We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring earplugs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Saigon

Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Ballarat
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Bring earplugs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed at The Palace Hotel. The location is quite good being near The Rex Hotel and close to the river. Many restaurants and markets are close by. An ATM and Exchange Bureau are located across the road. We felt quite safe in the neighbourhood.

The hotel itself, well.....There is a restuarant located downstairs for lunch and ddinner and a couple of restuarnats inside to choose from The breakfast was really great and they go out of their way to make things to order for you. breakfast is included in the price.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

The main issue with this place is the nightclub. We were 6 floors up from it and the noise vibrates and resonates throughout the whole building. We complained about it after a sleepless night and the moved is 12 floors away from the nightclub. It made no difference, the noise was still terrible.

If this is going to bother you I would say do not stay here.

On the plus side the doormen were very nice and attentive and taxis are right outside the door. Tours can be booked inside the front of the hotel.

I had an accident in the street and fell and hurt myself. We stumbled back into the hotel and the Manager saw I was hurt and offered to take me to the local Medical Centre himself. The Medical Centre is not too far away from this hotel as well.

So great service on one hand, great breakfast but terribly noisy nightclub.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast and service.
  • Disliked — The noise of the retched nightclub!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    155
    87
    41
    34
See reviews for
46
97
37
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms clean and comfortable. Position in city great. Breakfast buffet excellent....... BUT...... noise from nightclub on second floor almost unbearable. First night in 3rd floor room. Felt pillow vibrating !! Moved to seventh floor, still heard the bass reverberating through the walls but could manage to sleep. On checking out after 5 days was asked at reception about my stay. Said was very happy with everything except the nightclub noise. One receptionist covered her face with both hands and the other hung her head and put one hand on her forehead. Apparently EVERYONE says the same thing.

  • Liked — Cleanliness. Position
  • Disliked — Noise from nightclub
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

Great position, friendly staff, ok rooms, very nice breakfast, lovely roof top pool and bar area. The only real problem was the Night Club, the Doof Doof can be heard right through the building. I was so tired I slept right through it but others in my group had trouble sleeping.

  • Liked — position
  • Disliked — Night club noise
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

This hotel location is good, but I advise you to stay away from this hotel. The reasons are:

1. At night, they have night club right on the first floor, and I stayed in 4th floor and the music is too loud all night long. You won't be able to sleep at all. This is the worst of my trip

2. Thinking about exchange some currency at the hotel? Think again. I wanted to exchange $100 with only 1 little dot of ink on the bill, they did not want to exchange for me. So I went outside to antoher bank and exchanged it, no problem. So make sure all your USD bills brand new or they won't exchange for you. This is sick.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service is terrible and loud music
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenberg
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

This is not a hotel - this is a disco with rooms attached to it!

Many members of the group we travelled with complained about the disco noise ( 9 p.m. to 2 a.m., heavy metal music) in their rooms on floors 3 and 4, and asked for rooms higher up in the building. The management was more than reluctant to upgrade!
After a very hard discussion ( staff not always really polite!) I was finally given a suite on floor eleven - very pleasant rooms - but even there the noise from the disco was still very disturbing!

Unfortunately we had to come back to this place two days later and found the same situation again: rooms on floor 3 and 4 for many of our group members - although we had given the management a warning that we would not accept this again!

The general attitude of the management is a disgrace! I wonder how they can run this hotel at all! Nobody will ever dream of coming back to this place where sleep is not possible.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

Certainly avoid room 204 which is directly above the disco - but the view from the balcony at 4am is great when you can't sleep. If you really must stay here - and the rooms were large and clean and the breakfast was great and the view from the roof is superb - suggest room 211. I was moved here and it was the most isolated room I've ever been in - at the back with a window facing an internal corridor but no noise from the disco at all.
Cheapish internet in hotel and readily available

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — noise from disco
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We booked this hotel through a reputable travel company for 4 nights in February 2007. On arrival all looked good, nice reception, attentive staff, nice deluxe room on the 5th floor. After having a lovely 'hot rock' meal in the hotel restaurant we went back to the room at around 10pm to be faced with a 'boom boom, boom' noise coming from below. My husband checked with reception who told us it was the disco and would go on until 2am! Absolutely astounded, he asked for the manager. After 1/2hr discussion we packed up and got moved to the 8th floor and upgraded to a suite. Lovely room but not much point having a nice room if you still can't actually sleep in it because of the noise, which was still really loud on this floor with earplugs in!!!!

We checked with reception the next morning to see if we could go to a higher floor but they weren't interested in us any more, as they were having to deal with a stream of irate customers wanting to change rooms!!! Apparently customers are requesting room changes every night, so I have no idea why something isn't done about the noise problem before the hotel goes bust!

This hotel stay came at the end of a fantastic holiday in Cambodia and unfortunately did tarnish my memories of Ho Chi Minh City.

If you cherish your sleep and sanity DO NOT stay at this hotel!

  • Liked — Good location and views from the pool terrace
  • Disliked — NOISE!!!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palace Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Saigon

Address: 56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Saigon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star flagship hotel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 144 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, stunning views of Saigon Harbour, satellite TV, wireless internet access, plentiful hotel amenities and dedicated work areas, making this one of the best hotels in the city to combine business with pleasure.Generously appointed with four well-equipped meeting rooms, The Palace is one of the few hotels ideal for conferences and events, able to accommodate intimate social, business functions, conferences or training courses for up to 250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Palace Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.