We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good touches to ok hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duxton Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Duxton Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Duxton Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Nguyen Hue Blvd, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 368 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“good touches to ok hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Second time i have stayed here on business. This time was on top floor and there is a constant noise during the night. I am sure it was the aircon system on the roof. This did not give a great night's sleep. The last time the room was lower down and did not have this issue. The decor of the room is a little dated but overall was fine. Breakfasts were fine and of a similar stand to each hotel i have stayed in throughout Vietnam. I love the fountain with stairs either side when you pull up in the taxi. There is a bar area which allows a nice place to meet guests and relax. A piano is played at times which adds to the atmosphere. This hotel would have got a 3 star average if it had not been for these 2 features.

Room Tip: not too high
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    357
    111
    24
    8
See reviews for
85
292
46
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We found this hotel to be in the perfect location to allow us to walk around the area. Its proximity to the market is a definitive plus.
Breakfast and Dinner are buffet and the food is awesome. You pick the food you want, and they cook it the way you want. whether it be pancakes or waffles for breakfast or lobster/prawns for dinner, they've got it covered. In saying that, if you were after a fine dining experience in a quiet atmosphere, this may not be the place for you.

The rooms are large, clean, and well kept. Do yourself a favour and book yourself in for a massage in the spa on level 2. Well worth it.

A special mention to the pianist in the lobby bar, he is a true entertainer, and it was a pleasure to sit with a beer after a long trip and listen to him.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and upgrade your room, the small cost may see a nice large corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Have stayed at the Duxton HCMC twice and was perfect everytime. Close to everything and a perfect retreat to go to after you are over the hustle and bustle of HCMC. Beautiful and clean rooms, amazing breakfast. If you like tea ask for a teapot with two tea bags otherwise you will get very weak tea. Would defunately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A good mid range hotel in a good location in district 1 of Ho chi Minh City. It is close to the river and within walking distance of the Ban than market (heat and humidty dependant). There were a few good pubs and restaurants within a couple of streets from us. Taxis are very cheap and the concierge will get one for you they ususally have one in the entrance ready at no extra charge. We never at any point felt uneasy in Ho Chi Minh.
We were there on a room only basis the 2 rooms we were in ( as we had 2 stops there) were both clean and well equipped. We had everything we wanted complimentary tea, coffee, toiletries, minibar, safe, robes and slippers, even our own ironing board and iron. There was no problem when we wanted any information we went to the concierge who spoke very good English and was able to help us. We found all of the staff friendly.
We particularly liked the fact that when we had to check out at 12 they kept our luggage and then we were directed to the gym/pool area where we could have a shower and freshen up before our flight. Complimentary toiletries were provided.
We were very happy with the facilities at the hotel and would have no hesitation recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors less noise and front facing if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London - UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had a very stylish room with an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet offered great choice of fruit (amongst other things!!) some of which I had never heard of before. Great down town location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The most disappointing of six Vietnamese hotels in which we stayed.
Rooms were drab and dated, although clean. Service levels were about OK, but less than expectations.
Buffet breakfast was reasonable and location is central.
No major cause for complaint, just not a match for other hotels of a similar rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a guided tour and everyone was happy. A little dated maybe but not a problem. Good breakfast selection. Would stay again as right balance of price/location/quality for our taste.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duxton Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel Saigon

Address: 63 Nguyen Hue Blvd, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 368 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duxton Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of vibrant Ho Chi Minh City, the Duxton Hotel Saigon is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel offering a refined and relaxing environment for business and leisure travelers alike.As well as a range of deluxe rooms, executive rooms and suites, the hotel also has a restaurant, bar, gymnasium, swimming pool, spa and business centre, along with several meeting rooms.The Duxton Saigon is situated on Nguyen Hue Boulevard, within easy walking distance of many of the city's most famous attractions including Ben Thanh Market, the Opera House, the Hotel de Ville, and Saigon River. The hotel is also ideally located for those who want to experience the city's bustling nightlife, from cheap & cheerful street food vendors to chic cosmopolitan nightclubs and lounge bars.For business travelers, the hotel is just 7km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport, 5km from HCMC International Exhibition Centre, and right in the heart of the central business district.We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Duxton Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duxton Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.