We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage hotel in downtown location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rex Hotel to your Saves list
Rex Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Heritage hotel in downtown location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This heritage hotel is in a great downdown location - close to the sights and sounds of HCMC. Its within walking distance to the markets at one end, and the Notre Dame Church at the other, and the main shopping district in between. We wanted to stay here to get our bearings on HCMC and wanted to walk and explore the city. We stayed at the new wing - the room and bed was comfortable and we had a nice view of the city courtyard outside.

The hotel facilities were so-so - the rooftop pool was nothing special, the rooftop bar was nice if not a little tacky. The morning breakfast was a nice spread of western and vietnamese dishes. We also did a mekong tour organised through the hotel - it was expensive but no complaints as everything was as per the itinerary.

The price of the hotel is also very reasonable if you book early. Just check the rate you booked when you check-in though - we booked early and had an early bird discount, but when we checked in, the reception gave us a higher rate until i gave him my print-out and it was corrected.

On the whole, they say its 5 stars (perhaps by Vietnam standards), but it feels more like 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    463
    185
    58
    43
See reviews for
175
421
99
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located in the center of Ho Chi Minh city, closed to Ben Thanh market, this hotel makes ease of business people who wants to seek new opportunities or meet business partners at one of the most dynamic city in the region. I love the outlook and view around of this hotel, combined with excellent service and friendly and helpful staff, it made my business trip so comfortable. I could concentrate on my own projects without any disruption, or relaxed in swimming pool with superb cocktails. What I love most is their breakfast offers: many kinds of foods from Asian to Europe and could satisfy almost anyone! A must for any business peole!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

You know when you have arrived at a nice hotel when the likes of Cartier & Gucci are occupying the shops connected to the hotel. The lobby is huge and all the of the door staff are very friendly. I stayed in a suite in the new wing. It was very clean and a great size. It had separate living and sleeping rooms both with TV's and a huge bathroom.
The location was fantastic as you could walk to almost all of the main landmarks and markets within a few minutes.
It also has a great rooftop bar overlooking a busy road junction, very entertaining

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have been there with my wife for our honey moon and big suprise of the warm welcome and friendly of the staff. Will go back there when we have free time. Good locate in Ho Chi Minh city with a lot of utilities around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for the last night of our vacation.The entrance and the lobby are very impressive.Checkin was speedy and we had an upgrade from a junior suite to a suite in the 3rd floor.The room itself was good with the usual things for a 5star hotel,fresh fruit platter etc.The pool area is on the 5/6th floor.Both the pools were quite small and the main pool had some tiles missing.This really was the only area for guests to sit and relax.Breakfast was a mixture of asian and western.I only noticed the egg station on the way out, next to the roof top bar.
We stayed here because of its connection with the war because of this you can expect many tour groups walking through the lobby.Would I stay here again,yes because of its central position.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a business visit for 3 nights at the Rex. It has the best location in Ho Chi Minh city. The property itself looks impressive and has an integrated high end shopping mall. I stayed in a junior suite room and the rooms were spacious but the luxury level for a 5 star property was average. The room is not centrally air conditioned but has a installed split AC. The breakfast spread was good. The hotel staff was courteous and very helpful in arranging metered taxis to visit local sights. To sum up, it's a nice value for money property but don't get your hopes up on a 5 star luxury experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Overall, lovely hotel with old world feel.

Positives: location, location, location! History of the place. Breakfasts are amazingly good (very good Pho). Helpful staff (although, see comment on the gym staff). The decor is dated but that kind of adds to the charm. Yes, the roof top and pools are dated but just imagine yourself as a correspondent back in the mid-1960s! The rooms in the modern wing are lovely. English (while problematic in Vietnam) is extremely good at the Rex

Example of good service: Our rooms were below the function center on the roof - this created a lot of noise. However, when we complained, the staff were super responsive and moved us to two rooms on the floor below. Terrific service!

Areas for development: The gym / pool staff need a kick up the butt - they never lifted a finger, never provided a towel, and never cleaned the pool area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rex Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 159 sheer luxury rooms and suites, 5 restaurants & bar and 9 distinctive function rooms, caters to all your corporate needs with a full complement of facilities & services for your events. Totalling 2,580sqm of meeting & banquet spaces, includes pillarless Lotus Ballroom with pre-function area; all equipped with the latest audio-visual technology, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, dedicated meeting coordinator ensuring a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.