We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The hotel is in a good location close to major attractions. There is ongoing construction opposite the hotel can be noisy. The lift is a trip haZard so be careful. The wifi is non-existent. We complained and was told to restart the computer. I requested for a glass of ice and was told that I would be charged the next time.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    192
    106
    51
    42
See reviews for
56
128
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location of hotel was excellent, right in the centre of District 1. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a good variety, the rooftop pool was great to cool down after a long day touring the city.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We flew into Ho Chi Minh from Sydney and stayed for 2 nights at the Palace hotel - meeting my brother (Australian) and his Vietnamese girlfriend who travelled from their hometown in Can Tho (Vietnam) to also stay at the hotel. After travelling around Vietnam together for 10 days we returned to the hotel to stay a final night before our flight back to Sydney and my brother and girlfriend were to return to Can Tho.
We had not booked the final night and just showed up to see if there were any availabilities. The staff said they had available rooms and proceeded to book myself and partner in. At the same time my brothers Vietnamese girlfriend was told by staff that she was not welcome to stay at the hotel with my brother as they were not married ???????
My brother returned from the bathroom and after realising what was happening fired up and told them they had stayed the prior week!

I can not believe this could happen in 2015! They did not question myself and my partners relationship status and no - we are not married.

Wifi is non existent but the pool is great but pool bar is never open.

I would not stay at this hotel again due to their discrimination.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in and walked to elevators. There are two in the lobby, but one was under construction. Tourists had come in, so there was a long line to get on the working one. Then one of the guys supervising the loading of the elevator said that there was another one that went to the 5th floor. No one at the reception mentioned this. Got to our room (506) located at the front of the hotel with a wonderful view of the ongoing construction outside, along with the accompanying and often annoying sounds of equipment. Wifi signal was poor, so went back to reception. Explained to young man about wifi problem. Older lady there shouted at him, whereupon he left and brought back a wifi booster. This older lady was very annoying as she seemed to yell at all the workers and never smiled. After dark, construction ceased and atmosphere became more relaxing. Breakfast was included. We went to breakfast buffet at 6:30am when the restaurant opened. Unfortunately, the prepared foods were already cold. Only hot items were those that you ordered (fried eggs, omelet) or made (toast).

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter. 5th floor rooms provide easy access to breakfast buffet on same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a hotel that has seen better days. Rooms are ok but a little tired and dated. The wifi was non existent and the breakfast is underwelming (however there are great Pho places and other breakfast places close by) What this place has which sets it apart is an awesome roof top pool. Quiet and with an excellent view of the city this makes the hotel worth it for those looking to relax. However if you're travelling and looking to spend minimal time in the hotel whilst visiting HCM you best off staying else where

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our the last stay on our tour and the hotel with the highest star rating what a disappointment ! Staff on reception were mixed a couple were pleasant but in the main unfriendly. There was only one lift working and as we were on the 13 floor that was a pain ! The road works outside went on till midnight and as we could hear them I dread to think what it was like on the lower floors. We arrived back one evening at 530 to find our room still not made up so when she finally came 15 mins later we just took the free water and said forget it!
Wifi was awfully slow we had faster speeds when were on a house stay on the Mekong Delta! TV not any better.
Breakfast in the 5th floor restaurant was average I ordered an omelette which never arrived and the staff there really didn't care. Our last night we went to the restaurant on the 14th floor it was awful There were 14 in our group most of them drinking beer which they served 1at a time so took ages then after 2rounds they ran out!!!! Zither food looked good but wasn't in fact it was the most expensive and worst meal we had in the entire time we were in Vietnam
As we were on a trip we had no control over booking hotel but if you can I would avoid it !!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pre-Paid and stayed 4 nights here at $52 a night without breakfast. Decent room size and nice bathroom. Useless wifi, tv lost signal, pool looks good but the gym has total of 4 equipments with dead cockroaches on the floor. Staff is a mixed bag. Some are unfriendly, borderline rude, needs retraining and some are nice. Beware that if you have family visiting, they will keep their IDs while visiting you. "It's the hotel policy" rudely explained to us. The lobby staff always stared at me but never smiled, can't shake the feeling they're being watched, made me very uncomfortable. Overall, bad stay. We were planning to stay another four days to end our vn trip here, but rudely asking and keeping my family member's ID just to visit me was the last straw. Never again will stay here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Saigon

Address: 56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star flagship hotel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 144 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, stunning views of Saigon Harbour, satellite TV, wireless internet access, plentiful hotel amenities and dedicated work areas, making this one of the best hotels in the city to combine business with pleasure.Generously appointed with four well-equipped meeting rooms, The Palace is one of the few hotels ideal for conferences and events, able to accommodate intimate social, business functions, conferences or training courses for up to 250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Despegar.com so you can book your Palace Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.