We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful start to holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duxton Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Duxton Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Duxton Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Nguyen Hue Blvd, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful start to holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was my first time in Vietnam & my holiday got off to a great start at the Duxton. The staff were very friendly & couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms were very comfortable & very clean - restaurant was good too. There is a lovely little piano bar which is very relaxing & as I was on my own the first night I ordered food from the restaurant which was brought to me in the bar (where I was comfortably ensconced enjoying the music). The hotel desk also exchanges currency so I didn't have to look for somewhere to do that. They also provided me with a map & directions to go exploring the city. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    368
    112
    25
    8
See reviews for
85
298
48
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A good hotel with a great location for exploring the city. walking distance to the river and the city centre, friendly courteous staff, large clean bedroom with good views of the city. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice for everyone.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is very nice - clean, rooms are lovely & get cleaned very often (at least twice a day). Breakfast was fabulous (although I found the breakfast staff to be very cold, bordering on rude), but the food and selection was great! All other staff were fantastic - the cleaning staff were the most friendly! Barman was great, front desk staff good too.

Room service food was tasty & came quickly.

The pool was a big let down. Not a very nice area, and past 1pm doesn't get any sun.

Hotel location is a big plus! Near the action & near some great restaurants, the river, cheap (but nice) massage place next door.

This is a lovely hotel, nothing wrong with it, but nothing to make it stand out either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, Hampshire, Uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. The hotel is situated near the riverfront, about a 2 minute walk. Modern building, with outside swimming pool, a gym and a spa. Nice bar near the lobby, drinks reasonably priced.

Originally booked a deluxe room but, as I was celebrating my 50th birthday my husband asked to upgrade to a club room at a slight surcharge but, it was worth it. The rooms were well equipped with a view towards the riverfront. As we were in club rooms you had the added bonus of having afternoon tea each day, my god the food they give you was lovely far too much for 2 people but, we managed to work our through it. You could also access this club room throughout the day for hot or cold drinks and snacks. Well worth the upgrade.

The staff here were very pleasant and efficient and met any queries we had.

Room Tip: Club rooms, higher floors and extra benefits, access to club lounge all through the day, afternoon t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

the duxton. it may not be the biggest place in saigon but its smack bang in the middle of it all. cheerful people, clean, neat and lovely rooms. bed was to die for.a nice view from most rooms ours was of the river. close to all major buildings of interest which we walked in a morning.now the best bit. across the road in number 12. not nice from the outside but inside its all new. best massage ive had in 10 years of asian visiting. hot rock, cucumber face(bloody hell) vietnamese tiger balm head rub!!!!!!!!and a towel down. 90 minutes for $5.00 each. to the markets (2minutes) for a pineapple crush $1.50au,back to the hotel for a spa and a swim.
phattys aussie sports bar around the corner,el caio(sp) aussie owned italian 2 minutes away. both worth staying this end of town. we found three rooftop bars within 5 minutes of the duxton.rex,caravelle and sheraton. easy to find your way home. big signs on all hotels for tourists. we dont do war history, tunnels etc. only the new. cheers

Room Tip: walking in saigon,,,,,,, hold hands , walk at a steady pace and the motorbikes will miss you. dont s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice, hotel, wonderful staff (except the check in lady who left in the middle of checking us in to serve someone else...)
Nice clean rooms, decent enough size, FREEZING aircon though, we struggled to get the room at a nice temperature.
Breakfast was a nice mix of Asian and Western style food, and there was a nice bar in the lobby. the lobby bar had a pianist which was nice entertainment but stopped at 9pm, ourselves and other guests commented that they had returned to the bar for a quiet drink and to listen to the music before bed, perhaps even continuing until 10pm would make a difference.
Pool was nothing special, but was nice and clean and good for a little dip after wandering around Saigon.

Location is fantastic, 5 mins from river, and lots of good restaurants around. La Nicoise we took from other recommendations on tripadvisor was fantastic, the Italian restaurant we were not so impressed with.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed two nights here up on the 7th floor. Room was a typical corporate room but to a good standard and appreciated in the busy, chaotic city of Saigon. Interestingly the locals seem to prefer to call the place Saigon rather than Ho Chi Min City as it is called after the Saigon river and the name has been in use for a couple of hundred years.

Breakfast is good and the staff attentive and speak good English.

Only minor point is that they insist on playing music over the speakers in the hallways which can be heard inside the room. The first night we asked for it to be turned off, which it was but next morning it came back. This time we waited to see what happened and when we came back after a night out it had stopped.
Lots to see in Saigon, the CIA building where the Americans finally baled out, the War Remnants Museum and the Cu Chi tunnels are well worth the visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duxton Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel Saigon

Address: 63 Nguyen Hue Blvd, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duxton Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of vibrant Ho Chi Minh City, the Duxton Hotel Saigon is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel offering a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure travelers alike.As well as a range of deluxe rooms, executive rooms and suites, the hotel also has a restaurant, bar, gymnasium, swimming pool, spa and business centre, along with several meeting rooms.The Duxton Saigon is situated on Nguyen Hue Boulevard, within easy walking distance of many of the city's most famous attractions including Ben Thanh Market, the Opera House, the Hotel de Ville, and Saigon River. The hotel is also ideally located for those who want to experience the city's bustling nightlife, from cheap & cheerful street food vendors to chic cosmopolitan nightclubs and lounge bars.For business travelers, the hotel is just 7km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport, 5km from HCMC International Exhibition Centre, and right in the heart of the central business district.We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Duxton Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duxton Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.