We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to everything and a Pool too !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Handy to everything and a Pool too !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were only staying one night in Ho Chi Minh, so wanted something close to the shops, markets etc. We are pleased that we chose Palace Hotel. Our group booked 4 rooms on the second floor, and they were all clean and tidy. The Lifts / elevators need some renovation, you only get approx 5 seconds to step inside before the doors shut, but this was not a major problem. Most of the nearby hotels do not have a pool, but Palace Hotel has a nice pool on the rooftop ( 16th floor ). There are 8 loungers, 4 in the sun, 4 in the shade, an attendant poolside gives you a towel. There are great views from up here, and a cafe / bar also. Breakfast buffet was included, and selection is quite good. It is in the Buffet Ganh Restaurant on the 5th floor. We went there again for the dinner buffet. It was very popular and crowded, they had to set up an extra table at the back for us. There was a huge selection of all types of food - deep fried bananas, fish, chicken, heaps of seafood, rice, noodles, desserts etc. And price was VND199,000 which is good value. Reception desk staff were very friendly and helpful, they re-confirmed our flights and looked after our luggage after check-out ( since we had a late afternoon flight ). Location is very good here, Night Markets are 10 minutes walk,, Diamond Plaza is 15 min. walk, Re-Unification Palace is 15 minutes walk, and if you don't like walking there are heaps of cheap taxis right outside the reception. It's not 5-star, but we had a very good comfortable stay here and room prices are very reasonable - would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    171
    96
    45
    36
See reviews for
52
110
43
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hello & Xin Chao,

We represent the talent that has performed for Heineken's New Years Eve Celebration from the United States for the last two years. Every time we stay at this hotel we are overly satisfied with the rooms, room service, reasonable cost mini bar, amazing service, location and specifically the staff. This has become our home location even when we travel to Saigon for personal Vacations as well. Don't forget to check out the roof-top pool !!!
Hope to see you again soon!

JAG-AGENCY

Room Tip: If you stay here for New years MAKE SURE you get a Balcony Room so you can over-look the 250,000 peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent location within walking distance to markets, river etc. Room clean.
Breakfast buffet very disappointing - the worst we have had in our 3 week stay in Vietnam.
Mattresses very hard. Could constantly hear doors slamming. Cigarette smoke evident on non smoking floors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2013.

The hotel is nice - it's clean and the staff are friendly. It has a nice rooftop pool which is good, and it's in a great location. Also, the breakfast was one of the better ones we had in Vietnam which is positive. However...

Our room was quite dark and dingy, and the bathroom in particular could do with a facelift. Not a huge problem (especially considering it's relatively cheap rates), but we felt that we got more for our money elsewhere - eg see my review of the Aries Hotel in Saigon.

So I wouldn't put people off staying here - we thought it was a decent place and has many good points - but i wouldn't go out of my way to recommend it either. Perhaps my "very good" rating above is a little generous, but then "average" would probably be a little harsh and there is nothing in between!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights at the end of our travel for connecting flights home. All the staff were very attentive and pleasant ,
Rooms were spacious and airy with lovely city views , large bathrooms , but with four people in one room they supplied only two sets of towels, only one tissue roll , we had to ring reception and asked for more ,
There were complimentary news paper, Internet in lobby, and bottled water in rooms.
Breakfast buffet there were plenty to choose from.
The pool was on the 14th floor , you had to go to the lemongrass restaurant to get to the pool which was very small, there was enough pool seats for 5/6 people .
Very costly for hotel but would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is supposed to be four star. It is certainly not. It is very well positioned as you can easily walk the city to see the sites. The water flooding problem that people experienced is certainly a major hassle. The bed was like sleeping on concrete but asking for a replacement mattress seemed to do the trick. The staff are very good and are there to please. The breakfast is a standard one and certainly not four star. Eat outside the restaurant for a good meal. The bar up at the pool is great as you are outside and get an evening breeze with great views.

Room Tip: A front room with a small balcony would be the go. Not near the elevator or dining room. Expect a va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great service. The only problem was the shower head in the bathroom was a little uncontrollable & we managed to flood the bathroom floor a few times! Just took a little getting used to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Saigon

Address: 56-66 Nguyen Hue Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star flagship hotel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 144 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, stunning views of Saigon Harbour, satellite TV, wireless internet access, plentiful hotel amenities and dedicated work areas, making this one of the best hotels in the city to combine business with pleasure.Generously appointed with four well-equipped meeting rooms, The Palace is one of the few hotels ideal for conferences and events, able to accommodate intimate social, business functions, conferences or training courses for up to 250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.