We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most cruel receptionist there!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Saigon - Vietnam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“most cruel receptionist there!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

I had a group of pax staying in Palace Saigon Hotel, then I rang 3 of them in three different rooms but the third time of my calling the receptionist named Ms. Phuong - a Northern dielect voice reply me: " Why do you call so much? You really annoy me!" I can not believe a four star hotel receptionist could treat their clients like that. They should take off 2 stars to be a 2 star hotel. What an awful hotel!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    192
    106
    52
    42
See reviews for
57
128
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in room 809.
This was at the back of the hotel and away from the street noise. The room was spacious and clean. There occasionally was a smell from the drains but wasn't overpowering.
We paid $90 USD for a Signature Superior room. Booked through V'Explore.
The breakfasts were great, the best Pho I tasted.
Hotel staff all helpful and friendly.
We left to tour the Mekong and came back for another night before flying to Danang. Unfortunately room 809 was not available nor any other Signature Superior room was available so they upgraded us to a Suite room 2013 with a balcony with river view, separate lounge, 2 aircons, spa and king size bed. What a treat.
The hotel is very central and one street back from the main street so is a little quieter and not as busy with foot traffic.
We heard the distant thumping of music but it was not intrusive. Our travel Agent had said the disco was closed down but a bar is operating on the first floor and there are bouncers out the front at night. Email the hotel to check if this is were the noise is coming from. If so a high up room is definately required.
The rooftop bar is small but very few people used it. The view was great and the wind a welcome relief from the heat.

  • Liked — our room was quiet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

Booked in for four nights and am so sorry - especially as I still have two nights left.

The location of the hotel is great but that is about all it has to offer.

The property smells of stale air conditioning, the rooms are so small you would have a problem slinging a cat in them, the air conditioning in the room does not work properly, there is a disco on the first floor and the noise thumps through the property all the way to my room on the tenth floor (room 1002) into the early hours of the morning and the staff are anything except friendly.

The Palace Hotel also promotes a seafood buffet with free wine and soft drinks but after you have been seated and started eating they tell you they have run out of wine!

The Palace Hotel is rated 4 star but when compared to other 4 star hotels I have stayed in I would be inclined to award them a maximum of 2 stars and then only because of their location and that they serve a good breakfast.

There are some superb hotels in Ho Chi Minh but the Palace Hotel is a tired well used property and one I would definately not recomend to anyone.

  • Liked — The good breakfasts.
  • Disliked — The small, smelly rooms and noise from the disco nine floors down.
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

We stayed at The Palace in February 08 in an 'Executive Suite'. The room we got was far from a suite more of a dated, damaged and dirty room. The wooden floor moved underfoot and was damaged and scratched beyond belief. The Riverside view promised, did not materialise and the bathroom had some mould in it and ran out of hot water for showers.

All in all it was the worst value room I have ever had the misfortune to stay in and pay for.

We complained and got some reduction in price - but be warned (if the above isn't warning enough), they said they charge $120 for a room with no window!

On the upside the renovated areas including breakfast room and rooftop bar were very nice and the bar had great views at night. The location is also very good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room quality and description
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

Our room on the 13th floor was nice enough and we liked the view from the balcony. The location of the hotel is great. We found the breakfast to be okay and the staff nice.

The hotel is now charging (or trying to) guests an extra $25 to be located on a higher floor. They apparently cannot decide if the welfare of the hotel guests predominates over the income from the disco.

We did not hear much noise. There was some boom from the bass in the disco, and some scraping of chairs from above Luckily we did not have to pay the extra $25 as our agent was with us at check-in.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise, to the extent we heard it.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

I am booked into this hotel for an exorbitant price of US$90+15% service charge and taxes. The location is perfect directly opposite my Vietnam office, the small pool, restaurant + open decked bar on 14th has perfect views. My renovated room on the highest level...13th floor is great. However, The room is so uninsulated from noise. The glass window is thin and the gap between the balcony door and its frame is visible. From the streets - perpetual honking of cars, buses and motorbikes. From the restaurant above my room - dragging of chairs all day. From the disco at first floor - the perpetual boom boom boom between 10pm till 2 plus am. During the day - renovations that starts at 8 am. The noise coming from every directions is just unnerving!!!

I survived 2 nights...the first and the third. First night i was dead tired. Third night i was tipsy from a local Oktoberfest. I seriously hope I'll survive tonight as I have a 6 am flight.

The pillow is so high and I had neck pain last night.

Staff in General are ok but really, can't expect from a 3 star hotel, can I?

This is my first and last if it's not for the noise. Real tragic!

  • Liked — renovated room, view, location, roof top bar + restaurant
  • Disliked — noise, noise, noise
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

Unbeatable location but only worth staying in if you're a very heavy sleeper. The constant BOOM-BOOM-BOOM from the Karaoke was torture and I was on a floor far away from it. Nice to have a balcony, wonderful breakfast etc but I just can't stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Karaoke noise
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Saigon

Address: 56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star flagship hotel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 144 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, stunning views of Saigon Harbour, satellite TV, wireless internet access, plentiful hotel amenities and dedicated work areas, making this one of the best hotels in the city to combine business with pleasure.Generously appointed with four well-equipped meeting rooms, The Palace is one of the few hotels ideal for conferences and events, able to accommodate intimate social, business functions, conferences or training courses for up to 250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Palace Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.