We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duxton Hotel Saigon

Save Saved
You added Duxton Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Duxton Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Nguyen Hue Blvd, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was my first time back to Vietnam since migrating to Australia.

This hotel is in a superb location - close to everything in Ho Chi Minh City.

The staff are extremely friendly and made it feel like a home away from home. Rooms are well presented and very comfortable. The food is the restaurant is tasty and the western & eastern buffet breakfast options that are available.

The concierge desk are extremely helpful in organising tours and anything else you may need.

The spa was sensationally relaxing - staff were really friendly and the facilities were second to none.

I would definitely be back to the Duxton when staying in HCMC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    319
    96
    23
    6
See reviews for
74
264
38
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Modern hotel near city center, all major tourist sights within walking distance but it was very hot and a taxi (very cheap but use Mai Linh, Vina or Vinasun as we were told there meters were accurate) was very welcome. All the usual trappings of a good hotel, breakfast was a mixture of Vietnamese and European but there was almost anything you could think of and eggs, waffles or pankakes etc cooked to order. Staff helpful and very polite. Hotel is five minutes walk from a huge selection of restaurants and also the Saigon river for river trips or dinner cruises etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
961 helpful votes 961 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was going to title this review "Don't waste food", but after our final day in our fifth hotel of a N/S Vietnam tour we feel the title used is more appropriate. We have tried to be fair and objective in our comments abouthotel/stopping points. All four previous ones for Vietnam were given EXCELLENT reviews. We have travelled extensively all over the world and have only given poor reviewsto two previous hotels. We feel that readers need to know the pros and cons of hotels.
So let us start with the positives. The hotel is well located for walking tours of Old Saigon, and the 4km walking touyr quoted in Lonely Planet Guide (particularly the Post Office) is highly recommended. Entry (with giant birdbath fountain) and foyer are impressive. Our deluxe room was clean, but with some facilities missing. The hotel video shows complimentary fruit in the room - this did not exist-merely the empty bowl. The breakfast (included in our tour) was excellent.
Now the negatives. Food and drink prices in the hotel are EXTORTINATE - aprroximately 3 times the cost of the four previous Vietnam hotels, as example Buffet Dinner at 34 US dollars,
as opposed to Sunway Hotel Hanoi (12 US dollars). Fruit juices are three times cost of elsewhere. The Lonely Planet Guide desribes this as a business hotel - their business is to extract the maximum out of hotel guests. The portions in the restaurant for a la carte meals are
fairly large (possibly catering for N.American/young appetites) but it is possible to order one item to be shared for elderly guests.
Our final day was the worst-we had a very late flight at past midnight. Since check out from our room was at noon I asked at Reception if any arrangements were available for this situation. I was told that all that was available was to pay the half day hotel rate (82 US dollars) to extend our room usage till 18.00hrs- if we wanted it after that we would have to pay the full day rate of 164 us dollars. NO MENTION WAS MADE OF A ROOM ON THE FIRST FLOOR AVAILABLE TO GUESTS WITH LATE DEPARTURE WHICH WAS FREE OF CHARGE!
When I went to pay our hotel bill with half day extension the male cashier was rude and seemed more concerned with chatting and joking with his colleagues, than dealing with my bill.
He presented me with the bill which included VAT and tax for 162 Us dollars, and then with a supercilios grin on his face and jokes to his colleagues said the bill was wrong and gave me an inflated bill for 173.55 US dollars. I suspected from his attitude that there may have been sharp practice involved and asked to see the Duty Manager. He came and stated the increase was due to service and VAT- this was unacceptable since there was service and Vat on the original 162 US dollar bill. Our advice is to check your bills at this hotel scrupulously- they are already high enough!
I pointed out our complaints to our Destination Asia Guide (Hung) who was was an excellent tour guide in the evening before departure. He tried to sort the problem with Duty Manager but obtained the same stonewalling approach. We are asking Virgin Worlwide Holidays and Destination Asia to reconsider their use of this hotel. It does have some lovely staff but the management seem to be disinclined to deal with Customer Complaints in a constructive manner. It is regrettable that our final impression of Vietnam was tainted by this very expensive, uncaring hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect complimentary fruit in your room -you just get an empty bowl. Expect to pay an &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Since first visiting Vietnam in Dec. of 2005, I have returned for a total of 14 visits. Each time I am in HCMC I arrange to spend several days at the Duxton Hotel before trying out a new hotel for variety's sake.

The hotel is conveniently located on Nguyen Hue Street in the heart of District One. Parallel to Nguyen Hue is Dong Khoi Street which terminates at the exquisite Catholic Cathedral and adjacent French colonial era Post Office. Other sites such as the War Museum, the History Museum, the Water Puppet Show are all a short taxi cab ride away.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Guests are greeted with fresh fruit each morning. The staff is friendly. There is an oustanding, though pricey, breakfast lunch and dinner buffet complete with Vietnamese, Asian, and Western cuisines. Be sure to register for the Bed and Breakfast!

My family especially enjoys the piano bar near the entrance to the hotel. Their afternoon high tea is a must! Staff is gracious and friendly. We have also enjoyed their spa each visit. Much more expensive than on the street for a one hour massage, but only half the price of the same massage in the United States with a very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Splurge and go for the Junior Executive suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Jules Verne tour. The hotel was excellent, clean and modern rooms, great buffet breakfast. It also had a very good location within walking distance of the main shops and the river in the other direction. We were all impressed. A must to do in the evening is to walk to the Rex hotel (about 10-15mins away on the same road) the Rex has an open air bar on the roof with nightly entertainment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries & Galloway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This Hotel is very well placed for easy walking access to all of the sights in central Saigon. The Hotel rooms were of a very good standard and the staff were generally very good and helpful. We did not spend much time in the Hotel as we were out and about in Saigon and so i cannot comment on the restaurant, although the breakfast choice was very good and of a good standard.I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A very smart, clean hotel - ideal for business types, doesn't really have a romantic feel though. My wife fell ill on a Sunday and we needed to get her some medicine; the reception staff were absolutely clueless as to what to do. They didn't know of any pharmacies, they didn't offer to take her to the main hospital. I walked outside and found an open pharmacy... two doors away. Quite angry that staff had no basic knowledge to help. But good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duxton Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel Saigon

Address: 63 Nguyen Hue Blvd, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duxton Hotel Saigon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of vibrant Ho Chi Minh City, the Duxton Hotel Saigon is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel offering a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure travelers alike.As well as a range of deluxe rooms, executive rooms and suites, the hotel also has a restaurant, bar, gymnasium, swimming pool, spa and business centre, along with several meeting rooms.The Duxton Saigon is situated on Nguyen Hue Boulevard, within easy walking distance of many of the city's most famous attractions including Ben Thanh Market, the Opera House, the Hotel de Ville, and Saigon River. The hotel is also ideally located for those who want to experience the city's bustling nightlife, from cheap & cheerful street food vendors to chic cosmopolitan nightclubs and lounge bars.For business travelers, the hotel is just 7km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport, 5km from HCMC International Exhibition Centre, and right in the heart of the central business district.We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Duxton Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duxton Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.