We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rex Hotel to your Saves list
Rex Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 368 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Rex has an incredibly convenient central location. The lobby (connected to an upscale shopping arcade) is renovated in a sleek modern style which doesn't really match the rest of the ambiance and can give a false impression at first. The rest of the decor is far more traditional and undeniably charming even if some areas are a bit over the top (e.g. the breakfast restaurant)! Two small swimming pools on the top floor provide some relief from the sweltering heat and the breakfast spread is surprisingly pleasant and delicious. The service is courteous and professional. A small complaint - our room was right under the terrace bar and we could hear the loud music at night before going to sleep. However, the music was always promptly shut off at 11pm and there were no further problems. Overall it is a great base from which to explore Saigon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    451
    180
    56
    42
See reviews for
170
414
96
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kawasaki, Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Undoubtedly one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Their Vietnamese break fast is a getter. Staff are very courteous. The hotel has a long history and in the middle of the city at walkable distance from most HCM city attractions. Don't forget to try their roof top restaurant with live music.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for New Years with my partner and I honestly must say it was one of my favourite places I've stayed from my travels all over Asia over the last 6 years.

Food - The breakfast was always cooked fresh and an abundance of choice to suit all corners of the world.

Location - right in the heart of the city situated right next to the markets and main "goings on"

Service:rooms - very friendly staff, rooms always cleaned to a high standard & fresh bedding daily with excellent mattresses ( could sleep for days )

I will be heading back here this December and can not wait for another one of their rooftop breakfast omelettes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This heritage hotel is in a great downdown location - close to the sights and sounds of HCMC. Its within walking distance to the markets at one end, and the Notre Dame Church at the other, and the main shopping district in between. We wanted to stay here to get our bearings on HCMC and wanted to walk and explore the city. We stayed at the new wing - the room and bed was comfortable and we had a nice view of the city courtyard outside.

The hotel facilities were so-so - the rooftop pool was nothing special, the rooftop bar was nice if not a little tacky. The morning breakfast was a nice spread of western and vietnamese dishes. We also did a mekong tour organised through the hotel - it was expensive but no complaints as everything was as per the itinerary.

The price of the hotel is also very reasonable if you book early. Just check the rate you booked when you check-in though - we booked early and had an early bird discount, but when we checked in, the reception gave us a higher rate until i gave him my print-out and it was corrected.

On the whole, they say its 5 stars (perhaps by Vietnam standards), but it feels more like 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located in the center of Ho Chi Minh city, closed to Ben Thanh market, this hotel makes ease of business people who wants to seek new opportunities or meet business partners at one of the most dynamic city in the region. I love the outlook and view around of this hotel, combined with excellent service and friendly and helpful staff, it made my business trip so comfortable. I could concentrate on my own projects without any disruption, or relaxed in swimming pool with superb cocktails. What I love most is their breakfast offers: many kinds of foods from Asian to Europe and could satisfy almost anyone! A must for any business peole!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

You know when you have arrived at a nice hotel when the likes of Cartier & Gucci are occupying the shops connected to the hotel. The lobby is huge and all the of the door staff are very friendly. I stayed in a suite in the new wing. It was very clean and a great size. It had separate living and sleeping rooms both with TV's and a huge bathroom.
The location was fantastic as you could walk to almost all of the main landmarks and markets within a few minutes.
It also has a great rooftop bar overlooking a busy road junction, very entertaining

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have been there with my wife for our honey moon and big suprise of the warm welcome and friendly of the staff. Will go back there when we have free time. Good locate in Ho Chi Minh city with a lot of utilities around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rex Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 159 sheer luxury rooms and suites, 5 restaurants & bar and 9 distinctive function rooms, caters to all your corporate needs with a full complement of facilities & services for your events. Totalling 2,580sqm of meeting & banquet spaces, includes pillarless Lotus Ballroom with pre-function area; all equipped with the latest audio-visual technology, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, dedicated meeting coordinator ensuring a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.