We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but don't stay on 4th floor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rex Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rex Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rex Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel but don't stay on 4th floor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Lovely hotel, good service and great rooftop bar. We were located on the 4th floor which was right under the bar / restaurant. We could hear chairs scraping on the floor and also every word of the music that was playing until 11pm each night. Service was excellent, gym good, breakfast amazing. Room was renovated but average.

Room Tip: Don'd choose room on 4th floor under bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    414
    168
    54
    42
See reviews for
157
375
86
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel has a lot of things going for it including the location. We were in a rennovated room but it was still dark and dingy. The bathroom was nicely appointed but the water pressure and temperature in the shower were variable. We had the same experience as some of the other reviewers in being given wildly inaccurate directions and time to destination on restaurants. The drinks at the Rex bar were great. We had a breakfast buffet package...again, it wasn't horrible but not even close to the Softel we stayed in at Hanoi. It was the first hotel on our trip that didn't have soya milk or some other non dairy alternative. Laundry service was fast and efficient. We are fine on the whole water conservation thing and will happily reuse towels, etc., but requested some clean face clothes after two days and got the old, clearly soiled ones neatly folded up in the bathroom vanity. This wouldn't be my choice for a return visit hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Arrived to find we had been upgraded due to a mistake by the hotel. Had a lovely big suite around the inner courtyard so it was lovely and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable (expecially the beds) and clean. Sadly, as at lots of 5 star hotels the prices for drinks particularly were on the steep side but what can you say whenon the rooftop terrace bar - the home of the 5 o' clock follies?
Lovely breakfast included thought the coffee was not good.
Great spot and good location for getting around.

Room Tip: opt for courtyard room - no view but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have just enjoyed a week at The Rex. It is a superb hotel. As soon as I set foot through the door I was struck by the calm, good taste, relaxing ambience, and friendliness and professionalism of the staff.
Our room, facing the inside courtyard, was spacious, quiet, comfortable and well-equipped. We enjoyed some of the best sleep ever on holiday, aided by the large comfortable beds and quality pillows.
The breakfast buffet is extensive and good quality (with plenty of choice for Europeans).
When I broke a suitcase lock the concierge staff were prompt and inventive in finding a solution.
I would find it hard to fault my stay at the Rex. If I travel to HCMC again I will certainly return there.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with windows facing into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is in the most perfect location in Saigon, and is convenient for most tourist sights and good restaurants. The entrance is impressive, and we expected something special at what has been regarded to a 5 star hotel. However, we were very underwhelmed with our junior suite - it was damp and dark - so dark we looked behind sliding doors expecting a balcony rather than a wardrobe! As we had three nights booked we asked to move the next day, and , after some deliberation we moved to another room, but whilst it's size was similar we had to pay a surcharge, as it was deemed a better room. It seems some rooms have been refurbished, and our new room was lovely - just a pity our original junior suite was so awful.
This hotel seemed stuck in time - it has a fabulous history to build on, but fails to attract a younger clientele. Drinks on the rooftop were in a marvellous setting, but with live singing belting out 'Dancing Queen' it really wasn't current, and couldn't rival some of the other places we found nearby.
The staff were helpful, but didn't seem to be able to offer a lot of flexibility.
Compared to other hotels we stayed in, it was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first . But avoid 232!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I am currently staying in this hotel and booked based on all the reviews I had read but now I am here I think it is grossly over priced and full of toffee nosed people or older retirees! the bar is lovely but again overrated and over priced if you like to listen to music from the 1960s or to serenade you to sleep then this is the bar for you! And such a shame cause this bar could make a killing and cater to the needs of everyone rather than a certain type of clientele after all were in vietnam a true melting pot! I have stayed in many hotels over the years and would not rate this any better than the hotels you can pick up for $60 as oppose to the 150-200 you could pay staying here! yes the staff are lovely and so is the hotel but for the price and what else is around I won't be staying here again. For the business traveller or middle age and older perhaps is the perfect hotel! new wing is nicer than the old wing but don't be fooled by balcony that it is not!

Room Tip: make sure you try and stay in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I travel to Vietnam 4 to 5 times per year and stay at the Rex Hotel each time and my last trip was in October. The welcome I received from the staff made me feel very much at home and they were always smiling and friendly. The rooms are very comfortable, good television channels, nice walk in shower and a really comfy bed. The self service buffet is varied and tasty and the coffee, especially Vietnamese style will certainly get you ready for the day ahead. The guest relations team are great helping me with my business requirements and the location is top notch right in the centre of Saigon and a great new shopping centre has just opened opposite so great for shopping. You must try the roof top bar, an iconic part of the Saigon skyline and a great place to have an early evening meeting with a Saigon Beer. Overall, great value for money, looking forward to the next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rex Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, with 159 sheer luxury rooms and suites, 5 restaurants & bar and 9 distinctive function rooms, caters to all your corporate needs with a full complement of facilities & services for your events. Totalling 2,580sqm of meeting & banquet spaces, includes pillarless Lotus Ballroom with pre-function area; all equipped with the latest audio-visual technology, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, dedicated meeting coordinator ensuring a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.