We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a fantastic city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rex Hotel to your Saves list
Rex Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Ningbo, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a fantastic city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed for four nights in early February, 2014. We had a great stay and more or less everything during our stay was perfect. The staff was really friendly and spoke good English. The room was very big and there was a proper bed for our son, not a small extra bed. The room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast buffet was outstanding! The Rex has a fantastic rooftop bar overlooking central HCMC which is well worth a visit even if you are not staying at the hotel. The hotel building has some historical interest as it was the place where the American press briefings, the so called "Five o'clock follies," took place during the American war in Vietnam. It is also a quite nice building decorated with faux-colonial artefacts.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    463
    185
    58
    43
See reviews for
175
421
99
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

this is the third time I have stayed at the rex hotel. the last time was about 4 years ago, and this time was just for a single night. The hotel itself is very nice, and has some history to it. The room we stayed in was nice and had the most comfortable bed I have found in Vietnam on this trip. the staff are very helpful, and the breakfast has a big selection. we arrived at about 10pm from the airport on the night we stayed here. I decided to go to the rooftop bar to have a beer before going to bed. when I got the bill for a single beer I was very surprised at the price. the taxi from the airport was cheaper ! the beer was more expensive than a local beer at home in Australia. looking at the menu, the prices were over the top, and the taxes and fees were on top of what on the menu. Nice bar, but definitely not at the prices they are charging. Maybe I was just used to paying about a dollar or two in the rest of Vietnam at other hotels, not seven or eight for a local beer.

this is a nice place to stay, and relatively close to everything, but the prices of everything that is separate to the room are over the top.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

What a great establishment. The Rooftop Bar is a must whether staying in house or not. Exceptional service and nothing is too much trouble. Old world charm with all convenience of the modern world. Will stay again!

Room Tip: Any room is great. We had an internal room with no view on our first stay and that was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was the first leg of our trip around Vietnam and we loved it.

The rooms have so much history, we thought they were amazing.

It's a historic building that is completely restored. If you're looking for a true taste of Vietnam...stay here.

The roof top bar is a massive plus.

Breakfast buffet was much better then expected.

5 star quality service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I staid with my family for one night. That was great definitely value for money. I paid extra 20 eur for executive lounge, which worse the money, because during the day we have access to refreshments, snacks, beer and great service. Hotel also have great roof bar and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I staid with my family for one night. That was great definitely value for money. I paid extra 20 eur for executive lounge, which worse the money, because during the day we have access to refreshments, snacks, beer and great service.

Hotel also have great roof bar and restaurants, and five stars gym with separate wardrobe, extra towels , free refreshments and pool.

Thanks!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great hotel in downtown, location was pretty good for getting around. Food was very good and the beds and pillows were great. We were there during the Chinese New Year celebrations and all of the activities were happening right outside the hotel in the many squares, lots of fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rex Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 159 sheer luxury rooms and suites, 5 restaurants & bar and 9 distinctive function rooms, caters to all your corporate needs with a full complement of facilities & services for your events. Totalling 2,580sqm of meeting & banquet spaces, includes pillarless Lotus Ballroom with pre-function area; all equipped with the latest audio-visual technology, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, dedicated meeting coordinator ensuring a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.