilst trying to cram as many cigarettes into his mouth at once. Meanwhile his wife who looked like she could handle a shot put or hammer, marched menancingly around the pool with a look that screamed 'Wot you lot looking at'
harrangueing staff at every opportunity.

The show reached a climax when the Boris Yeltsin character teetered ever the pool and belly flopped into the 1.3 deep pool sadly re-emerging in a maelsrom of bubbles and thrashing limbs.

A well! the alternative Xmas carols round the pool may have dulled in comparison.

Overall a hotel well worth the visit.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#23 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Asiana Saigon
InterContinental Asiana Saigon
#3 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Song Saigon
Villa Song Saigon
#1 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#9 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,706 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
#8 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon

Address: 2A - 4A Ton Duc Thang St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 391 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronting the scenic Saigon River and only 3-5 minute walk to famous Opera House, Dong Khoi Street and Le Thanh Ton Street for shopping, dining and entertainment, Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, the most beloved 5-star hotel in Ho Chi Minh City, combines natural beauty and sheer opulence to provide the best for the discerning traveler. The breathtaking resort-setting and its distinctive architectural interior gives a feeling of luxury and tranquility. A legendary hotel inherits good and ancient Vietnam with garden falls, pond and fountain. The top pattern of the bronze drum, symbol of the sun, from ancient times, frames the entrance of guest rooms. The twelve horary signs in the atrium, the lobby surrounded by colonnades and the giant horse sculptures all of which induce you to meander in the space of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte Legend Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.