We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the exterior” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New World Saigon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added New World Saigon Hotel to your Saves list
New World Saigon Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Le Lai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
FVG
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the exterior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

form the outside it looks very anonymous and the atrium is a pledge to marble and crystal..but the rooms are very nice and spotless clean
people at the reception and at the concierge desk are fantastic and more than willing to help you with suggestions, indications and everything you may need while your stay
the breakfast is a wonder of quality food and also a jouney through different world of flavours
I had a lunch and the buffet was again very good and very tasteful even if a little overpriced

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWorldHotel, General Manager at New World Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear bidibodi,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We feel honored and appreciative that you have chosen New World Saigon Hotel during your recent trip in Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. We sincerely look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,
David Wicker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    361
    99
    32
    11
See reviews for
141
203
57
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My second visit to this hotel. I've started staying at another hotel but unfortunately that was fully booked so my local staff booked me back into New World.

Was booked into an executive room, arrived around 7pm and was taken upstairs to the 10th floor for checking in, while checking in they told me to go the lounge which is right there and enjoy free cocktails or drinks and snacks which is nice, had a cold local beer.

Was given room 1217 overlooking a park, room was big and had all the amenities, the carpet issue is still there but didnt bother me, ordered room service and the food was good.
Had breakfast at the executive lounge and not much to choose from for my liking but it has the basics, Noodles, omelette or fried eggs. If you want more range then your better off at the ground floor restaurant with lots more to choose from.

The 1st night bed sheets and duvet felt it wasn't dried fully, had this sticky wet feeling to it and I felt itchy which was strange as I travel quite often and this was the 1st time happening to me, maybe allergic to something, anyways the next night the sheets and duvet felt way better and not so itchy.

In the evening they have a turning down service, not sure why people would want this, some person comes in to close the curtains and pull the duvet. If people moan about not getting this service then they must be one hell of a SNOB or Lazy bugger. I just told the lovely housekeeping lady that I didn't need her service.

The TV channels are quite a lot to choose from, the in room WIF-FI and Lan cable internet speed is quite good, I had a lap top, 2 mobile phones and a Tablet PC hooked up and all worked fine :)

Check out also fast. Overall a good hotel.

The night buffet at the GF restaurant is not bad either, quite a variety to choose from, had a nice lovely lamb curry but no rice or Indian breads to choose from, the only rice they had was Risotto but when I asked if they had any other rice, they quickly brought out a bowl of steamed rice for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWorldHotel, General Manager at New World Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Wangtshuk B,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We feel honored and appreciative that you have chosen New World Saigon Hotel during your recent trip in Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. We sincerely look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,
David Wicker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

New World Saigon exceeded my expectations, my friends and I had a fantastic time! The rooms were well kept and modern, and we particularly enjoyed the nightly entertainment. The cocktails in the bar downstairs were so AMAZING I ordered a passionfuit cocktail every night we were there.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive floor for free nightly cocktails, high tea and laundry if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWorldHotel, General Manager at New World Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear KFletcher88,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We feel honored and appreciative that you have chosen New World Saigon Hotel during your recent trip in Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. We sincerely look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,
David Wicker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel twice and always like it to be here. Great value for its class, friendly staff and excellent service as well. although the room not so modern but it's alright. I stayed at the Executive Floor so the guests can have access to the executive lounge and free internet. checking in/out, breakfast are all in the executive lounge itself. The location is also quite good, nearby the Ben Thanh market, not so far from Le Loi district where one can look at souvenirs, although there are other new hotels nearer to Le Loi. At the opposite there is a small public park, where the locals gather at night, and dance at the huts in the park, children playing. overall it's a good choice.

Room Tip: Lookout for last minute offer on the Executive Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWorldHotel, General Manager at New World Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear KDH1976,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We feel honored and appreciative that you have chosen New World Saigon Hotel during your recent trip in Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. We sincerely look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,
David Wicker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I think best hotel for money in hcmc. I like the big pool, drinks around pool and the executive level. I think to make your stay most enjoyable upgrade to executive level. It includes Internet, free breakfast, snacks at night and drinks. The hotel is greatly located where all places I like to go. Very near Ben Thanh and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWorldHotel, General Manager at New World Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear BlutoDave,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We feel honored and appreciative that you have chosen New World Saigon Hotel during your recent trip in Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. We sincerely look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,
David Wicker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed twice at this hotel in last 6 months. Location is good and service was generally friendly and helpful. Main problem is that the rooms are old and dated. On my first visit, I found that my room had the smell of 'damp old carpets'; initially I thought that this was an isolated finding, but for my second visit, my room (another floor) smelt even worse! The hotel needs an upgrade and my advice is to stay somewhere else until then..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWorldHotel, General Manager at New World Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear dkemt,

I would like to express my appreciation for providing us with your personal feedback.
I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. We hope we can have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
David Wicker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is not a five star hotel by U.S. standards, but the service is great and the bathrooms are clean!
These are two of my pet peeves and they did great on both counts. The halls need updating and the rooms are clean, good pillows, sheets and clean bathroom. The hotel should remove carpet that have been pulled in several places. We stayed in room 903, which was a bit noisy, but I think all of HCM is noisy. The buffet breakfast has everything you can imagine, good distribution of both western and eastern food. Wifi free in lobby, not in rooms there is a charge for use in rooms.
Great shop in lobby that is reasonably priced with nice items.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can to try to escape the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWorldHotel, General Manager at New World Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Elizabeth S,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent trip in Ho Chi Minh City.
I hope we could be of service to you in the near future.

Sincerely,
David Wicker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New World Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Saigon Hotel

Address: 76 Le Lai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New World Saigon Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the vibrant business hub of District 1, with easy access to the famous Ben Thanh market and many landmarks, museums and cultural centers of Ho Chi Minh City, New World Saigon Hotel provides 533 spacious guestrooms and suites offering the perfect ambience for both concentrated work and undisturbed relaxation. Just seven kilometers from Tan Son Nhat International Airport and steps away from the bus station, the hotel is located directly in the city center opposite the lush 23 September Park. The hotel’s private limousine service offers a comfortable connection to the airport and all major attractions as well as the Saigon Exhibition and Convention Center (SECC). All guestrooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and plush bedding. If hotel guests wish an extra level of comfort and privacy they may choose the exclusive range of Executive Club Floor accommodation which includes complimentary buffet breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails and hors d' oeuvres at the private Executive Club Lounge.Among the hotel's most distinctive restaurants is Dynasty which serves exquisitely prepared Chinese cuisine that is regarded as one of the finest in Ho Chi Minh City. Parkview and Saigon Bakery offer a relaxing view over the 23 September Park serving delicious lunch and dinner buffets including fresh seafood, international and Asian favorites or freshly brewed coffee and a great selection of home-made pastries. The Lounge features classic and modern cocktails with a wide range of wines and live music, while hotel guests will find Splash a relaxing oasis to unwind the day at the outdoor pool with fresh juices and exotic cocktails.If guests would like to escape the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh City, they can visit The Spa on the second floor offering an extensive spa menu for both men and women integrating Swedish massage techniques and the healing therapeutic effect of aromatic essential oils with contemporary spa treatments. All spa services provide an effective treatment each tailored to the individual guest’s needs.Since its opening, New World Saigon Hotel has been one of the premier meeting and event venues in Ho Chi Minh City. A highly experienced and supportive event team, excellent catering and first class facilities for every kind of social or business event make this hotel a popular choice for functions, exhibitions, product launches or conferences.The hotel offers three pillar-free ballrooms accommodating up to 486 people. All ballrooms are equipped with the latest audio-visual and presentation aids and can be divided into several smaller function or breakout rooms. In addition, four smaller meeting rooms are available for private workshops or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New World Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New World Saigon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.