We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for 15 USD/night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix 74 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix 74 Hotel to your Saves list
Phoenix 74 Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #326 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good for 15 USD/night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

The room was very small, with no sunlight and a little dirty, but If you bear in mind that you are paying 15 USD for a double room with private shower, breakfast and internet access, this is a good choice. Ask for rooms with no street view, because the noise can be high during the night.

  • Liked — The price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    12
    2
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
7
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

This hotel was a few dollars cheaper than some of the others on the this street. We were happy with our little room. The fan was good enough for us, there was hot water, and it was a central location.

Room was clean and beds comfortable. Only one computer worked downstairs but it is a bit on the old side. Free breakfast of bread and coffee or tea, and bananas. I would recommend to backpackers.

The mother-owner is a little bit scary but over-all friendly.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

We have just returned from our 2 days stay at the Phoenix 74 Hotel. We had never experienced such a poor service before in any of the Vietnam's hotel. This is because when we asked for plain water from the hotel staff, we were told that no hotels in Ho Chih Minh provide free water to its guest. In fact, we had just stayed in the yellow house which is just infront about a few days back before our trip to Siem Reap. The yellow house was a much pleasant place to stay and it provides free plain water to its guests. We told the Phoenix 74 Hotel staff that yellow house provide free water, the response from the staff is: "You can go over to stay at that hotel which provide free water instead."
The beds of this Phoenix 74 Hotel were old and uncomfortable. The air-con was not functioning properly as well. As a guest at the hotel for 2 days, I sincerely feel that my money was not well spent in that hotel. For backpackers and other tourists to Ho Chih Minh, please try to avoid staying in this hotel. It is not worth the money.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

The room was small, but nice and clean and (also important) not facing the street and therefore quiet. We felt that the owners and staff were very friendly. We really had a problem and had to see the doctor. They told us where to go and ordered a taxi etc. this was a great support which we appreciated a lot. The breakfast is not special, but there are good bars and restaurants around where you can go. They even have a laundry service which is quite cheap. Very good value for the money.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

Previously known as the Huy Duc, this place in the middle of the backpacker district is a very comfortable place to stay. Run by a mother-son team, the family is very attentive and friendly but not in a pushy way.

I stayed in a single room, which was fine - airconditioned, with a bathroom, sattelite TV. Small, not the height of luxury, but from what I've heard of other places in the area it's great value for money.

On top of all that breakfast is included. Simple - delicious morning-fresh rolls with your choice of spread, a small omelette, and tea or fresh vietnamese coffee.

My only negative piece of advice would be for light sensitive people staying planning to stay in a single room - these get a constant stream of electric light from the hallway window.

The travel agency downstairs also offers tours priced in the same range as Sinh cafe, but usually in smaller groups.

The area is wonderful - vibrant and buzzing, close to Ben Tanh markets, but why go there and get ripped off when you can get beautifully designed, high quality semi-tailored clothes (they'll adjust for free) from the little shops in the area for a very reasonable price? Also pays to shop around for other handicrafts, I found Ben Thanh marketeers much harder to haggle with.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix 74 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix 74 Hotel

Address: 74 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Phoenix 74 Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Phoenix 74 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phoenix 74

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix 74 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.